We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for Opera!”

Florida Grand Opera
Ranked #67 of 356 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Grand Opera, continuously producing opera since 1941, stands as one of the most established performing arts organizations in Florida.
Reviewed 29 January 2016

It is a great venue for Operas. The sound quality is superb! The theater is really made for Operas, the way the seating is arranged, it makes it accessible for everyone, and easy to see. It is a very nice theater. The performers are talented. Its just a pure pleasure to see an Opera here.

1  Thank Val1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2015

The Florida Grand Opera started with a group of dedicated volunteers and has grown into a professional world-class opera company. The Arsht Center with it's concert hall, opera house, and additional smaller theaters has greatly contributed to the FGO's rise to its present status. Though my husband and I no longer live in Miiami-Dade County, we purchase season subscriptions and travel the hour plus to enjoy fabulous music and performances. In addition to old favorites, the FGO also presents lesser known operas. We make sure to attend the lectures preceding each performance and thus appreciate it all with additional knowledge.

Since Books & Books opened a restaurant, it has become quite affordable to have a nice dinner right on the premises. The earlier restaurant too is fabulous, but it is a bit expensive.

1  Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dagpel - thank you so much for your very kind review and for your dedication to this company. Florida traffic is certainly a difficult obstacle, and we really appreciate you making the trip to see our shows.

Your kind words have warmed our hearts. Thank you once again, and we hope to see you back at the opera soon for our 75th Anniversary celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

The Florida Grand Opera is one of Miami's best-kept secrets - but hopefully that will change!
Not too many people realize that the Florida Grand OPERA stages brilliant operas throughout the year, so visitors who want to soak in the sun during the day, can dine somewhere nearby at night and then enjoy the fabulous sets, voices and drama of the operas performed at the incredible Arsht Center. Tickets are reasonably priced - especially if you compare them to other major cities - and the parking is easy and inexpensive. There's valet service as well. I broke my ankle this winter and they went above and beyond to help me sit in a comfortable chair, put a cushion under my foot which was in a knee-high boot, and were terrific. What more can I say? The sets are imaginative and stylish, the orchestra is excellent and the talent superb.

1  Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you, Charlotte, for your very kind review. We are particularly thrilled that you enjoyed The Consul - we were very proud of that production. Hope your ankle makes a full and speedy recovery. Thanks again for your support, and we hope to see you back at the opera soon for our 75th Anniversary celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

For the last eight years I have always enjoyed attending an opera with the Florida Grand Opera at the Arsht Center. Magnificent talent and always a pleasure to be there early to hear about the back story of the opera. Absolutely a must see! A joy!

1  Thank Yvette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you, Yvette, for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoy our performances, and we hope to see you back at the opera soon for our 75th Anniversary celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

The operas best seating is in the first balcony, you have a panorama view of the theaters set & the its symphony. After the show, inside the Oprea house, the restaurant Book and Books, offers organic foods with seating inside and in the opera court yard.

3  Thank Kimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thank you for the kind words, and we are thrilled you had a nice evening! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Grand Opera also viewed

 

Been to Florida Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing