We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit dated but overall still a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
Ranked #35 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 9 March 2012

You may stayed at other modern hotels around the world and you will find it this hotel is a little bit dated. However, I still think this hotel is very nice with the size of the room, lobby area, swimming pool and the gym.

We stayed for 2 nights before we board on the cruise ship. Taxi brought us to South Beach and the terminals within 15mins and there will always be taxi.

Hotel stuff are very helpful.

Room is very clean overall. A little bit pricy but you are staying at Hilton, so you expected to pay a bit more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

It is always such a pleasure to hear from our guests. Thank you for providing your review. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our unique rooftop pool and we would love to welcome you back to the Hilton Miami Downtown for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,140 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here one night before our group's cruise. Taxi from airport was $30 with tip. We ate lunch at the casual bar area and dinner in the dining room. Food was very good at both locations. We had a comp breakfast buffet which also was very good with a nice variety of hot and cold selections.

Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We arranged for our shuttle to take us to the ship in very short order. The shuttle arrived promptly at the arranged time and within minutes we were at the pier.

Although the cost was on the high side, I would recommend this hotel to anyone for prenight to the cruise. We didn't wander around the area, so can't comment on that. The room was clean and quiet and we got a restful night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpyrcuiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Located just a half mile from the Port of Miami, the Hilton Miami Downtown is a perfect place to stay either before or after a cruise and we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit as well as the cuisine at both Brisa Bistro and our Gallery Lobby Lounge! Our team members will be so glad to know that they made such a good impression on you. We do offer several packages, including pre and post cruise specials to provide affordable accommodations to all guests. Thank you for sharing your impressions with us and we hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

It is a nice property, location is about 15 minutes max to the cruise terminals. Gets a little crowded in the AM with all of the departures especially on a Saturday. (Use express checkout), Should be less then 30 dollars by taxi from MIA airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location as pre or post cruise accommodations. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to the Hilton Miami Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Four of us stayed here prior to a cruise. First, the location is great. Everything you need is within walking distance in a fun area of Miami. We walked to dinner, breakfast and a nearby grocery store. It was about a five minute cab drive to the Port. It was only about 15-20 minutes from the airport.

This place also has great staff. The front desk has several people working, waiting to help you. Because of this, check in was fast and friendly. The conceirge gave excellent directions and recommendations, from a nearby grocery store to the cost of a cab to the Port. The bell staff had great control over the cab drivers and expertly and carefully packed our bags in the trunk of the cab and stated clearly and loudly in front of the cab driver how much the metered fare should cost to the port.

The rooms were large and clean. The beds were comfortable and the pillows actually provided some support. The A/C was quiet and easy to adjust. The bathroom had great water pressure in the shower and the tub drained as it should.

In short, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

It was absolutely wonderful to read your review and learn of your experiences in Miami and at the Hilton Miami Downtown. We are thrilled that during your pre-cruise stay, you and your group were able to enjoy much of what our area has to offer as well as our close proximity to the Port of Miami. Our team members strive to provide exceptional service and we are so glad they were able to help you with area recommendations and provide assistance with your taxi service. On your next visit to Miami, we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here for one night due some mix-up with accommodations in Ft. Lauderdale but that was fine as my cruise was departing from the Port of Miami anyway.

Location-- very close to the free people mover and major bus connector to get all over Miami or South Beach. A Burger King was directly across the street for a quick coffee or salad but that was it for restaurants.

Room-- I did like the floor to ceiling windows and it was clean but, in all honesty the room was no more different than any hotel that I stayed in with a lower star rating. The bathroom light is on a timer so that was good for energy conservation. Bed was comfortable and TV worked fine. Walls looked a bit old though so I am thinking that perhaps this hotel could be showing its age somewhat.

Staff-- were nice, friendly and always had a smile.

Negative-- the wireless internet. I decided to purchase it and it was horrible. Kept crashing and when it did open it was slower than dial-up I had years ago.

Was good for one night but I would not do longer.

Room Tip: Do not buy the wireless internet---a waste of money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoRobDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Your feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us. While it seems there were many things you did like about the location and guestrooms in our hotel, we can't help but be disappointed that we were not able to more fully meet your needs and expectations. We encourage our guests to share any concerns they might have during their stay so we can immediately tend to any issues and we regret that we did not have that opportunity. While there is a charge for Internet service in the guestrooms, it is free in the public areas of our hotel. The next time you are in the area, we hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#58 of 125 in Miami
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-1216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: €104 - €355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton
Hilton Miami Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing