We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Amara Cay Resort(Islamorada)
US$283
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
US$269
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,620)
Filter reviews
3,620 results
Traveller rating
1,873
897
466
224
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,873
897
466
224
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseadult poolfamily poolsushi restaurantatlantic's edgelagoon viewoutdoor tubthe lobster grilled cheeseglass of champagnemain buildingturn down servicefront gateresort feetennis courtstommy bahamabeautiful resortfish
Filter
Updating list...
3,007 - 3,012 of 3,620 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel is beautiful, set in well maintained grounds with exotic trees and plants. We had a golf course view which basically looked out onto palm trees and plants outside the window. This was nice in the morning as there were lots of birds singing in the trees and it felt very secluded and relaxing. The whole balcony was totally enclosed in though from top to bottom with mosquito wire which we found rather strange, but guess it must be necessary. Breakfast in the open air looking out onto the beach and jetty was lovely and the food was of a good standard. We didn't have the buffet but it looked pretty good. Drinks in the bar are pretty expensive- 15 dollars for a margarita in a plastic cup.
It is a nice walk at night along the jetty- go right to the end and see how many stars you can see!
The room decoration was lovely, but the air conditioner was very noisy. We just turned it off and had the fan going which was enough to keep cool. There is a coffee maker in the room and a couple of bottles of water provided for free in the fridge. The internet did not work in our room which was disappointing, especially as we are charged a resort fee and that is the main service included that we wished to use.We managed to get a connection in the lobby so sat there for a while to get online. You can also rent fishing lines, kayaks and bicycles included in the resort fee on a first come first served basis but we had to leave early so unfortunately could not use these facilities.
Cafe Morada and the Islamorada fishing co restaurants are just across the road and are highly recommended to eat/drink while watching sunset and the hungry tarpon and sharks coming in to feed!
overall really enjoyed our stay here- beautiful and relaxing and worth splashing out a bit more for. we paid 232 pounds for our golf view two queen bed room.

Room Tip: the cheaper golf view rooms are worth booking- only two mins walk to the beachfront and the surrounding exotic plants and trees are beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mermeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your vacation here at Cheeca, and found our resort beautiful and relaxing. Our grounds crew works tirelessly to maintain our lushly landscaped property, and it’s good to hear you felt secluded and relaxed on your screened balcony. We apologize that the wireless internet service didn’t work in your room – we are working to fix that. We appreciate your positive comments about our accommodations and our beachside breakfast location. Please come back again for another long, relaxing walk to stargaze on our pier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here for our honeymoon and it was worth every penny. The staff took care of our every need and were very attentive. We went snorkeling out on a reef, rented bicycles, played golf, and got massages at the spa. Due to high wind and surf warnings, the activities personnel kept us informed about the upcoming snorkeling trips and made sure we got to go out. the movie selection includes many new releases and the staff are friendly. We did have a problem with the dvd and tv player not working properly, but the maintenance staff came up and fixed it immediately at 10:00 at night!

The bathroom is to die for and the outdoor tub is breathtaking. It was amazing to see the sunset from the balcony in our room and the glass walled shower. For those of you who are a bit shy, its OK as there is plenty of privacy.

It did rain almost every afternoon, and once or twice the golf course was filled with water. I did have a good time, I think I played 4 or 5 rounds. On one morning a helicopter was parked in the middle of the fairway, but if you played around it as a hazard it was fine.

This trip, aside from being a honey moon, was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable, and luxurious vacations I have ever taken. Cheeca Lodge is phenomenal and I would gladly go back time and again.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room, you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rcogliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We enjoyed reading your phenomenal review. We congratulate you on your marriage and are thrilled you chose Cheeca for your honeymoon. We were very pleased with your praises of our staff – thank you. It sounds like you enjoyed lots of the activities offered here, and still found plenty of time for romance! We are so thrilled that we provided you with one of the most relaxing, enjoyable and luxurious vacations you have ever taken. Thank you so much for your kind words, and please come back again soon. We do anniversaries very well too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I, along with our teenage son, spent three nights here during school vacation week. This was our second trip to Cheeca Lodge and once again, we really enjoyed the property. The hotel is lovely, the grounds are beautifully maintained, and the resetaurant options were plentiful. We stayed in a King Suite in the middle of the golf couse, and while I was initially concerned that we would feel far away from all of the action, this was far from true. The room was extremely spacious and well designed, with a spacious balcony overlooking the golf course. It was nice to sit out in the early evening before dinner, watch the golfers, and enjoy the quiet. We were able to park directly outside of our unit so it was easy to leave the property, and it was a very short walk to the main desk and pool area. I would not be at all concerned about being in these buldings. The Atlantic Grill was a good restaurant, though we only ate there for lunch. A tad pricey, but not out of keeping for hotel restaurants generally. Our one complaint is that the seats by the main pool fill up by about 8 am every morning with people who put a towel and a book in the chair and then go away for half the day. This is absurd and most good hotels are now checking to prevent this. Cheeca does not, which is a shame. The good news is that there are numerous chairs to be had almost any time of day on the two "beach" areas. These were not far from the pool at all, and were very quiet, affording terrific views of the ocean (and much better than the pool anyway). The main pool was crammed with kids (understandably on vacation week), but the adult pool was wonderfully quiet (and enclosed), and there were penty of seats available there at all times of the day. It was nice to have the option for the quieter spot. There are lots of watersports activities available at the hut on the beach - free fishing poles and kayaks. Great fishing off of the pier, a great activity with little kids who want to fish for about a half an hour and then go off and do something else. They also have hobie cats and paddle boards -- though at considerable expense. The free bikes are nice, as is the golf course (a small par three). Overall, we will deinately plan to come back to Cheeca Lodge. If you come, you MUST eat at Morada Bay, which is just down the street. It is the best restaurant in Islamorada with the best view. It is on the bay side, and has a gorgeous sunset, a small band, great food and out of this world ambiance. Lorelai, also nearby, has a small band playing, good burgers and lots of available outside seating at very reasonable prices. Both restaurants are within walking distance of Cheeca Lodge. This is a very nice, relaxing property and a great destination for families.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of being in the rooms in the middle of the golf course. They are a bit cheaper, just as nice and really no further from things thanthe ones by the tennis courts.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for coming back, and for your fabulous review! Our suites around the golf course are indeed quiet, spacious and well-designed, and it’s nice to hear you enjoyed your screened balcony. We appreciate your praise of our restaurants, our adults-only spa pool, and our watersports activities. We apologize about the chairs around the pool being taken so early in the morning, but we are so happy to hear that you found other beach chairs available that offered terrific views of the ocean. We will use your comments to help us improve our services. Cheeca is indeed family-friendly but there is plenty of space for couples seeking romance as well. Again, thank you for your review and hope to see you back for a third visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just came back from a few days at the Cheeca Lodge. It is a beautiful resort. There is a $40 resort fee which is required and covers bikes, kayaks and dvds.

Just be aware that they don't really have a beach. When we first arrived, because it was low tide the water looked pretty disgusting. This is not Cheeca's fault. We learned that there are really no beaches in the Keys because of the reef. The waves break at the reef so no beaches are created. At high tide, everything looked great!

We had the Premiere Ocean view King suite. The room is quite nice, very big. It has a tub on the balcony which is kinda strange but the room is very nice.

The Tiki bar is fun. The staff there is very nice. We had dinner at the Sushi place which is only a sushi bar. The sushi chef was pretty stern and not very friendly - I have to say kinda strange. My husband had stronger words.

We did go to Morada Bay Cafe and Restaurant which I highly recommend. It is right down the road from Cheeca Lodge (we walked) The view is spectacular at sunset. You eat on the beach. Go early since it fills up very quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We found your review very refreshing, as you described our beach (and all Keys beaches) in your own objective words, from a guest’s standpoint. Thank you! Our $39 resort fee does cover bikes, sea kayaks and DVD rentals, as well as tennis and golf, fishing rods, shade cabanas, access to the fitness center, guest internet station, wireless access, in room Starbucks coffee and bottled water, guest fax service, daily newspaper delivery, local and 800- phone calls, local shuttle service and valet or self-parking. We are glad you enjoyed the tiki bar, and will use your comments about the sushi bar to improve our guest experience there. Thanks so much for your review, and please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just returned from five days in Islamorada, with two nights at Cheeca Lodge. Fabulous hotel, gorgeous grounds, beautiful pool, friendly staff. Restaurants on site are a bit pricey, but Cheeca is walking distance to other nice places in town. What a great place to unwind! Enjoyed the kayaking and a snorkeling trip run by Cheeca staff. Got a deal on luxurylink.com, a site which I never used before but will definitely try again!

Room Tip: We had a lagoon view room which was beautiful. It over looked some very lush landscaping. Loved it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you! We are delighted you loved it here. We hope you return again soon, and please note that we offer a variety of promotions and packages throughout the year in addition to working with the various travel booking sites. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews