We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool and modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool and modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

So wonderful! Beautiful, spacious and high end. We've got marble, granite, travertine surfaces. Our fridge is subzero and we could have a party in our suite, it's that spacious. Happy hour at the pool is just lovely. Now, with all of this, the best part is the staff, they are fantastic! Kind, helpful, knowledgeable ane they do their best to make us feel like we are special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank readytogo3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    195
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
666
501
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Great location, minutes away from Duval St. Room, which was more of an 'apartment' was very clean and comfortable. Truly had all the comforts of home, including full kitchen and washer/dryer with soap. The balcony was wonderful, overlooking the pool. Each bedroom also had a balcony as well. Service was outstanding and overall I would highly recommend this place for those looking for more than a hotel...this place felt more like a time share resort. Only thing you'll need to bring is a wine opener (or get a twist off!)

Room Tip: Second floor two bedroom suite was wonderful for 4 guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al_d555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Love the Santa Maria! Great location, block from the water. Right by Southernmost and the Waldorf Astoria property. Pool was really fun. Brett ( I think) the pool valet guy was fabulous, wanted to do everything for us. Great poolside happy hour, free sunscreen, lots of water, great service. Rooms had special treats like Dove ice cream bars in freezers, homemeade muffins, bottled water, etc. Downstairs rooms seem more spacious and may have the better floorplan. We were upstairs and had 2 smaller bedrooms (Queens?) and three balconies. Great spot for a hip hotel with friends or family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbernard1sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Santa Maria Suites the last week of February, and absolutely loved it. We stayed in suite 9 - a one-level, two-bedroom that opened right into the patio and the pool. We were originally supposed to be in a 2-bedroom bi-level, but were upgraded to this, and was glad after reading the reviews about the bi-level suites feeling too small. It was nicely decorated, very clean, and the extras were awesome - the ice cream, the smoothies, happy hour, etc. Not paying for parking was great - I've heard that so many Key West hotels charge up to $20 per day. Derek and "Ken til Ten" were great, and helpful (and we loved the lemonade that was always available in the office!) Wolfgang was always there to welcome us when we'd come stumbling back from Duval at night, and was so friendly! Plus, so many places close their pools at a certain time - at the Santa Maria they let you use the pool at any time as long as you are quiet and respectful of other guests, which was awesome. It was nice to be able to relax in the pool after long days of Key-West-Craziness! The location was nice. It was a quiet area, but in a very walkable location. If you dont like to walk, you could always take a cab, but its definitely possible to walk to Mallory Square. I would definitely recommend the Santa Maria Suites to anyone.

Room Tip: Suite 9 - opened up right to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misspeach84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

We had booked this hotel because of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. I thought the suite was very accommodating. We were not there much except to sleep, but the living room is small so we could not all really hang out comfortably. Loved the balcony overlooking the pool. The pool was great and warm for the kids. Derek was great. We were a bit annoyed that our room was not very clean when we checked in. The manager fixed the problem, but it did inconvenience. The kids loved the smoothies and dove ice cream bars.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GburgfoodieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.6 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort
Santa Maria Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing