We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful trip to the Dry Tortugas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yankee Freedom III

Yankee Freedom III
Book In Advance
US$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the eighth wonder of the world aboard the Yankee Freedom II Dry Tortugas National Park Ferry. Cruise in spacious comfort to Fort Jefferson Dry Tortugas National Park seventy miles southwest of Key West. Our veteran captain and friendly crew will take you to one of the most unique and spectacular national parks in the United States. Your trip includes breakfast, lunch, snorkel gear and guided tour of the largest brick structure in the United States.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Wonderful trip to the Dry Tortugas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was a really enjoyable excursion. The staff was friendly. Fort Jefferson is an interesting historical site. The snorkeling was great. A walk around Garden Key revealed some beautiful aquatic life. We are glad we took the trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    129
    32
    10
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
1 review
“A must do trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Excellent service, curtious crew, great food, nice clean vessel and a wonderful trip. The staff was great and very knowledgable of the history of Fort Jefferon and the Dry Tortugas. They also have military and senior discounts.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dry Tortugas - Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great and unique place. Loved the trip! Would do it again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank phototravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice excursion, a little spendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The forecast was 60% rain so we only had 35 people on our trip. They can have up to 150 on a trip. It turned out to be a beautiful, sunny day.

Breakfast was a continental breakfast. Nothing fancy. After landing lunch was served. However, before grabbing lunch we took a guided tour of the fort with Kevin - a crew member. It was to last 45 minutes and went almost an hour. Kevin was great! Kevin has the right balance of humor and dryness to provide a very educational tour while keeping it interesting. He was really good on giving instructions on the ship as well.

Lunch was cold cuts, fruit, drink, chips, salad, etc... As our group was small we were able to walk right up and make our lunch. It was fine.

We knew snorkeling in the lower Keys isn't that great and we weren't expecting much when we snorkeled. Good thing as I saywone small fish and my wife saw a crab on the beach. If you're going for the snorkeling this is not the place - at least not when we went.

After snorkeling we had enought time to spend 45 minutes in the fort again to bum around and check out more of the details.

I thought the time at Dry Tortugas was perfect. If we had taken the plane I would have been disapppointed in the time afforded at Dry Tortugas. Rangers were friendly and informational as well.

My only complaint is you can have all the water and soda you want at lunch. But on the retrun trip soda is $1. For the price paid I would think non-alcoholic drinks would be included for no additional charge.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Uasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
271 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime, had been on my bucket list and exceeded my expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was just one great big pleasant experience, from the first moment....purchasing the tickets, getting information about what to take with us, the crew on board, the narration of the trip, the food and service. The staff was so well informed, congenial, took a lot time answering questions...and when FT. Jefferson came into view from the boat, it was so spectacular it took my breath away. I plan to go back and experience it all over again. Many thanks Yankee Freedom II.
Barbara Bowen, Virginia Beach, VA

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yankee Freedom III also viewed

 

Been to Yankee Freedom III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing