We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food! ”
Review of Half Shell Raw Bar

Half Shell Raw Bar
Ranked #104 of 470 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Taste of Old Key West! Traditional Key West Raw Bar & great Key West seafood restaurant! Oysters, clams, shrimp, more! A low key restaurant for casual lunch or dinner. Settle down to an informal atmosphere, local characters, great bar and waterfront dining. It's a little piece of Old Key West on the historic Key West Bight.
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We had a great lunch today at the Half Shell Raw Bar. I had a grilled chicken sandwich and my husband had a burger. Both were wonderful and we were able to sit next to the wharf area.

Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks even though we are a seafood restaurants we make great chicken sandwiches and burgers also...Thanks for taking the time to write a review.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

The food is ok but the management is terribly unfriendly. All they can think of in that place is to make as much money as possible.!!!!
There are many better places in Key West to dine!!!!

Thank world-travel-experts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, Guest Relations Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

There are times when a language difference hinders a conversation and ordering food at a restaurant as it was in your case. The server ordered what you said that you wanted and when it was served to you and it was not what you thought you ordered you showed your server a photos of what you had before at our restaurant. If you would have showed us the photos before you ordered that would have been better. But we made it right and got you your correct food. The other issue was when your bill is $63 and you leave three $20 biills and a $5 bill $65.00 in total and do not tell your server to keep the change or that the change was the tip the server will bring back to you the change. That is the correct thing to do we do not keep any change without the customer telling us. The server was not telling you that you were cheap. She just brought back your change from the cash transaction which is the normal thing to do you took this as an insult. The manager was trying to understand what was happening but due to the language issues had a hard time at first understanding. You just took to attacking the server and managers characters while they were trying to understand and correct any misunderstandings. We offered solutions to have you and your guest leave happy. Your guest accepted our apologies for the misunderstanding and picked out a complementary jersey from our Retail Store but you did not. We want every customer to leave happy unfortunately you did not. Anybody who reads our reviews can tell that we have hundreds if not thousands of positive social media reviews from many different countries. One would think world-travel experts would understand that by making change and bringing back the change to your table is in no way applying that you were tipping incorrectly..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Seafood for everyone. Great medium and large stone crabs and big selection of raw bar items. Many fresh fish options that can be grilled, blackened, fried among others. Nice water views when seated along “the rail” or outdoors. Terrific attentive staff and fast service.

Thank mimi32912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

The "Rail " is the place to eat thanks for stopping by...


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We liked this place so much that we went back a second time before our trip was over. It's not the most cleanliest of place, but it's what you would expect of an open air bar. It was fun watching the boats come and go as we sat right next to the dock. The drinks are strong, and the seafood was fresh. I visit each time I am in Key West!

1  Thank mettahcayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks for the review but we are known as one of the cleanest restaurants in Key West. You might confused our old Key West atmosphere as dirty but we assure you that the Half Shell is a very clean place. PS our cleaning crew is taking your review very hard..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We had a tremendous time here!! Excellent service, great authentic atmosphere at a place that is almost legendary! The Oysters on the half shell are ridiculously good!
MUST EAT HERE if you like oysters...and even if you don't there is plenty to choose from! My wife had mussels and they were tremendously tasty as well!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Shell Raw Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
 

Been to Half Shell Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing