We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still best oysters after 30+ years”
Review of Half Shell Raw Bar

Half Shell Raw Bar
Ranked #72 of 454 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Taste of Old Key West! Traditional Key West Raw Bar & great Key West seafood restaurant! Oysters, clams, shrimp, more! A low key restaurant for casual lunch or dinner. Settle down to an informal atmosphere, local characters, great bar and waterfront dining. It's a little piece of Old Key West on the historic Key West Bight.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

I first ate here 30+ years ago and even though its much larger the food was still great. Seafood was very fresh, wait staff still friendly and fast. I love their oysters and still think they have the best. Their shucker is excellent too. No shell pieces and the oysters where always completely loosened from their shells. Not still stuck like some places leave them. Its really popular around 7. So try going 1-2 hours earlier or later to get in quicker. Nice view on the harbor too.

Thank MalvernGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

We have a few staff members who have been with us 30 years plus. It is because of customers like you and our staff that we continue to shuck....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

A group of us stopped in before a boat trip and all of us had something different, steaks, broiled seafood platter, fresh & fried shrimp, mussels, steamed oysters.

Service was very good, the bloody Marys were nice & spicy.

It's an open air bar with a nice view of the water. Interesting place, worth stopping. Ji

Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks we have been Interesting since 1972 we appreciate your visit and taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

First of all, kudos to our bartender Michelle! She was very polite, attentive and friendly. We had the garlic oysters that were great and shared the lobster dinner. And the key lime pie was pretty amazing. Nice view as well. And those two guys shucked oysters the entire time we were there. Wow!!

Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks for your visit to the Half Shell and the kind words about Michelle...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Great happy hour! Laura is a great bartender! She's the friendlist bartender ! Don't miss out on this place!

Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thanks for the nice words about Laura....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Enjoyed snapper and lobster tails. You could tell that the food was fresh and the staff was very friendly. Will go back next time we're in Key West.

Thank TravelBug1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks for the review we appreciate your time to write....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Shell Raw Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Half Shell Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing