We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #30 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We just overnight because of a last minute detour in Key West. Well, I regret we did only one night...the venue is awesome, so cozy and perfectly clean. There's plenty of room, the style is the right blend of traditional and modern, the furniture is of good quality. The hotel is quite close to the vibe of the downtown, but apart enough to be quiet and calm. The service is friendly and open to any request, very professional and kind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZDaveZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was in Key West in 1976. My how it has changed. Except for the hospitality of the Douglas House. Room was quaint, roomy, and larger than I expected. All the employees went out of their way to answer any questions and help in any way. Room V (for Vendetta) was awesome. Will stay again on my next trip, just hope it's not such a long time between visits.

08-05-2013
Betty Giacometti
Alliance, OH

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjean1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights and when we arrived we added 1 more night..the best place to stay in key west just because of its location, the value, the overall cleanliness, service, amenities of the guesthouse and the reserved parking spot completes it..its our second time in key west and wont be the last and definitely will be booking here again when we comeback

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julzbagulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Douglas House has a great location. Only a block off Duval Street, the Douglas House is an ideal location for downtown restaurants, bars and shops.
The interior courtyard has a small pool and sitting areas that made you feel like you were in a Caribbean resort. The rooms are utilitarian and clean, but what really set Douglas House from the many other lodgings in Key West was the accommodating and friendly staff.
This was my second visit to Key West and my friend and I wanted to take advantage of Key West's many water activities. The staff, specially Chris, was extremely helpful in helping us book the best excursions. In addition he gave out great advice on restaurants telling us about a hidden gem, Only Wood, a brick oven Italian restaurant. So if you are interested in a quiet, affordable, well run, place to stay in Key West, you can't do much better than the Douglas House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I read the review here regarding the folks who had left a few things behind and the Douglas House returned their items to them...We also left an item behind however when we called them about our left behind item the person handling our call did not offer to send it back to us...I was pretty put off by that reaction to not help us :^(

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
872 reviews
0.1 km away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#21 of 77 in Key West
513 reviews
0.4 km away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
786 reviews
0.3 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,096 reviews
1.2 km away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: €138 - €328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing