We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not the place to stay for a quiet get-away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 21 March 2015

We stayed three nights at Ibis Bay. How anyone could rate this place better than poor is beyond me. When we checked in we were directed to a grubby second floor room but no elevator. Ugh. Loud motorcycles all night long. Ugh. No cable TV for two days and the office lied to me about the Comcast service call. Ugh.
Nice shuttle to Old Town though.

Room Tip: Choose the newer part. Those rooms might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

You were here during Spring Break when virtually everywhere in Key West gets a bit noisy. It's definitely a party time of the year. We actually do not promote Ibis Bay to Spring Breakers because we like it quiet and we hire added Security to keep things as peaceful as possible. We try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 341 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2015

I just stayed over night in what seemed like an okay resort... But after waking up to a cock roach this morning and being verbally abused by the general manager Jeff/ Gina I am disappointed to say the least. I cannot believe that a manager would speak to any of his customers with such disrespect. They said "Get out of my lobby I do not care for any of you're concerns... You're just going to leave like all the other people on vacation and nothing will be done so you saying anything to me right now is a waste of time." After I just paid $400 for one night!!!! STAY AWAY!!!! There are better hotel/resorts downtown.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
7  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

This is an old scam. Plain and simple. Its similar to the "hair in my soup" scam. It works like this. The guest goes to the lobby and very loudly claims there was a bug in their room. They demand their room for free or they'll write a bad review. Big corporate hotels do "anything" to avoid a bad Tripadvisor review. Scammers know that.
We are family-owned. We don't support scammers. We put all out attention toward making sure our legitimate guests have a great stay. The most common compliment we get from guests is now nice and thoughtful the Ibis Bay staff are. We are not perfect, but we are trying to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

This resort is very nice and clean. The rooms are decorated like little beach houses. Chairs are provided outside of rooms or hammocks on ground level to enjoy. The pool area has plenty of chairs and tables to enjoy drinks from the bar (which has great staff and very attentive). Nice music is always playing by the pool and bar. Good food fresh seafood daily. Front desk is very courteous and helpful. Activities counter help to plan an exciting vacation of tours , snorkeling. They have jet ski tours, kayak trips, and they have a shuttle bus into town with two stops last pick up is 9:00pm. If you want to stay later a taxi ride is a small fee. I have stayed at this resort 3 times. Each time has been wonderful. I also enjoy the large birds and turtles on the property.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Adventures68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Thank you for staying with us again and again. You have paid us your best compliment by just doing that. Your review is a great summary of what to expect. Again, thanks from all of us. I will pass your compliments on to everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Don't be put off by first impressions this place may look shabby chic but it is really nice .Our room was really nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff in reception could not be more helpful with info about what to do and see in Key West and the bar and restaurant are first class , you must try the stone crab.Great pool area and idel for sun worshippers. The shuttle bus to downtown was a real bonus it runs about every 40 mins and can save you a fortune on taxis. We would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank gmccartney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Our purpose is to make your vacation experience a great Key West one. You sharing your stay with us lets me know we succeeded. Ibis Bay was built during the height of Florida's development. Our buildings are made from the coral rocks that were dredged from Key West's harbors. In fact, the dredger was the man who built Ibis Bay in 1956. We bought it from his heirs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

I lamented over the tripadvisor reviews for close to 8 months worrying that my birthday trip would be a disaster if the negative reviews were correct. Luckily they were not! We had a great time and would definitely go back! Our "value" room was decent, not posh or fancy, but decent. It was clean and yes the bathroom was small, but we have an RV so we are used to a small bathroom. My only complaint was the hot water in the shower vanished once our toilet was flushed (but only briefly), but luckily that was remedied with proper planning! The staff (especially Vanessa and Tricia, the concierge) were very pleasant and friendly; as was the bartender at Stoned Crab and our lunch time waitress. Our room was not ready when we arrived (around noon) and we were told that 'guaranteed check in' was not until 4:00, but Vanessa worked her magic and got us moved to the top of the list and we were in by 1:30. The staff also worked with my traveling buddies to have champagne and strawberries in the room as a nice surprise for me to kick off the birthday weekend. One set of friends reserved a value room, like we did, and the other set reserved a beachfront room with their own patio and hammock overlooking the water. Gorgeous views! The shuttle bus worked perfectly and was super convenient for getting to and from downtown. We took a cab on the nights we were out after 9:00, but even then the fee was only $5 per person. Overall I believe the 4 rating is fair in that it was a very nice place to stay but had it been updated with a few more amenities (like fresh carpet and microwaves in the rooms), it would have definitely gotten the 5.

Room Tip: Beware if you get a room facing the interior parking lot...the garbage truck shows up each day aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank burkeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

A belated Happy Birthday to YOU. I am glad your birthday vacation was as good as you hoped. Ibis Bay is family owned. As we make money we re-invest it all into improvements for our guests. We will get to everything. We have great staff who are all proud of this business and I know it shows. I am grateful to them. Thanks for taking time out to let Tripadvisor followers know how good you feel about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
957 reviews
1.1 km away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
3.1 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
213 reviews
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#28 of 51 in Key West
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: €140 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing