We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, dirty, motel not a resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, dirty, motel not a resort!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We travel a lot and are used to staying in quirky unusual places as well as the big chains, so we thought we would give Ibis Bay a try as it sounded characterful. On arrival at midday as that's what time the flight arrives, we were told to return at 4pm to check in, which was reasonable as this was the published check in time, however there was nowhere secure to leave our luggage, so we were asked to leave it at the front desk in an open area, unlabelled, no luggage dockets. The motel is on a busy highway about 2-3 miles from downtown, no transport, so you have to walk, cycle or take the trolley bus, $29 dollars for a day. On our return, we were allocated our " courtyard view" room, which turned out to be a view of a gravel parking lot. The door didn't close properly, the air conditioning unit wasn't working properly and made an almighty racket when we did try to use it, it leaked water constantly, and worst of all the bed linen was filthy, not premium as described and pictured in the motel photographs, but worn green sheets. Both pillows and duvet smelt as through they had not been changed for days, including hairs and dirt. We contacted reception, and they changed some of the sheets. The light switches gave out shocks when you turned the light on, and there was no hot water in the shower most of the time, so we showered in a trickle of cold water. The towels, just 2 provided, were like sandpaper, no hand towels either. One small cheap bar of soap and a cheap bottle of shampoo which we did not use. The carpet was dirty, and the room generally was dingy and shabby, with no cupboards for your clothes. There was barely enough room for the double bed. On top of this we were charged $10 resort fee, although this is clearly not a resort. I tried to mention these issues kindly at the front desk but they were not interested. We have just returned from staying in hotels all over Florida, and this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in, including hostels and motels worldwide. If it was advertised as a $50 dollar motel or hostel then yes, but not a luxury resort. We did not expect the Hilton, for the price, but did expect a clean place to stay, and rooms as pictured on the website. This is a shame as due to the misleading and false representation of this place people may have their stay in Key West ruined when there are far better places to stay for the same price. I will be in touch with US trading standards about these claims.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
We're sorry that your stay at IBIS BAY Waterfront Resort was anything less than paradise. The resort is undergoing major renovations, and it sounds like you experienced the 'old' IBIS BAY, not the new and improved one. In addition to upgrading furniture, appliances and bathrooms, we are working with the staff to ensure every room is spotless, every need is addressed, and every guest's stay exceeds their expectations. We hope you'll give the 'new' IBIS BAY another chance next time you're in Key West. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    364
    215
    99
    115
See reviews for
290
501
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Ibis Bay has potential. The price is right for what you get, except there are serious flaws in housekeeping and the staff needs to educate itself on what's available on the island for visitors.
if you want to drink your way across Key West, they can set you up with drink coupons, but beyond that, it's a mystery. It rained the day we arrived, which does havoc on the property. there are no overhangs on the buildings so water creeps in under the doors, which have a 1 inch gap on the bottom big enough for lots of water to intrude and the visiting lizard or bug. Luckily we were able to get extra towels which we shoved in the gaps and used to clean the floor. the parking lot was entirely flooded with huge deep puddles that never dried after three days. little attention is given to clean the exterior space so you'll find beer bottles, glasses, bags of garbage, unemptied ashtrays or just cigarettes and napkins in the stone wall. for an island resort we expected more attention to items in the bathroom too. but all you get is very watered down mini shampoo/conditioner bottles. no lotion to soothe sunburns. the water pressure in the shower was good though. the beds are comfortable enough and our a/c worked fine. management was kind to us, but we witnessed several chewings to the staff in public during our visit so we felt a little offput. the pool area is fun but be ready to share the space with young party animals that like to drink in the pool and unaccompanied children that hog the pool floats. they do have some great hammocks and benches around the property. the food is ok. just ok. the stone crabs are good, but tough to open. Breakfast was adequate with tons of bacon. when asked where to shop or about art galleries, the staff was clueless. They suggested we shop at Ross! Luckily, we ventured out and found some more boutiques on Duval. we didn't use their water options, and didn't see many others using them either. the front desk didn't really do a good job selling them upon arrival and this didn't give us confidence. with a little more attention to training their help - especially housekeeping - this place could get me back again.

Room Tip: if you choose a waterfront room beware that low tide does produce a terrible stink. though the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your suggestions. We have made a number of staff and manager changes that have solved the staff issues you addressed. Reading later reviews makes it clear it has had a dramatic effect. Our Fun Desk staff our now knowledgeable and excited to introduce you to the best of Key West's attractions. We hope to see you again. Thanks for your help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My new favorite place to stay in Key West. The rooms are very cute and Keysey! Very clean. The staff was very accommodating, polite and friendly. The restaurant on premises has an amazing menu breakfast, lunch and dinner at affordable prices. You will not regret your stay here. I little far from Duval but there are plenty of cabs. I totally recommend this Resort and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keysjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Unique rooms, helpful staff, delicious food, you nailed it! We hope you'll stay again soon. Tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Arrived for a three night stay as stated by other guests we had to pay a $30.00 dollar booking fee because I had booked it on hotels.com. It should not be called Ibis on the beach because it is not we paid more for a 'beach ocean view' room we had a very basic room with gravel and stones and the sea where you could not go in to swim outside what a con!! We paid a fortune in taxis because my husband wanted to have a few beers and not drive it is not near the centre of Key West and it was $15.00 with tips every single journey. Rooms are all based around uneven gravel and because it had rained there was lakes of water everywhere. Beds in room kept moving forward because there were no headboards there were no wardrobe to hang your clothes, tiles in bathroom missing and all you had to sit on were two old mismatched hard chairs... would never return to this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshrarebit34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your suggestions. Our beaches have all been re-donesince you were here. Key West is a on a coral reef. There are no natural white sand beaches on the island. That disappoints some tourists. Thanks again for your help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this for a nice Memorial Day Weekend. When we got there, we were informed that because we had booked this stay through Booking.com we were going to have to pay a resort fee. As it was late we paid the fee and got the key to our "court yard view" room. This "courtyard" was actually a gravel parking lot. During the light of the next morning we could see how dirty the room was,the tile floor was so dirty that it blackened a pair of socks. There was also a cobweb that dangled from one side of the ceiling to the other. That morning the phones on the island were out, so we were unable to get a cab for our destination. The front desk individual tried to help us find a ride to our destination, but he was unable to. He asked another employee, presumably a manager as he asked "boss" if there were any drivers free, and the other person said yes, he could have someone take us where we needed to go. We told him that we had to go to the Galleon to meet the others from our party and he said, Well that's not for us so they are out of luck. The front desk attendant turned around and said well it is what it is. Where was the customer service, especially after paying a resort fee? Even for the price we will definitely NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
We're sorry your stay at IBIS BAY was anything but perfect. A spotless room is the only acceptable level of cleanliness, and we have addressed the staff members responsible. But please don't blame our staff because the phones were out for the entire island. That is not under our control. We do not currently operate a shuttle service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 km away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,344 reviews
0.6 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing