We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Windermere, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I stayed May 6-12 and had a wonderful time. Everyone was very friendly, the food was great at the restaurant and the drinks were nice and strong. Yes the rooms are a bit small but you are in Key West are you really wanting to spend time in your room. They have been doing a lot of remodeling and are still making many improvements. We had a refrigerator added to our room during our stay which was really nice. It is a bit of a hike to Duval but we ended up buying bikes at the Kmart across the street and rode down. They have bike and scooter renals at the location if you are interested. (If you do opt for the bikes and are unable to ride them back several of the cabs have bike racks on them its about a $15 cab ride back)

The bed was very comfortable and the water presssure in the shower was the best I have ever had at a hotel. The smell some of the others wrote about was from when they were bringing in the traps. We were staying during Stone Crab season. It did smell a bit but nothing ever came in the room. We had the room right next to were they were loading and unloading and never came in the room and it disapated rather quickly outside. I think some of the people that wrote reviews just wanted to complain about something. This was a fantastic property to stay at and we will definatly be going back.
A few other things they do show a movie on Thursday nights on a screen in the pool area. They have a fantastic happy our with half priced drinks and appitizers. Since the restaurant is outside you do get a visitor from time to time. The iguanas were fun to watch.
I would say take any of the negitive feedback with a grain of salt. It is a great place to stay for the price I don't really reccomend walking but it is possible. Bikes are a better way to go, take Palm it seems to be a bit faster. I say give them a chance the new owners took over about a year ago and are working very hard to make the place better and are doing a fantastic job. Can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gurgi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words about IBIS Bay Waterfront Resort! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the true Key West lifestyle! We strive to give every guest an authentic Key West experience complete with smiling service, great food at Key West's hottest new restaurant, The Stoned Crab, local adventures and activities from our Fundesk and easy access to all that Key West has to offer. It's true, our new owners have made IBIS Bay an extremely popular vacation choice for travelers seeking an authentic "retro" experience that also offers all of the modern amenities such as air conditioning, HD televisions and wireless Internet. We hope to see you again soon, and feel free to add some photos to your review so others TripAdvisors can see what Ibis Bay is all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    364
    215
    99
    115
See reviews for
290
501
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this waterfront resort. The staff was very friendly, the restaurant was great and i loved the discount you received when staying at the resort and eating at the restaurant. Food was very fresh and delicious. The only bad parts about my stay were the smell coming off the bay when the tide was low, which was only at night, but was not an enjoyable scent when sitting on the patio outside of our room catching the sunset. The maid service came around too late in the day, around 3-4 PM. We were out most of the afternoon and mornings, which is the ideal time to clean the room, and when it came time to get ready for dinner and going out, they would come around. The tile floors need to be cleaned every day or at least every other day because the entire resort is covered in white sand. Also, the loading dock for the fishermen is located directly next to the pool and restaurant. When they unload their traps on a daily basis the sound of the power washer cleaning the traps is ear piercingly loud. not very relaxing while sitting by the pool. But other then that, everything was perfect. We took a cab to and from Duvall street and it was only $10 for two people. The resort alos offers alot of activities. We did the island tour on the Jet Skis which was amazing! See Will at the fun desk for recommendations.

Room Tip: no fitness center. late maid service. discount on food if you eat in the restaurant while staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Allyson T,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Bay Resort. Housekeeping does their very best at getting to your room in time for you get ready for a night on the town. You took advantage of Will, GREAT! Next time you think of leaving New York, don’t forget about us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed in this "resort" in April with my girlfriend. Far from being impressed. The hotel is outdated, tiny rooms, rude and unprofessional staff at the front desk, bed in the room probably picked up in Salvation Army store, awful nauseating smell from the ocean. Definitely not a dream destination and very far from Duval Street . Later in the day checked the hotels closer to the downtown and found better deal and better hotel. Ibis Bay resort is advertised as a Cuban Style hotel but these words just cover a hotel in bad need of TLC and employees with better attitude..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We're very sorry that your recent stay at IBIS Bay Waterfront Resort did not live up to your expectations. The new owners of IBIS Bay take great pride in offering visitors to Key West a unique island experience designed to evoke a feeling of old Havana or Florida in the '50s. Our convenient location, large private beach, activity-filled Fun Desk, friendly professional staff and Key West's hottest new restaurant, The Stoned Crab, have made IBIS Bay an extremely popular vacation choice for travelers seeking an authentic "retro" experience that never-the-less offers all of the modern amenities we all take for granted, such as air conditioning, HD televisions, and wireless Internet. Since the change in ownership, the resort has been undergoing a renovation program to expand and enhance the original resort. Improvements include new bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and extensions to the pool and beach areas. All renovations take time to complete and apparently you encountered the old resort and not the new resort that is well underway to being completed. Please accept our apologies, and if you contact us we will be glad to help make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I rented a room from May 2nd- May 5th. Room 509 to be exact. I loved EVERYTHING with the hotel. The service was great, the room was nice and cool, bed was super comfortable and I loved coming home from a night of partying and watching sportscenter on the flat screen tv. The only complaint I have is because I did stay out to 4 or 5 am with my friends every night I wanted to shoot the dang birds that squawked every morning. If your looking for a cheap nice hotel and you go to bed at a decent hour or are a hard sleeper you will love this place. I'm not sure if I'd stay again due to the birds and the fact it is 2 miles from duvall.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the Parrot cage. My room was 509 so try to stay away from that one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Eric, thank you for sharing about your recent stay at Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort. We're glad you agree that IBIS Bay is unlike any other resort in Key West! When you add our unique 50's vibe with Key West's hottest new restaurant, The Stoned Crab, and the wonderful recent renovations our new owners have made, it's clear Ibis Bay has quickly become one of the top travel destinations in Key West. As you mentioned, our competitively priced rooms feature all the modern amenities such as air conditioning, HD televisions and wireless Internet so relaxing at the hotel is as pleasurable as exploring the island and partaking in the many activities available right from our Fun Desk. If you have any photos of the hotel from your stay we'd love for you to upload them to add to your review. Please tell all of your friends about us and be sure to plan your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I booked this room about 6 weeks before we arrived (everything was booked) 2nites costed $335.00 the room smelled musty we got on the bay side food was alright a little pricey 135.00 with a couple of drinks lot`s of gay ppl making out at the pool not really kid friendly I would say. Checked the bed for bed bugs didn`t see anything it was alright, but I wouldn`t stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbutler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
lbutler0308,
We hope that you change your mind and give Ibis Bay Resort another try in the future. In the summer time we have our off season rates in effect. We are a place that you can visit with your family or a significant other; everyone is welcome to have a relaxing time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 km away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,344 reviews
0.6 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing