We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people, awesome quaint room”
Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here over Christmas, Barbara couldn't be nicer. We were upstairs in room two, and I had a 16 year old with me, there wasn't a lot of bar noise that we noted, we had no trouble sleeping, the room was clean and the continental breakfast included english muffins, toast, bagels, fresh berries and fruit, jam, cream cheese, peanut butter and butter to put it on, ham and cheese, coffee, fresh squeezed juice, and some pastries. Was very nice. We had a wonderful time. Parking is off site and free, but you have to have their tag in your car.

Right on Duval, the main street in Key West. Walking distance to everywhere.

Bed was very comfortable, the sofa bed was sorta hard to sleep on per my son but he wasn't bothered much by it. The sheets smelled like bleach! Very clean. Hardwood floors. Was wonderful.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room upstairs in the back to make sure you're as far away from the bar as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wannaseetheworldlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 331 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

We visited The Rum Bar several times during our stay and had a great experience with Nick (the Bartender). He gave us great tips on where to go in Key West and was a joy to be around while we drank our delicious banana rum. We will definitely be back to The Rum Bar when we return. Thanks Nick!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We love this place. I'm going against my husbands wishes by writing this review because he is afraid if more people find out about the Speakeasy we won't be able to get a room the next time we head to Key West. We loved the helpful staff, Barbara Bobbie, Bob and Chris and loved the option of our private patio or the Rum Bar porch for people watching on Duval. Close enough to the action but not smack dab in the middle of crazy. They found us a parking space and we never moved the car, we had the smallest room but we spent almost no time in it so we requested it again the next time we went. Brought the in-laws and they couldn't have been more pleased. They want to make it a yearly tradition! Stay here as long as you don't book before us!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Janis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Barbara, Bobbie, Bob and Chris are all super friendly and helpful with any advice needed. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Loved the option of hiding out on our private patio or on the porch of the Rum Bar watching the crowds walk by taking pictures of the beautiful Inn. I'm actually not supposed to be writing this because my husband doesn't want our secret place discovered by anyone else. I'm not a very good listener. Stay here...unless I need the room.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

You can't beat the price! We stayed here for 2 nights and really liked the room and the location, being that its right on Duval street. We actually got upgraded to a larger room which was very nice. Breakfast was really good and the owner was really helpful. My only complaint was that the AC froze up and was not working the whole time. But I thawed it out and it was working just fine after that. You can tell the owner truly takes pride in providing her customers a good experience. I would highly recommend this place! If we come back to Key West we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotter11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,794 reviews
6.2 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
212 reviews
3.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 km away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
0.2 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Address: 1117 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: €131 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speakeasy Inn is a landmark building located in the Boutique and Gallery District of Duval Street where you can shop or walk two blocks to the beach or a short stroll to world-famous Sunset Celebrations in Mallory Square! This landmark's recent renovation has preserved the original 19th century spirit of Old Town Key West. The decor in these spacious and airy suites is tropical and features hand-crafted queen beds and tables made from original 1876 pine recovered from our recent renovation. It has been restored to perfection, just for your pleasure. Each one, two, or three bedroom unit has a feeling of true Key West ambiance. You'll find collectibles taken from treasure hunts on our tropical island paradise and Havana, Cuba. Guests who require special consideration will find "accessible" units available. Amenities include kitchenettes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, private bathrooms, a large screen HD T.V., free WiFi and outdoor seating areas. We also offer a complimentary continental breakfast, free samples of our famous Painkiller cocktail and discounts on drinks at The Rum Bar! The Speakeasy Inn was the home of Raul Vaquez, who was a cigar selector at the Gato cigar factory. Raul's true passion was rum-running between Key West and Cuba. It's in that spirit that our lobby features the Rum Bar open daily from 11am to 12pm (or later). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West
Speakeasy Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing