We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, funky and friendly, just like Key West!”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
california
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun, funky and friendly, just like Key West!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

After over 30 years of visiting family in Florida, we finally decided to venture down to Key West. Don't wait as long as we did---you'll be missing a great vacation! And the Eden House is the perfect place to stay. Beautiful property, pristine pool, sparkling clean but funky restored old Key West building. But the best part is the staff, who are very friendly and helpful. Even the guests seem to catch the vibe. We walked and biked everywhere but thank goodness we were far enough away from Duvall street to have lots of peace and quiet. We hope someday that we can come back---it would be great for a family reunion.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeceeBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    324
    85
    38
    18
See reviews for
170
958
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falsterbo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Its always difficult choosing through the internet and reading the reviews makes it sometimes more difficult.
I do feel that we hit the "jackpot" on choosing The Eden House a small and cosy hotel.
The rooms where clean and well kept. Very relaxing area by the pool. And all the hammocks and seating areas it would be difficult not to find some peace on reading you holiday favorite book.
The hotels offer free happy hour between 16-17 every day and coffee and tea is there for you 24/7. And I must say the coffee was super. Your can hire bikes or even sometimes when you stay a for more than 3 nights I think the bikes are free or you can rent them at a low cost and Key West is best to see on wheels. Make sure you have front and rear lights on the bike.
Many nice restaurants in walking/biking. One especially an "Italien" just around the corner can not remember the name - but super and very busy which says it all.
Also just up the street a wonderful organic café, Keys best bakery also just around the corner. What more could you ask for?
Authentic or be true in what you do - would be the only down side. The staff sometimes show that its not the most fun in the world to meet and welcome guests. And thats when changes are needed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I found some of the more "average" reviews on here to be true to my experience. Overall, the management did nothing to offend me; nor did I feel an overwhelming sense of value or comfort.

We went at one of the priciest and busiest times of the year, but I think $300+ a night for our room was still steep. I would advise new couples or those squeamish about privacy to stay away from the "Small Deluxe" since you will get the barest hint of bathroom privacy--a shutter-style door and a toilet 4 feet from the bed. No dresser or closet in these rooms--you have to live out of a suitcase the entire time. And while their materials clearly say, "this isn't a bed and breakfast," I don't think a quick run by one of the many staff to pick up some bananas and bagels would kill them. The pool area, lobby, parking, and common areas are way too small to accomodate the number of guests.

On another note, Eden House seems to shy away from marketing itself to gays and lesbians. No Pride flag here. Their extensive lobby brochures collection contains no literature about the gay-themed or gay friendly options in town--an omission that was mirrored in the makeup of the guests, which seemed more Carnival cruise than adult vacation destination. I found it odd to be in a town teeming with LGBT visitors and residents yet seemingly the only ones staying in our guest house.

Pros: good location; good restaurant, Azur, next door; mostly friendly staff (if you don't mind the occasional grump working the night shift or people who don't look you in the eye). The $1 beer/soda at the front desk is a handy touch. And the cleaning staff did a nice job.

Room Tip: Book early and avoid the small deluxe, which is only half of what it promises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Pasa mos el dia 24 de diciembre en Eden House y fue muy buena experiencia. Las habitaciones no son un lujo, pero vale la pena todo lo demás. Los empleados son muy amables y siempre tienen cosas para ofrecer (barra libre, comida, ...). Nos sentimos muy agusto allí!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A unique hotel experience that delivered much more than expected. The perfect place to stay if you want to submerge yourself in the Key West lifestyle or just enjoy a relaxing escape from the standard box hotels. After 45 years of road travel, Eden House has become the gem of the bunch.

Not a polished 5 star place but exceptionally charming. Chicken sounds in the morning, open bar at night, great staff (thanks again Nate!), seclusion & quiet, hammocks & swinging chairs everywhere, beautiful plants & pools, WiFi, and the laid back Key West lifestyle in abundance. I think there was a television but we didn't get a chance to check that it worked. Rooms were clean and provided all the basics - but don't waste a minute hiding there with everything that is waiting outdoors for your enjoyment.

Key West sites are within easy walking distance but bikes are also available if you want to make things a bit easier. The front desk will set you up with any means of travel you wish and are very ready to help you get wherever you wish to go....even some places you never heard of before.

The people working here will sort out any questions or problems that you might have in a gracious and over-accomodating way. The dining advice was off the chart great but that deserves separate reviews.

The only downside was that we stayed only 2 days which was our mistake. Next time we will be staying much longer.

Room Tip: Rooms come in all sizes to accomodate visitors' needs. Chat with the great people at Eden House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueFromWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.4 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.3 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,666 reviews
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.7 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West
Eden House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing