We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, quiet & relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Conveniently located, quiet & relaxing!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I visited Key West for the first time and stayed 4 nights. The house is newly renovated and beautifully decorated. The outside has a huge wrap around porch that you could just sit out on and relax.
We had the Mallory Room and despite being right off the kitchen we didn't find any noise disturbing. Having the private entrance from the pool area along with the sitting area was nice.
The woman (I wish I caught her name!) that cleaned our room was so friendly and did such a great job, we always had fresh towels and our bed was always neatly made.
We felt safe walking around the area, even on the nights we came back very late. Duval street is within walking distance but you are still far enough that you don't hear the hustle and bustle that goes on. We also walked to the Bight Marina where we took the Yankee Freedom to Dry Tortugas and the Tortuga for charter fishing.
We rented bikes from the Artist House as well which is worth it since you don't have to walk to a place to rent them and they are comparably priced.
Although we could only take advantage of breakfast 2 out of the four days (we had to leave really early for the Yankee Freedom & Tortuga) it was always fresh and had a good variety.
There are so many restaurants and cafes to eat at within walking distance.
The staff was very helpful and friendly in answering all our questions regarding things to do and directions we needed,
We also took advantage of the happy hour one evening that is offered in their sister house. They also had a nice backyard/sitting area and were very friendly.
I would highly recommend staying here as they made our first trip to Key West a truly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Mallory Room is in the back off the kitchen. No one is really in the kitchen until about 8:30am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJDevils1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Artist House on Fleming experience! Convenience, Quiet, and Relaxation are all things that we strive to give each of our guests when they stay with us and we are happy to hear you found that in your stay. Thank you for recommending us! We’re happy to hear that we helped make your first visit to the island an enjoyable one and hope you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    162
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
586
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Artist House on Fleming. The house is quaint and recently renovated, so everything is like new. The staff was great -- very helpful making reservations and recommendations. The Flaghler Room was spacious and comfortable. The only thing was that it didn't have a bureau, which would have been useful. It was our first trip to Key West, so I originally thought of staying on Truman St. I was quite happy that we stayed on Fleming St instead! We rented bikes (conveniently available at the Artist House) and cruised easily all around town. We had a car, but preferred to leave it (parked for free :) ) and traveled by bike instead. No driving...that's a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 844Happy_traveler844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Happy to hear you enjoyed your first trip to Key West while staying with us! We agree – Fleming Street really is one of the best streets in Key West and our location puts our guests in a great position to enjoy all that Key West has to offer….especially by bike! Please come back and visit again the next time you need to relax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The staff is very friendly. House is very nice and well decorated. I liked that the street that the house is on has many beautiful houses on it that we would walk by every day to and from our home. I loved that we were on the upper level in the back in the small Whitehead room because we had a big back deck with patio furniture to relax on, overlooking the pool. The cons are: The pastry and fruit breakfast were fine the first 2 days in a row but by the third day i was kind of tired of it. I guess you could go out for breakfast if it bothered you that much. The mattress in our Whitehead room was way to soft. You sink down inside of it and its hard to move around once you are sucked in. Lastly, my only other minor complaint is that the room was so stinking bright once the sun came up. The blinds were cheap or something because the sun shone right on thru straight into our eyes upon sunrise. We had to sleep with T-shirts rolled up covering our eyes so not to be woken up at the crack of dawn to the blinding sunlight. Better quality blinds or curtains is a must please!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cessna_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We’re glad you had a relaxing time with us! We love our sunshine here in Key West and with an average chance of a sunny day being around 80% we sure get a lot of it. We’re sorry we let that sun peak in a little earlier than you would have liked and are already working on ways to improve on that! Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Fleming House and were totally impressed by the hospitality, accomodations, and location. Trevor was very helpful and made us feel at home. We have been to Key West several times and have stayed at different B&B's but when we were leaving this time we both said we are definitely going to come back to this house. The Happy Hour at the "sister" house gave us a great opportunity to meet the owner as well as guest staying at both houses. We stayed in the Mallory Room which is on the first floor off from the kitchen.Tthe plus for this room is the door leading to the backyard with a little deck right off the pool and breakfast area. Even though the room was near the kitchen we never heard any noise. This is by far the best place we ever stayed in while visiting Key West.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor Mallory Room - off of the kitchen and lovely sitting room. Also had a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaymik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing time with us! Thank you for your review. To have a veteran Key West visitor determine that they are “definitely” coming back to the house when they return to the island is a HUGE compliment! We are glad we were able to make your stay special and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I just had the pleasure of staying in the Truman room at the Artist House on Flemming. The Truman room was a comfortable size. I would definetly suggest the it. We did not hear much nosie from the other guests, but the Truman Room location helps in this regard, it is on the second floor. With only one room using the same stair case. The stair is inside unlike some of the rooms at the property.

The Artist house is a few blocks off Duval and I think this is a plus. It was an easy walk, and the location keeps the traffic noise down. If you are a bike rider, the island is very flat and bike freindly. We took advantage of the on site bike rental, and I would recomend. It also helps with finding a parking spot, as there is no off streat parking. This seemed common in Key West.

The breakfast was good, though not overally elaborate. The only con for me was air conditioning, the room is cooled by a window unit. It was capable but a bit on the noisy side.

Overall it was an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: I would choose a second floor room less people walking by your door. The hotel has hard wood floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our rooms all have their own unique qualities that make them special and we’re glad the location and size of the Truman Room suited you! We were sorry to hear that the sound of the air conditioner was a con for you, but pleased to know that it kept you comfortable and cool and that despite the sound of the a/c working, you still are able to recommend The Truman Room as an “excellent place to stay”. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,754 reviews
1.1 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,152 reviews
0.6 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,680 reviews
1.2 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
0.7 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Property: Artist House on Fleming
Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House On Fleming Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing