We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Really good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 29 February 2012

After staying at numerous hotels around the country this is one of the best. The rooms are just the right size for a nice relaxing for vacation or break. Of course if your a luxurious place like the keys u would want to be out side and that is the best part of this hotel . With its own big pool and one of the very few private beaches in key west it is perfect for being relaxed. There are lots of resturants close by or near the area but no need because the hotel restaurant, "strip house", is a moderately fancy restaurant with excellent food that is definatly worth eating at at least once. The staff at the reach is defiantly a hi- light. They love the guests and will do any thing to make your stay the most pleasurable that it can be.

The "casa marina hotel" also owned by the same people is a wonderful place to have breakfast. They have a brunch and a excellent eggs Benedict. The last thing is the casa marina and the reach have tons of fun activities to fill you touristy needs that include bike rentals, jet sky tours, snorkeling tours and much more. If you'r planing a trip to key west this is the best hotel for anyone

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,712)
There are newer reviews for The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,465 - 2,469 of 3,712 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel was beautiful, the perfect size, not to big, not to small. The staff was amazing, just couldn't do enough to make you happy. The beach was the best part, a lot of the hotels in the keys do not have beaches. This beach was beautiful, they had water sports for the kids and they attended to your every need.

Room Tip: They have Boutique Rooms which have water views, they overlook the pool and the beach. Each room ha...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LISAFERRARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It was all going to be our first time in Key West, FL. We were extremely excited to get away out of the cold Chicago windy weather. My boyfriend and I and another couple decided to book two rooms at The Reach for a wedding we were invited to attend for a long time friend of the guys who they served with overseas in Afghanistan. This was a very important trip to all of us! The wedding was held at both the Casa Marina(reception) and The Reach(ceremony).

Before we arrived on Febuary 24th, we called to see if we could check in early because of a previous hotel complication within their network. When we called, the night manager stated that our rooms were available and we could check in once we arrived. We thought this was fantastic and were so happy that they were so accomadating! We arrived calmly and ready to start our short weekend vacation around 7:30AM. Once checked in, both us and the other couple were given our room keys for rooms both on the fourth floor. The other couple were given an upgraded hotel room upon booking, so they were super excited to see what room was in store for them. As my boyfriend and I walked over to our room and split from the other couple we inserted our key to open the door. After about 25 times of trying to open the door, and all the ruckus we were causing by turning the handle and trying to push the door open, a man(who was staying in the room) opened the door to grab his morning paper. He asked us why we were trying so desperately to get into his room. WE WERE GIVEN A ROOM WITH PEOPLE ALREADY STAYING IN IT! I grabbed the keys to bring down to the front desk only to find the other couple we were staying with were already down there too. They were also complaining to the manager that they walked into their upgraded room with a couple SLEEPING!!!!!!!! I'm guessing this hotel has NO CLUE if they have guests or no guests in certain rooms. I would say this a major travel/guest safety issue. The manager seemed completely confused at what keys were left the night before that had been attached to the so-called "empty rooms". Apparently, the rooms were NOT EMPTY. You could see her frustration, as much as ours from our long travel from Chicago, and overnight drive from Miami to Key West. The whole front desk seemed to be completely unorganized. She accommodated us with a double queen bed room, with a balcony facing the parking garage where we could shower and sleep for a few hours until they figured out what they were going to do with us because they were overbooked(which wasn't our problem, we booked this trip well over six months ago). The night manager was very nice to escort us to our room at room #436 to make sure we didn't run into another problem with other guests possibly sleeping in the room. We didn't get to that room until about 9AM. Unfortunately, us ladies couldn't unpack our dresses for the evening cocktail party we were supposed to attend for the wedding because we were going to be moving to another room in a matter of a few hours. The guys couldn't unpack their attire either because again, we were moving. I guess our wrinkled dresses were going to look great for the cocktail party. Exhausted, and sleep deprived, we all showered and slept in our crammed room for a little less than 3 1/2 hours only to be woken up to a loud phone call from the front desk. They called to tell us that we needed to be out of the room and they were going to move all four of us into another room with ONE king size bed until they had the second upgraded room available. We all re-packed what we took out to shower and sleep and scurried over to room #427(SAME FLOOR). One of us lucky couples got to keep this room for the night. This room was supposed to be an oceanfront room. The room balcony faced the courtyard and the large chess board and your door backed up the loud and obnoxious parking lot where at night you could hear the crazy car horns. The room I must say was very clean, but for a 5 star hotel, I expected a way better room. With all the frustration, we got ready to go to lunch in Downtown Key West to relax, because we were all too crammed in the little hotel room. I must say, the doorman(I don't recall his name) was very helpful with informing us where to go eat. He suggested Alonzo's for seafood, which was absolutely amazing. We received another phone call(interrupting our long lunch) saying that our other room was almost ready, but wasn't going to be complete until about 4:00PM. We arrived back to the hotel to pick up our new rooms keys after already going down to the front desk a million times that day to drop off and pick up new keys. The other couple decided to take the new room, packed up half of their stuff because we were so desperate for time to get ready for our wedding cocktail party at 5PM. The other couple were put in room #424 and they were supposed to be assigned an upgraded room. Their room was NO DIFFERENT than ours. RIDICULOUS!!!!!!! They paid for an upgraded room, only to get a standard and better yet, nothing was done about it. All the ruckus and frustration of moving and lack of time that THE REACH had taken away from us dealing with their lack of attentiveness, poor bookings, and a million and one other things. we were a half hour late to our wedding cocktail party at the Casa Marina. The next day we awoke to car sirens and horns in the parking garage right outside our room. We didn't even need a wake up call. Thank goodness we had to be up to attend the ceremony downstairs.

The Reach hosted a beautiful ceremony for the couple, I must say. I wish they could've been just as professional in accommodating us as they did the wedding. After we left the ceremony, within 20mins of us getting to our room, the other couple received a phone call about credit cards issues. So ONCE AGAIN, we all had to take a break from the wedding and get THE REACH's problem solved. We were planning on going to take that break to go site seeing. Obviously we couldn't do that because we were constantly at the FRONT DESK! Come to find out, the resort was charging one of the cards with FOUR ROOMS when we only had TWO!!!!!! Better yet, they also were using the WRONG CARD, when they were given the current card when we first arrived!!!!!!!!!!! Once that situation was taken care of we had to hurry up to the room to change for the reception at the Casa Marina. Thank goodness were arrived in a timely manner. The Casa Marina took all of our frustration and stress and brought us joy by hosting a wonderful and professional reception. The Casa Marina was truly a joy to go and get away from THE REACH and all their issues.

On Sunday, we checked out as soon as we could. WE COULD NOT WAIT TO TURN IN OUR KEYS! Unfortunately, we left Chicago Thursday night, in hopes of a great weekend wedding get away in Key West, for only us to count down the hours until we were going home. For this all being our first time in Key West, FL it was the worst first trip experience we've ever had. I truly will admit that because of the way this was all handled and how we were treated, I don't think we'll ever go to Key West, FL again and most importantly NEVER STAY AT THE REACH AGAIN. Our trip was completely ruined!

Room Tip: Make sure when your booking an "ocean view/front room" they're booking you the correct...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you the overview of your recent stay here with us. We are sorry for the unfortunate events which occurred and understand that a member of our management team has been in contact with you regarding your stay and has made reasonable adjustments for the inconveniences. We hope that we will one day we have the chance to restore your faith in the Waldorf brand and welcome you back to The Reach.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a great experience at The Reach. We arrived at 11am realizing we may not be able to check in, not only did they accommodate us they upgraded our room. Our room was very large, clean and comfortable. We had an nice view of the beach (guessing some rooms don't).
The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the fruit water in the lobby. Yanni was a great beach attendant just wish they were able to clear a path to the water the sea grass created a barrier along the beach. Would have loved to put my toes in the water but couldn't get over the grass. Also liked that is was easy access to Duvall St but very quiet in the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We are sorry for the inconvenience the south winds caused for that short week. Our landscaping team worked diligently each morning to recover the seaweed on the beach to clear it for our guests each day. This is a temporary issue that does not happen on a daily basis and we are sorry if it caused any trouble. We hope that you will one day return to paradise and enjoy our natural sand beach.

Should your travels have you return to the southernmost point, please let me know so that I may assist with your accommodations.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just left the reach resort. We'll definitely be back. From the moment we walked in, we were treated like royalty. They really know how to spoil someone. The beach/pool staff really took good care of us. The wait staff at the strip house was very welcoming. Especially Julie, who made us feel at home from the minute we walked in. The room was clean and very comfortable. Bedding was wonderful. Overall a great experience in paradise. Thanks John and all of your staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

We can't wait to have you back! We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to your next visit to paradise.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-296-3535
jcarter@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
5.0 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.0 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,607 reviews
1.7 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: €232 - €597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing