We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Kewanee, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Meals on site great, view great, beach not as great as hotels internet shows. If your wife takes a bath, she is out of luck, no bathtubs. Expensive Ocean view suite was tiny, extremely poor tv picture quality on both cheap sets. Our room in the suite building was disappointing to the previous hotel on Marco Island. For the cost for two nights we were highly disgusted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLB3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear JLB3460,

Thank you for your review. It is imput like yours that helps us continually improve our guests experience. We will share all of your comments with our management team in regards to the facilities you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,389
    1,696
    983
    512
    355
See reviews for
1,845
3,225
94
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

we must've been the oldest couple doing this ride but the briefing was great and so was the entire ride.. its a must do.. out on the high seas.. Tom and Matt let us do our own thing as well .. loved it and wd recommend it to anyone of any age group.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganga D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Worth every penny. If you can only splurge on one thing, do the wave runner tour. Matt was AWESOME!!! and made us feel confident, safe and well informed on the history of Key West. So much fun. Do It!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front is not really ocean-front, but "side-front" still awesome with an outside balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gofigyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We went to the Waldorf for the weekend for a family birthday. I just saw another reviewer call the room a DORM ROOM. That is a perfect description. I did book the basic "traditional double" which with all the fees comes out to about $400. Lamp shade had a stain that looked like a cigarette smoke stain, floor was unappealing beige ceramic tile and the walls had the pictures situated in such a strange way that they appeared empty. Wow, not what I expected from the Waldorf. I stayed at a Waldorf near Versailles, in France and it was beautiful. This was really sub-par. Not only was the room a real dud, but the ice maker outside the room made noise like a tractor trailer. Note this room was located in the "new wing" which if you are looking out to the ocean from the main building, this wing is on your right.

I called down to the front desk and told them it wouldn't do. I didn't pay for view or some special suite, but I expected a decent room. After speaking with three people, who were all polite, but tried to put me off, we were told we could wait for a room in the main building. We waited until 5:30 pm. Front desk comped us two drinks while we waited. New room was on the 2nd floor, which was great, just run down the stairs to the mini-Starbucks in the morning, out to the pool etc. Perfect location. Room was similar, but due to high ceilings and better layout, it felt nicer. As an aside, this hotel had the nicest sheets I have ever slept on.

Another family member booked a two bedroom suite. Note it's really a 1 bedroom with a loft. There was a living room with a large L shaped couch as well. It was nice, but small, and had a small porch (big enough for two chairs.)

Check-in was smooth. Carlos at the front desk was friendly and helpful. They have a container with lime/lemon water out on a table, which ran out. Then people keep trying to tip the thing over to get the last bit of water out of it. Seems like it really shouldn't be too much trouble to just add a little water when it runs out. Such a small thing, but just seemed like a lack of effort on the part of the staff.

As to the grounds, this is the Keys, so if you are expecting a large sandy beach, go elsewhere (like Miami.) The Keys are rocky. But, they do a nice job with what they have and there are plenty of chairs, umbrellas (part of the $25 resort fee), ping pong, two nice pools, and several lawn game type activities that actually have all the parts. Hammocks seem to free up often and are really comfortable and relaxing, NO hot tub, which was a bit of a bummer. They do provide the lemon/lime water out by the pool, which is great and they had a basket with a few fruit items by the towel stand in the morning - a nice touch.

Hotel is located pretty far away from the center of Duval street. This might be a plus or a minus for some people. In the summer, during the day, this would be a brutally hot walk, so keep that in mind.

Also, found a great parasail deal. Call the hotel water activities number - they hooked us up with a Sunday morning special. If you go to the wharf downtown at 9 am it was only $29 per person. Likely this is a tough slot to fill, but with kids, it worked great for us.

Overall, it felt expensive for the accommodations and the location.

Room Tip: 2nd floor of the main building was great. New wing rooms are like dorm rooms with modern furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GablesRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great for families staying in Key West. Hotel is beautiful and a short walk to fine restaurants. Would I call this a five star? Absolutely not. It is nice, clean and well tended to- but is lacking luxury. Skip the night restaurant - the only dining option. The food and "international" service is weird and sub par. Many locals told me the new Westin is the nicest current place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.9 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing