We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
899
146
26
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
146
26
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning room sun room turret suite happy hour dipping pool parlor room duval street ghost tour mini quiches other guests eaton st breakfast was delicious each afternoon front porch first floor bagels the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Beautiful place, nice room, very accommodating staff. Great breakfast. Will definitely stay here again. We arrived late on a Monday night and was greeted by Carlos. He showed us around and made us feel very comfortable. The next day we had a snorkeling trip planned and he allowed us to use the room until we returned so we could shower before heading home. Love it! Great location.

Room Tip: Large rooms
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwnhartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dwnhartman, Thank you for taking the time to review your “great time” at The Artist House. There is no better place to take a snorkeling trip than in The Florida Keys. The deeper one goes, the visibility declines so why not just snorkel and enjoy the scenery. Hopefully you used one of our awesome recommended captains and guides because they usually do a little extra for our guests. Please come back and see us soon. If you let us know what kind of activity or tour you are interested in experiencing, we can give you the best recommendations and even book your trip. We look forward to seeing you soon at The Artist House.

— Jason and Lori Barnett, Owners’ of The Artist House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

My sister and I had been staying at a large hotel and moved to the Artist House for the last night. Wish we had been there the whole time. From the fabulous greeting by Carlos when we arrived to the beautifully authentic room to the wonderfully breakfast everything was perfect. Highly recommend! Thanks especially to Carlos and loved the stained glass in the kitchen!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Iris263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Iris, We too wish you had found us earlier, but as it is said: “better last than never”. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope to see you back soon at The Artist House. Hopefully by then Carlos will have completed his stained glass project throughout the entire house. He just loves stained glass and lace curtains. We are constantly telling him to pick up a new hobby but he insists he is only interested in making guests happy, stained glass windows and lace curtains. We all need a hobby, right?

—. Jason and Lori Barnett, Owners’ of The Artist House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

What a wonderfull place and a lovely experience to stay at this idyllic house. We had the pleasure to stay in the turret suite Where our daughters got to sleep in the bed located in the “princess” tower.
The house is old which gives it it charms but all amenities are great.
Carlos gave us a warm welcome and made us all feel at home.
The well set up happy hour gives this warm welcome even more charm.
The breakfast is as good as it gets. Fresh fruit and all kinds of Food for everyones preference is available.
The location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from everyting really which was great as temperatures were high. Result is that you experience some noice from the streets also because of the age of the house with limited isolation.

The interior shows that a lot of love is spent on this house. Every detail! We fell in love.

Alsothe pool/Spa is lovely to chill from the lively streets of key west.

People preffering the well known hotels, move on. Everyone looking for a great experience and a honoust friendly face, GO!

In all the Artist House and people deserves all compliments and we regret we only booked for 1 night.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank kole2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Helmand, Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of The Artist House. We are thrilled that you approved of our location, our staff, the breakfast and happy hour offerings, and our small spa located in the gardens. Yes, as you point out, we are definitely not a cookie cutter chain hotel nor do we pretend to be in that mold. We take tremendous pride in our history and uniqueness. I mean, how many places can you travel where your daughters can sleep in a “princess” tower? We are thrilled that your family loved the house, that your daughters were made to feel like the princesses that they are in life, and only hope that you can return to see us in the near future. Thanks again for staying with us and for sharing your review.

— Jason and Lori Barnett, Owners’ of The Artist House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I have never been a big fan of B&B's. Previous times I stayed at one, the rooms were tiny, furniture creaky, TV's too small and bathroom doors like curtains. I usually preferred a modern hotel..... We stayed at the Artist House a couple of months ago. Everything was great!! The on site Manager was really nice and welcoming when we checked in. The room was much larger than I expected, and no creaking bed!! The Happy Hour was much better than I expected with many choices. When the Happy Hour was over, the Manager even offered to bring out a couple more Carona's in case I wanted another beer later while sitting at the pool, which was really nice. The stay was great and even as we made new reservations for later in the summer, they were very flexible for our next stay. Will definitely be going back, (location was perfect)!! I would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: Book these guys early if you want availability
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello Benpainter. We love to win over B&B skeptics with a “fun” stay at The Artist House. While cookie cutter big chain hotels provide more consistency in dimension, design and furnishings, there is nothing quite like the quaintness of a B&B/Guesthouse in Key West. As you know, Key West is a quirky place and that is half the fun, right? It is a great compliment that you not only enjoyed your stay but already booked a return visit. Make sure you call ahead to get a room that fits your expectations. Each of our rooms differ in size, dimension and furnishings. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Artist House for two nights. I was somewhat apprehensive sincethis was our first time staying somewhere other than a big hotel. However, I am so glad we made the decision to stay here. As soon as we got to the Artisit House, Carlos was there to give us a nice warm welcome. He gave a detailed tour of the House, gave us some history, and showed us everything in the room. He also gave us some amazing recommendations of places to eat and things to do (all of which were fabulous recommendations).
We parked our truck on Tuesday and didn’t get back in it until we went to leave Key West. This location is perfect! Centrally located and only a quick walk from everything we did. Most of all, the cleanliness of the Artist House is like no other. Everything was very clean..which made the stay away from home more comfortable than normal. We really appreciated the warm & friendly atmosphere the Artist House offers. We fell in love with Key West and the Artist House and we can’t wait to come back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Krysta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Artist House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Krysta V, We are so glad that you took the leap of faith to stay at The Artist House. Just as Key West is a uniquely special destination, The Artist House is a unique special lodging choice that is so different than staying at a large cookie cutter hotel. Our entire staff (Carlos, Jessica, Shawn and Marlene) do everything we can do to make sure our guests have an extraordinary and memorable Key West vacation stay. Please come back and see us soon. We love our first time B&B guests, but love our return guests even more. Make sure to call ahead so we can plan your vacation, make sure you have the room of your choice, and give you our return guest discount. Thanks again for your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts of The Artist House.

— Jason and Lori Barnett, Owners’ of The Artist House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews