We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenpatiounitsamenitiesbeach
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My husband and I arrived for a much deserved week of vacation in April to find we were the only guests in this 4 unit "condo" directly on the sands of the Gulf of Mexico at Holmes Beach (not sure why but the sign out front said NO VACANCY). We had a gulf front unit 2 which consists of the basics for cottage living. 1 bedroom with a comfortable king sized bed. Soft sheets and plenty of closet and drawer space. The kitchen is equipped with a toaster, microwave, full size fridge and stove as well as a blender. We didn't cook but we did make sandwiches and reheat leftovers from our restaurant meals. What you are paying for here is the location. The sun sets from your own patio or the beach in front of you are spectacular. Its a very relaxing place. You also have the AMI beach Cafe 2 doors down which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as cocktails on the beach. Skinnys burger joint is just across the street and the trolley stop is nearby. If you are looking for a high end "resort" you will be disappointed. The fridge in unit 2 runs quite noisy and the large AC unit which keeps the unit wonderfully cool is right outside of the bedroom window as are the trashcans....you might want to try unit 1 on the other side of the bldg. Overall, we loved our home away from home and would come back again.

Stayed: April 2016
3  Thank 22pepper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We always found the Sailfish to be very relaxing and always enjoyed our yearly visits, however ownership changed in 2015. The new owners have raised the rates substantially and added cleaning fees and mandatory insurance. I am sorry to say we will not pay the new rates as they are too high for the condition of the property. While it is directly on the beach the interior needs to be spruced up a bit and does not support the higher rates.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
10  Thank JanGIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We paid $3500 for a 2 week stay in unit 2 which is one of the beach front units.
It looks as though it was remodelled in about 2000 and decorated at the same time, cleaning leaves a lot to be desired as do the cheapest kitchen fitments, crockery and utensils.
The light switch in the bathroom is away from the wall, the fridge gives of a noise at about 80dba every hour for about 25 minutes, obviously through the night as well.
The fan blades are greasy and dirty, the side of the fridge is covered in rust spots.
When you are in the lounge, it's like being in a goldfishbowl because the other units have designated tables and chairs just outside.
You are told after arriving to bring beach towels.
Air con unit sits outside the bedroom window and the fan in the bedroom is too noisy to have on if you want to sleep.
Needless to say we won't be hurrying back!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
3  Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Understand this isn't really a resort. There's no pool, spa or room service. It's an unassuming, almost invisible, small four-unit apartment building with a sandy backyard otherwise known as a beach on the Gulf. The building is set back, so you get a feeling of privacy, even though the public beach entrance is right nearby. With an accommodating property manager onsite, there are only three units for rent. You walk right onto the beach, navigating past Harry, the resident Great Blue Heron. There's a full kitchen, barbeque grill, comfortable bed, free WiFi and ample towels. No one comes in every day to clean, so you feel like the apartment's all yours. There's a Publix supermarket just a few blocks away, so consider dinner outside at your patio table or getting a Publix sub and having lunch on the beach. Location is well positioned if you want to go north a few miles to Anna Maria, or south to Bradenton Beach.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in unit 1 or 2 on the beach side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I wanted a personal getaway place on the beach for 7 nights. Sailfish is at a great location and the beach is magnificent. The accompdations are very clean and well maintained. The only downside is that the interior is very average for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews