We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Inexpensive”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Good deal for the money we paid. Although the breakfast was good. We would like to recommend more variety

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive very hard to make every stay the most enjoyable for our guests. We have since made changes to the Complimentary breakfast menu. We now offer a larger variety of fresh fruit, 5+ different flavors of yogurt, and snack bars. This will add to our existing menu of cereal, oatmeal, bagels, Danishes, pastries, and muffins. Beverage options are Milk, Coffee, Orange juice, and Apple juice. If you have any suggestions of other items, we would love to hear them so we may make more changes. Please feel free to call the general Manager, Paul, at 352-371-2500 or e-mail us at gainesvillehowardjohnson@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    142
    79
    37
    17
See reviews for
146
64
40
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This isn't the Ritz, but if you want the Ritz, go there and pay their prices. Ho-Jo's was clean. Everything worked, even an iron and ironing board. Room heated up fast in January, and the bed was comfortable. I will definitely stay there again when in Gainesville. The price was good, and I was pleased. Even had a continental breakfast. Good deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Although we are usually pre-booked for hotels and camping, we left our last night open on a recent combined camping/hotel road trip to SW Florida. Wanting to get at least to Gainesville before stopping we followed the scant I-75 signs for lodging at exit 384 and spotted this Howard Johnsons just after dark. The walk-in price was excellent, and the room was clean,spacious, and quiet despite being on a fairly busy main road. The hotel is set back from the road and traffic was not even audible. Add to that an excellent Asian restaurant next door and we were happy with our choice. Even the continental breakfast was good...fresh fruit /cereal/some packaged bagels and muffins. Convenient for an overnight if you are traveling on to other destinations in Florida.

Room Tip: can't comment...we are on the first floor and I don't think anyone was above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place was great. It was very clean, the staff and management were very nice and courteous. It was a great value and i would recommend to anyone. We will back next year

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DESTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I was looking for a quiet, clean room at an affordable price and that's exactly what I got. The bed was very comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. I have paid a lot more for a lot less at other hotels.

Room Tip: I asked the night desk person for a quiet room and that's exactly what I got
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 45 in Gainesville
1,283 reviews
4.5 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#13 of 45 in Gainesville
547 reviews
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 45 in Gainesville
123 reviews
1.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing