We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,614)
Filter reviews
2,614 results
Traveller rating
720
848
547
295
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
848
547
295
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrotto poolthe ramada plazaswim up baralvin's islandheated poolbeach frontsplash padbreakfast buffetfort waltonbeach accessoff seasonbeachfront roombeautiful beachocean viewpoolsboardwalkdestin
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,614 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This hotel was the Ramada Inn FWB for many. many years. Always a cool place to go. Over the years the rooms became old looking. They have started an incredible upgrade. The public areas are looking fantastic. Pools, bars, kids area, restaurants, gardens.... I understand the rooms are to be remodeled soon, if not already started. When this project is complete it will be a major destination resort and a big player in the market. There are several new properties in FWB but none will compare to The Island will offer.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in price by location and view. Budget will dictate the best option.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jb0les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

This is an older resort but has been recently renovated. The facilities, staff & amenities were awesome & very family friendly. Very clean and always activities (for children, fireworks, pig roast) going on. Already have made plans for our next trip there!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lswaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We booked a room through booking.com. We got room 1014. The pros of this room are it's close to a parking lot for loading/ unloading. It's on the ground level and out the door to the left is a direct walk to the beach. The cons are the room itself including the furniture, microwave, fridge are very dated. The bathroom door sticks something terrible and you'll think you're locked in, but you just have to forcefully pull the door open. The room faces the courtyard which isn't a bad thing, but there is no seating outside the room.
For convenience purposes, we paid for breakfast during our stay. The food was edible to say the least, but I would not recommend it. Each day there was biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs- undercooked, potatoes, and some type of meat- sausage, bacon, or polish sausage. They also seemed to switch between French toast sticks that were overcooked or pancakes that were the consistency of cardboard. The only items available to drink were coffee and water. If you want something different to drink, there's a charge. The food was also lukewarm. Another thing to note was the service was not good. You have to wait to be seated and then wait for your server to acknowledge you're there. There was one gentleman that was very attentive and had a very good work ethic.
We ordered pizza and burgers from the cabana grill and that food and service was great!!
Other pluses are the pool/ water areas. The heated pool is very nice. We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and we could tell the lobby area had recently been remodeled and looks very nice. Another positive note is housekeeping does a great job of cleaning the rooms and keeping the facilities clean.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank JenWoods-MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This hotel was so clean and modern! We LOVED the pool area with the giant rock and deep 10ft end under a water fall. We spent a fun night in the hot tub sipping drinks and playing corn hole in the rain. This hotel is great for families because there are tons of activities for kids and direct access to the beach!

Room Tip: ground level rooms don't have great views. go with a beach front view or a room with direct access to the pool
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akv924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

the wait to check in was 45 mins. the rooms are straight out of 1960. the bar staff is nonexistent. it took us 30 mins to get a drink at the beach bar while the bartender ignored us. the grotto bar is never open. the interior of the hotel is not updated.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews