We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,615)
Filter reviews
2,615 results
Traveller rating
720
849
547
295
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
849
547
295
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrotto poolthe ramada plazaswim up baralvin's islandheated poolbeach frontsplash padbreakfast buffetfort waltonbeach viewoff seasonbeachfront roompoolsboardwalkdestinreunionlandscaping
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 2,615 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamie D, Manager at The Island, by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamie D, Manager at The Island, by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My wife and I meet every few weeks in the Destin/Ft Walton Beach area due to my work. We try to find deals through our booking agent I work with and was recommend to stay at the Ramada for a weekend deal. When we arrived we were greeted to a nicely decorated lobby and entrance. Upon checking in I can agree that the rooms are a little dated, but our beach front view was clean and fresh with a balcony to watch the waves splash on the beach. We will most definitely staying here again and recommend that anyone looking for a place that is clean and comfortable within walking distance to restaurants and the Gulfarium, look no further than the Ramada.

While we didn't get into the pool, the grotto area looked very inviting if the gulf water wasn't so perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TLB_017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Manager at The Island, by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your excellent review! We're glad you and your wife loved our resort. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

At first glance of this hotel front foyer reception bar gardens ect i was pleasantly surprised and thought this should be nice ☺ then we walked through the dated hall & up the old elevator to our room, the beach front view i could not fault, great location clean towels, clean linen, but this room is dated.
The mould on the ceiling smells, the toilet was not flushing properly and the noise from the rattle of the ice machine in the hall is annoying.
Pool area great lots of room great for familys, kids, couples, but again pool is dated.
This hotel could do with an update.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Manager at The Island, by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your good review and feedback. We hope you had a great time at our resort, and will come back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Came here for a weekend getaway. Choose this Ramada Resort based on the pricing and the reviews. Everyone to their own opinion but I can tell you from our experience that we Loved Every Minute of our stay here!!! We booked online, got a great rate of only $153 for the Rock Waterfall View Room. We arrived on Friday, 8/18/17 and checked out on 8/20/17. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly! We found our room and a parking spot with no problem. They do have a covered parking lot also, for those interested in keeping their vehicles covered. We were in Room #4013, on the 4th floor, facing the rock waterfall pool area. I highly recommend these rooms!! I normally like an ocean front room, but the ocean is a good bit away to see even from the ocean front rooms here. We just had a normal room, 2 Queen Beds with the normal stuff, (TV, Microwave, Fridge). The room was very comfy. The beds were very soft and we slept great each night! We had plenty of towels in our bathroom, and they were fresh and clean!! We smelled our sheets on our beds, Clean!! The water pressure here is awesome!! Very Big Plus for me!! We didn't get any maid service during our stay because we do not like others in our personal space when we are at hotels. But, each morning the maids would ask us multiple times if we needed service, or anything. We just gave them our dirty towels and got fresh ones without any hassle. They were all very polite and friendly, with all smiles!! The only thing I'd say is the carpet is a little on the dirty side, but hey your at the ocean with lots of sand, so we understood. The Balcony View was Awesome!! We loved sitting out on our balcony and listening to the Waterfall!! There are 2 pools here, but we only used the Rock Waterfall one. There was a Kiddie pool, a Hot Tub, and also a pretty good sized kid water play area. We Loved hanging by the Rock Waterfall pool everyday!! We did get drinks at the swim up bar!! The ocean and beach area is just a short walk. There is also a bar area on the beach area of this Ramada! Loved that! And, at nights they had a live DJ and people were dancing everywhere! We love the Grounds in general of this Ramada!! Very Well Taken Care Of!! Very, Very Pretty!! We did eat breakfast each morning at their buffet. And, honestly I highly recommend eating here! Very Well Worth It!! Everything on it was Extremely Good! And, the pricing wasn't bad either! Oh, and the service....superb! We loved that there is an Alvin's Island Gift Shop right by the Rock Waterfall pool area, it came in handy when we needed things! Oh, and there are bathrooms right beside the Alvin's Island Gift Shop!! Along, with the Weight Room/Work-Out Room. We did eat at the Island Grille, (on-site) and it was pretty good foods also. Can't complain! On our last day we wanted to still enjoy a little beach and pool time, so we went and asked for a late checkout, which the staff at the front said no problem. We were excited about that! We loved our extra time here!! Honestly we've been to this area before and paid a high dollar amount for a hotel only 2 doors down, and this hotel was a lot better than it was! This will for sure be our go to Resort when we go to Fort Walton Beach!! I recommend this Resort, but just remember it's an older hotel; it's not the Ritz, and everything isn't perfect, but it for sure is Clean, there is plenty to do here!!! And the Staff are Very Friendly!! We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Rooms Facing the Rock Waterfall Pool are amazing!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanie30735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Manager at The Island, by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for your amazing review of our resort. We are so glad that you loved your stay with us and that you want to come back again. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews