We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boardwalk on Okaloosa Island

The Boardwalk on Okaloosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We enjooyed the pier very much on our stay. The shops were just your average beach shops with not so friendly staff, nothing spectacular that we found. The Crab Shack was our favorite part of The Boardwalk. I also heard great things about The Black Pearl but we did not try it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    94
    35
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was so excited when this was built! My favorite place here is the gelato shop!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Shopping and eating on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a fun place to come and is central to the nightime beach activity. The Black Pearl, The Crab Trap and Angler's (on the pier) are all good dinner choices. This year there's a gelato and pizza shop, and the ice cream is very good. Kitty Hawk Kites has much more than kites - good souvenirs for all ages, and beachwear. There are several other beach souvenir shops upstairs and down that are worth a visit. It's a fun place to spend some time. There are also large restrooms where you can change into swimsuits and go out on the shore, where there's sunbathing, volleyball and children's playground equipment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneDeA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Grab some food and hang with the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Pretty much just food, a dueling piano bar for nightlife and the usual beach crowd.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Osdanuwati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun but a little scary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I visit here once every time I come to FWB. It is fun and it's a wonderful view. Make sure you wear shoes and pay attention though, this is very much a fishing pier and there are always people casting their poles, so it can be a bit scary.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaMHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boardwalk on Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Boardwalk on Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing