We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed in this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is older, not cheap and only for the 65 and over crowd that likes to party like college kids. Not what I would recommend to anyone with small children. My 8 year old called this place a "dump".... The other bad thing is it is not close to anything except snowbird condos. We changed hotels and found a wonderful Marriott near the bridge to Sanibel. The Marriott was such a nice hotel, big rooms and quite nice.

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HudsonDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPatterson, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am suprised that you could not find anything to do around the hotel for kids. The majority of our guests are families. There is a pool, shuffle board and waverunner rentals all on property. As well as a shopping center 300 yards away and a movie theatre with in a mile of the hotel. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    574
    239
    88
    65
See reviews for
495
675
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent 6 nights here. It had many ups and just a few downs. The service was outstanding. Everyone is very friendly and willing to help. You get the feeling that customer service was very important to them. We like to drink and socialize on vacation and the Tiki bar located here is the best. We stopped every night, even though we did not drink/party every night. There's a band there every evening and an the music was great. Mostly rock from the 70's to the 90's. The group "Soapbox" was the best!! and their from Ohio. My one complaint is that the bands stopped way too early in the evening, between 8-9.
Once again on service, Scott, a waiter at the Tiki bar, was the best. He just hustles the entire day/evening that he is working. My wife also noticed how nice he was when he was working with a table of small kids. Thanks for the great job, my man!! Also though, all the waiters were great at the bar, and the front desk people were very accomodating.
We did book this vacation 6 months in advance so we got it for a great price. I don't think I would have liked to pay $300 a night to stay here. The rooms were very small(but clean) and the lack of a private balcony was not good. We had an end room and this meant everyone had to pass through our balcony area coming and going. There was never a noise issue, but my wife and I like to sit outside and read in this beatiful weather we had. Made it tough sometimes.
We met some great people while we were here. Some were locals that just like to drink at the Tike bar and some were vacationing as well. Best of luck to you Hal on your second, and hopefully last, tour in Afganistan. You and Vanessa will be in our thoughts and prayers. Hope to here from you folks soon.
Overall, We will stay here again. We usually go different places on spring break every year, but we felt we may come back here soon. A hint to all spring break travelers coming to Ft Myers beach - enter the Island from the south!!! You may drive 10 miles father, but you will save massive amounts of time, which is important on Vaca!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdjones1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Yay Holiday Inn, fantastic hotel, very nice, indeed. Fort Myers Beach -- thanks for the back-to-back Saturdays of parades that let to monstrous traffic jams in 85 degree heat on the main boulevard and even closure of the causeway getting to the island. For a town that survives on the tourist dollar, it's remarkable how little you care about people who need to get to and from the airport on time. We tried to see your famous "Times Square" the other night and sat in a traffic jam from hell for 1 and 1/2 hours -- we finally gave up and returned to the hotel -- 90 minutes one way and 5 minutes back. Well anyway, locals, hope it's all worth it for you. Eventually, people will find much more traveler-friendly places to stay in Florida.

Room Tip: Ask for Gulf View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madasahaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have stayed here for the last 5 years. We love the location.The rooms are very clean. They do need to upgrade their TV's with flat screens mounted on the wall. Otherwise no complaints. The dining is good. We really like their breakfasts and the prices are very reasonable! The Pinchers Tiki bar is a fun place to be late afternoon to about 10:00 PM. There is one worker, Scott, who is very special. He has a handicap but you ought to see him hustle!!! This guy is in 4th gear all the time...amazing! He's a real asset. We think it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had a great vacation with 9 girls. We stayed in the suite. It was spacious. Tiki bar was fun, live entertainment in the evening. Pinchers has good food! Mahi mahi was amazing. Rooms do need to be sprayed for ants, and we had a large cockroach (dead when we found it) under one of the chairs in living room. Yikes. Wait staff at the tiki area are great! Most of front desk staff, not so much. GM was great, she's very nice. Long walk to water but it was a gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef21cville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Stef21cville,

Thank you so much for your compliments of our hotel. We are pleased overall you and your group enjoyed your stay with us! I truly appreciate your feedback and how you precisely described some of our areas for improvement. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.


Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
7.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
6.5 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.6 km away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
8.0 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Property: Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Address: 6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4609 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydreaming about warm Tropical Nights and Spectacular Sunsets? You found it at the Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach Hotel. Dip your toes into the warm Gulf waters and relax oceanfront on one of the largest sugar white sand beaches in Southwest Florida. Our oceanfront Florida resort will make you feel miles away from all the hustle and bustle yet we are just a short drive from the SW Florida Int Airport (RSW) and activities of Fort Myers Beach. Enjoy the Florida sunshine by our outdoor heated pool surrounded by a spacious deck, comfortable chaise lounges and umbrellas. Our surroundings are tropically landscaped with Florida's natural beauty. Enjoy delectable Florida dining at Pinchers Beach Bar and Grill. Challenge yourself with our onsite recreational activities including Ping-Pong, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and scenic jogging trails. Along with free wireless access, our spacious guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Relax on the balcony of one of our oceanfront rooms and marvel at all the colors of our Florida sunset. If you need a bit more space upgrade to one of our oceanfront suites featuring a panoramic view of the ocean from an over sized balcony. Paradise is just a click away at this magnificent oceanfront Florida resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing