We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Funky Little Florida Inn!”
Review of Shipwreck Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shipwreck Motel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brigantine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, Funky Little Florida Inn!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of weeks in three different rooms. The motel is very clean and decorated in a colorful, fun Florida style. The efficiencies are great and well appointed (though the one "motel" room we stayed in was very small.) We highly recommend this place if like you like to be right downtown (one block from the beach and in the middle of all the action.) Park your car and walk or bike everywhere. Fort Myers Beach is getting nicer every year.

Room Tip: Ask for an efficiency. All rooms are on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resortg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    89
    24
    21
    23
See reviews for
72
117
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Unfortunately THEY made a mistake with our reservation. At first they were very unpolite although we stayed calm but wanted an explanation. They were rude and supsicous but in the end, they saw that they were in the wrong and became bland.
The rooms were big and clean, and we were not disturbed by loud noises although we felt closed in because it was a small area in the back of the store with different appartments.
We would never stay there again because we didn 't feel the relaxed atmosphere like there was in The Pelican or Bridge at Cordova and because of the rudeness of the people at the reception.

Room Tip: We had room number 36 and it was ideal for 3 persons thanks to the extra sleeping couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TildaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft. lauderdale FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

With a name like SHIPWRECK I actually expected driftwood walls and a creaky floor but not so! The SHIPWRECK is just the touristy retail outlet. The motel aspect is out back around a pool and is sheltered from the street and noise (primarily from the bar across the street). This is a tourist spot and as such one I'd stay away from but the room was nice, tidy, clean and renovated and, surprise, I rave about it......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrowephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We showed up in town without reservations, stumbled in the door of the Shipwreck and got two rooms. We absolutely couldn't be happier with the rooms or the service. The rooms are very quaint - Florida decorated with small kitchenettes. They were VERY clean with nice linens and towels. One of our party stayed in a nicer Suite that was really roomy and cool without the massive price. All the staff were fantastic and went well above and beyond the call to make us comfortable. The hotel is near all the action in FMB as well. I won't even look for a hotel the next time I'm in town, I'll go straight to the Shipwreck.

Room Tip: Clean and nice. Grab a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarathonFLKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago il
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have been here twice now and both times have been pleasant, Let me state though that I am more driven by price and location than luxury.. This place is nice, close to food and beach. Had a billing issue on the second visit. Due to me changing dates and then room type. But this was resolved without an issue. I like the place. we will be returning again in Sept 2011. And we will be staying there. I think you get exactly what you pay for. Considering this place is on Fort Myers Beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannatakepictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
6.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.1 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwreck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Property: Shipwreck Motel
Address: 237 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2145
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Shipwreck Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclectic, Key West Style Motel. Situated on a lovely lagoon. Boat dock, BBQ grills, 2 pools. Tiki huts. Efficiency rooms, 1 and 2 bedrooms also available. Located on Famous Old San Carlos Blvd. between Times Square and the Back Bay. Walk to everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing