We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not so nice office staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place but not so nice office staff”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We just returned home from a 5 day stay here. Had never been to Ft. Myers. I should have known something wasn't 'nice' when I walked into the office to register and get keys. An office staff person was 'arguing' with another customer about changing her room. The lady I dealt with, Carmen, couldn't have had any less personality. I have NEVER had such terrible customer service in my life. During the rest of our stay (and our room was clean and reasonably priced) the other staff seemed nice enough. When I went back in this morning to return our keys I talked with a man CSR who also had 0 personality/customer service. I asked for the papers that they had run my charge number on so I could rip them up and he said he couldn't do that. When he asked in the back if he could they said OK but he simply made ANOTHER copy and gave me the originals! I will not go back to the Outrigger - will try my luck somewhere else next time!

Room Tip: Don't book through Expedia like I did - they intimated that is why we had the room under the ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLBIGOS, Director of Sales at Outrigger Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Wow, this review came as a surprise. Our front office staff and especially the ones noted are the funniest and entertaining employees we have on our front office staff. However, sometimes being on the front line is difficult. Guests never like to hear the word no - but who does? Sometimes we have to use that word. ‘No, I am sorry we cannot do that.’ We can say it as nicely as possible but it is still a no. Our apologies for the conflicted service received. Less than friendly service is not acceptable and we will counsel the employees involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    634
    225
    91
    45
See reviews for
580
692
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minooka, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

we just spent 5 nights at the Outrigger (Feb 5-10 2012) and we really enjoyed our room- while it was an older hotel - I was a little worried when booking- but it was the cleaniest hotel we have ever stayed in- spotless- the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had one of the oceanfront rooms and wouldn't have gone any other way- was great to have our own balcony! We enjoyed the sunsets and just watching people on the beach- even though the water is a little ways from the hotel we could still enjoy the sound of the ocean waves. We enjoyed our location and went for regular walks each day- up to Times Square is about 5 miles and enjoyed going the other way also. The trolley (50 cents) each time has a stop right next to the hotel- We really enjoyed having the kitchenette- well supplied with nice size refrigerator, smaller 4 burner stove and oven, micro, toaster, coffeepot. Had place settings for 6, plenty of glasses, and so on. We are not big partiers but we enjoyed the Tiki bar music and the noise wasn't a problem plus it closed before 10- If we go back to Ft Myers would stay again!

Room Tip: ocean front only! We had checked out one of the other rooms but a no-brainer for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This resort was clean, modern, comfortable and located in a quieter area of Ft Myers Beach. The staff is very friendly - even the maids and maintenance workers smiled and greeted us as we passed in the parking lot, etc. The pool is small, but there is a large area for sunning in a separate area. The location steps from the beach is great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlady784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, FL
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

You cannot beat the experience at the price. It is a clean, comfortable, friendly and beautiful resort. My husband and I live only 12 miles away, and consider it our favorite place for a "staycation." Twelve miles up the road and you feel like you are a million miles away from everyday life. The staff is the best, and we always leave yearning to return.

Room Tip: We had a beach front room with a balcony. To die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob and Peg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have been here 4 times went to 1 other place in Fort Meyers Beach just didnt have the same feel. Very comfortable place with a very big beautiful beach with the best place to watch the sunset.The Tiki Bar is a major plus with great Bar staff and friendly guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,634 reviews
5.8 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
384 reviews
6.5 km away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,076 reviews
3.5 km away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
551 reviews
1.2 km away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Beach Resort
Address: 6200 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise is yours to discover here at The Outrigger Beach Resort! Located in picturesque Fort Myers Beach, our family-friendly hotel greets you with outstanding service and a vibrant Polynesian flair. Enjoy comfort, value, and good old-fashioned fun throughout the resort, from the 144 guest rooms to the two on-site restaurants and beachside Tiki Bar, which features live music daily. With the beach right on our doorstep, you and your family have plenty of fun things to do, like collecting seashells, sunbathing, water sports, or even watching pods of dolphins frolic in the warm Gulf waters! We also offer easy access to all the terrific activities and attractions of nearby Fort Myers, Naples, and Sanibel and Captiva Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Outrigger Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Outrigger Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Outrigger
Outrigger Beach Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing