We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience, Food and Service”

IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 877 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We came to Il Pomodoro over a year ago before we officially moved to Fort Myers and loved it. Honestly, after we moved here we completely forgot about it. They came to mind recently and we made a reservation. One of the first questions was can they accommodate a vegan and yes, they were able to do so as any good Italian restaurant should be able to do. I ordered Penne Pasta with marinara and asked that they throw in some vegetables...which they did. They also brought me bread without butter although it was a little doughy. The meal was very large and tasty so I was able to take some home for a meal a couple of nights later.

Outside of the meal, the restaurant's ambience was nice and the service very good.We came to Il Pomodoro over a year ago before we officially moved to Fort Myers and loved it. Honestly, after we moved here we completely forgot about it. They came to mind recently and we made a reservation. One of the first questions was can they accommodate a vegan and yes, they were able to do so as any good Italian restaurant should be able to do. I ordered Penne Pasta with marinara and asked that they throw in some vegetables...which they did. They also brought me bread without butter although it was a little doughy. The meal was very large and tasty so I was able to take some home for a meal a couple of nights later.

Outside of the meal, the restaurant's ambience was nice and the service very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Benzboy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, Owner at IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Benzboy06,
We are glad our restaurant came to your mind, and appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us on Trip Advisor. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We strive to keep our customers happy, and hope you dine with us again soon. Perhaps on your next trip you can ask your server to send me over so we can meet personally.
Sincerely,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

My daughter had recommended this restaurant to me. We made reservations and invited a couple of friends to join us there for dinner. We were very pleasantly surprised ! The ambiance was wonderful and the service was great ! We all had ordered different meals, but everyone LOVED their meal. The portions and the flavors were abundant ! We recommend this restaurant very highly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myxmascarol51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, Owner at IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for dining with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review about il Pomodoro. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your meals. We hope you will visit us again soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

My husband is a pure Italian. His mother taught me how to cook! (From scratch) I make homemade Braciola. I do my homework on "Trip advisory" among other sites to compare ratings and reviews and this came up highly rated and deserving! What a find! My critical husband hesitated but ordered the Braciola and I ordered Rigatoni Boscaiola. The bread was not my favorite( re-heated) and we told our waitress... and they made fresh.. still.. not anything we have had up in NY. (We are from there) My husband LOVED his Braciola and told the owner as he came to ask us how everything was! (Loved that) his was served with Cavatelli and mine rigatoni. We specifically ask for (altente' )which means cooked a bit harder (not soft). Both our dishes were done perfectly and both of them delicious!! We are traveling 4 hours home with my husbands left overs frozen to keep and eat! Warm, friendly feel, excellent chianti from Italy, family environment and no rush! A keeper for the area!

Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, Owner at IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Lynne C,
Thank you for your complimentary review of il Pomodoro. We strive to keep our customer's happy, and are glad you and your husband enjoyed your meals. It was a pleasure to have served you. Please come and dine with us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

My wife and I ate at il Pomodoro Wednesday June 7th. and had an excellent meal. Before moving to Fort Myers, we had lived in Northern Italy for 19 years and consider ourselves well versed in Italian Cuisine. At il Pomodoro we both ordered their Veal Francese and consider it one of the best we have for a long time. We intend on ordering it again the next time we visit the restaurant and highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates veal. It was served with two generous portions of veal, fettuccine in a butter-caper sauce and one also had a choice of soup or salad as a beginner. Their pasta fagioli also was very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy L, Owner at IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Norman C: Thank you for your complimentary review of il Pomodoro! My husband, David, and I, along with my brother, Randy Seech, own the restaurant. Randy also runs and operates all of it so please stop and introduce yourself to him the next time you and your wife dine with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals. My husband and I have been to Italy twice (mostly Rome, Florence, Venice, Assisi areas) and absolutely love the area and the food. Again, thank you!
Sandy Landefeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Since we live in tourist destination, we typically wait til the slow season to visit our fave restaurants. It's that time, and Il Pomodoro generously offered a dining discount we couldn't wait to use. The restaurant offers a relaxing Italian setting (not to mistake with overly casual) and a great menu selection. I discovered a new favorite pinot noir, Block Nine - our waiter, Elvis, even brought a bottle to the table so I'd be familiar with it when I wished to purchase from a retailer. I ordered the veal piccata, it was excellent. . My husband ordered the Fettuccine Mario and was very pleased as well. The portions were quite generous and a soup or salad is included as well as garlic rolls. Ask to be seated at Elvis's table, you will receive very good service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank St_Augustine_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to IL Pomodoro Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing