We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.. If only the service was wow too.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow.. If only the service was wow too.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Booked this hotel through a last minute hotel booking app and got a great deal. Wasn't sure what to expect but I was blown away by the property for the money I paid. The room was ridiculous. I could have moved in there. It was basically an apartment. Kitchen, lounge, bedroom, bathroom, 2 balconies and all of it was just so stylish. I'm kinda sad I was only there for a day.

The bad? Well, working in the hospitality industry and when not working spending about 3 months of the year in hotels I have a lot of experience of nice hotels and I tend to have quite high expectations. While not terrible the service really didn't match up to the property. I always try to have a realistic expectation and for me it just left me a tad disappointed. Of the 4 people that I interacted with - 2 valet guys and 2 front desk staff, only one of the valet guys really impressed me. There is a fine line between great service and being overly snooty and pretentious. I won't mention names here as it isn't important but I would hope the management read this and maybe look into it. I notice a few other people on here have also spoken about the service too. On the service note - I found that a charge had been made on my account by the hotel after I checked out. I emailed them to enquire what it was and have had no reply. Not impressed at all. That fact alone would stop me booking again. Shame.

Finally - valet only parking? I like to park my own car thanks very much. I don't even mind paying for parking but I don't like other people driving my car. Give me the option please.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntHeywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Mr. Heywood,

We appreciate your compliments of il Lugano hotel. Thank you for reaching out to us as it relates to your experience here at il Lugano and I’d like to apologize for the service you received, as this is not the standards we have set for our hotel. Please rest assured I will personally follow-up with the Front Office team and Valet to ensure our standards are set in place. As it relates to the additional charges you have mentioned I will make direct contact with you via the email address we have on file or please inform me of better means by sending it to my e-mail, michael.hatzfeld@illugano.com or 954-564-4400. In the meantime I would welcome the opportunity to have you experience a proper il Lugano vacation in the near future, please feel free to contact me directly.

In the meantime best regards

Michael Hatzfeld
General Manager
Il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    340
    75
    45
    22
See reviews for
337
599
63
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We travelled to USA to attend a cooking class which was organized by Epitourean tours. Hotel Il Lugano was included in our package 4 days , 3 nights. This hotel is a boutique hotel, very beautiful view,not far from the Beach and nice and quiet neighbourhood. Our room was nice, although we reserved an ocean view, we got an intercoastal view, but still we enjoyed the room and as an exception we could check in earlier. The only - is the parking, but there is valet parking available. The hotel is near a lot of shopping centers and a couple of minutes form the beach area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
On behalf of il Lugano staff, thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to have been part of your USA travels. It seems you have a lot of great memories to take back home, from an exciting cooking class experience to beautiful views from il Lugano Hotel. We always ensure our guests receive the best available room type and view. Our apologies the view modification upon your arrival was not to your preference, we do encourage our guests to inform us of such situations this way we may accommodate to your expectations. We hope to have to opportunity to host your next Fort Lauderdale vacation in the future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at the Il Lugano in April 2012. It is a very upscale hotel in a modern building on the intercoastal waterway north of the A1A "strip". The staff is attentive and friendly and made the stay even more pleasurable. The restuarant manager took me for a little tour, and explained the cuisine. It was a nice toch and the food lived up to expectations. The pool area is nice, but small, tucked into the north side of the property, but is does open on to the intercoastal. The rooms are large and well appoiinted. Mine included lots of closet space, a small kitchen and washer and dryer. I would suggest a car to get around, but be prepared for a $25 per night valet fee. It is the only option. Even given that inconvenience, I will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations. We look forward to your next il Lugano vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The room was definately more like an apartment, very spacious, walk -in closet. I enjoyed the robes and sitting out on the balcony looking @ the oceanview. Another highlight for us was having an Italian bakery a stones throw away. There was a french and also a greek restaurant in walking distance. If you are a blues and jazz fan, a place called Blue Jeans Blues was just down the street. I guess I would recommend a room higher up to enjoy the view of the water. Don't forget to try the watertaxi in Ft. Lauderdale, if you ask - they can drop you off @ the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BisJuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It seems you truly enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer, from the rooms to our convenient water taxi stop. As you mentioned the water taxi stop is located on the North side of the hotel which provides our guests with transportation upon request. It definitely is a great way to enjoy wonderful Intracoastal views while reaching your next destination. On behalf of il Lugano, we hope to see you again soon.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

When we checked in, we were upgraded at no extra charge to a large suite. It was beautiful & luxurious! We ordered room service for breakfast, and it was a bit on the expensive side, but it was great. The service was excellent. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnoodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We always want to ensure our guests receive the best available room type and we inform our guests about any available upgrades upon check-in. We are happy we were able to do this at no extra charge to you. On behalf of il Lugano we hope to be part of your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,731 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,701 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,102 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing