We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing customer service. Not a good value.”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing customer service. Not a good value.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the W for one night pre-cruise. Our stay began with a weird exchange with the woman at the front desk. Due to the fact I had a spa treatment at Bliss booked until noon, I asked for a one hour late checkout. My request was met with hesitation at first, and then with, "Since you are booked at Bliss, that can probably be accommodated." I asked, "what do I need to do to get that secured?" Answer: "Just come back to the front desk." Me: "Who should I ask for?" Front Desk lady: "Uh, You can ask for me." Me: "Why do I have to make a special trip back down, then. Can't you do it now?" Her: "Umm, O.K. I guess I can." What the heck??? That whole exchange left a bad taste for our first few minutes in the hotel. I wish I could remember her name, but she had below shoulder-length brown curly hair. The room was a little disappointing as compared with other W rooms. For the price of a corner room, I was expecting bigger, nicer, more luxurious. No cushions on the outdoor furniture. Also, the outdoor furniture was very low and crammed into a tiny balcony. The combination tub/shower was outdated, and I won't comment further on the glass wall, except to say that parents with kids -- beware! However, the Bliss amenities were quite nice and I have no other complaints about the room. We ate in the main hotel restaurant on the first floor and it was awesome. I think that the restaurant must be under different management than the hotel, because the level of service was a number of notches higher than in the main hotel. Before dinner, we tried to have a drink in the bar near the lobby and no one would wait on us. My husband finally went to the bar, and the bartender tried to get a server. Frankly, couldn't he have waited on us himself if there were no servers? After no one showed up for ten minutes, we gave up. We were the ONLY ONES sitting in the bar area.

The best part of the visit (other than our meal) was the complementary Acura ride to the cruise port. Easy to book, and very enjoyable!

OK -- I have to say that based on what we experienced, this particular W must have a management problem. I get the impression that staff doesn't care about "Whatever, Whenever." Staff was not up to par with other W's, much less other hotels in this price category. The management here ought to visit the Four Seasons (which I just booked in Miami for $100 less than my W nightly rate) to get an idea of customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurLakeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
OurLakeHouse,

Thank you taking time to share your feedback. While it’s disappointing to hear of some of the troubles you faced during your stay, we are very happy that you were able to enjoy Steak 954 and the complimentary Acura Service. We will be sure to address your concerns with our team in hopes of improving your future stays. Upon your next visit, please feel free to request a room with privacy shutters for the WC and our team will certainly do our best accommodate.

Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,314
    875
    464
    261
    186
See reviews for
841
1,515
220
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The mark of a good hotel is the level of service, and this particular W falls short. Their catch phrase is "whatever, whenever" but that is simply not the case! We were left on hold for ages when calling reception, room service, and the valet. Also, room service took one hour and 40 minutes. The rooms were strange. The shower was glass and in the middle of the room. Also, the toilet was behind obscured glass. Personally, I think anything I do in the bathroom is my business, and I don't need my husband to see it! Also, the super-sleek decor was not practical. The bathroom had inadequate counter space and the towel rack was a knee-level. They thought of a make-up mirror, but not enough light to actually apply make-up. Male designer, I guess!

The good part was that the beds were super comfortable and the Bliss products are really nice. Also, the proximity to the beach was handy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Sfs1966,

We appreciate your feedback. Upon future stays, please feel free to request a room with a privacy shutter and our team will certainly do its best to accommodate – we understand your preference and offer rooms that may better appeal to your likings. And while some of our décor may not suit everyone’s tastes, we are happy that you enjoyed the Signature W Bed and bliss products.

We hope to welcome you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very nice hotel with a great location. Service was fantastic and I would highly recommend eating at the hotel restaurants... Great time

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Well, I've spent the last 10 days at the W hotel in sunny Fort Lauderdale, Florida. So far I can report that the service has been outstanding and the room has been amazing. Not with out saying that Steak 954 is outragious, Located right on A1A and across the street from the powder white beaches offered in Florida. A most visit to treat yourself and a romantic destination. Unfortunately, I am here on business and have only enjoyed the spectacular sunrise that this location provides. Located just moments to a vibrant Las Olas Blvd, where you can find great food and fantastic night atmosphere. That's all I have. Hope it helps you on your travels. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tvazquez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Tvazquez22,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. Whether its business or a getaway, I'm glad you were provided with outstanding service and a comfortable experience that met your expectations. Fort Lauderdale is a beautiful city and we do hope you have time to explore a bit more next time you visit.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed here for new years eve and new years and had a great time. The room was beautiful and the ambience is what really made me enjoy my stay here.
I was able to take advantage of the W vehicle to visit a nearby restaurant that was referred by one of the staff members. There is also a great upscale lounge and club located inside which I enjoyed.
The service was a little slow when it came to ordering whatever whenever I wanted.
But overall the location and the cleanliness of the hotel was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLseries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
CLSeries,

Thank you for ringing in the New Year with us. What a way to celebrate! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,991 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,546 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,927 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,697 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing