We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hugh Taylor Birch State Park

Hugh Taylor Birch State Park
Book In Advance
US$56.29*
and up
90 Minute Segway Tour - Hugh Taylor Birch State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Smack in the middle of the city is this 180-acre park, which offers a respite from city life with picnicking, camping, swimming and canoeing and a chance to tour the home of the generous man who donated his lovely estate to Florida.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Grant, mi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We wanted to walk around and check this one out. Very glad we did too, it was very beautiful and what a wonderful secluded place in the middle of a bustling city. there is a tunnel that goes to the beach, so you can cross there instead of over the busy road. When you get into the park, you forget you are in a busy city, the views were wonderful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    229
    68
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
288 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great nature park close to the Fort Laudedale Beach area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great nature walk. Staff is friendly and accomodating. We did not know that a nature park was so close to everything. The park is interesting and has some great history. A terrific walk through park!

Helpful?
Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood, florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Urban Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

All that's good about an inner city park - by the beach!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank extraclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis, Ample Parking, Canoeing, LOCK CAR TAKE VALUABLES.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I visited the Hugh Taylor Birch State Park while visiting Ft. Lauderdale. The admission fee was modest and parking ample. We took the pedestrian tunnel to the bridge. The bridge is narrow, but nice. A bit of shade was found under a palm tree for a picnic (highly recommend nearby Euro Cafe for sandwiches). We rented a canoe and enjoyed an incredible paddle down a creek with egrets, a giant heron, turtles, fish and we even saw a snake or baby crocodile in the lilly pads.

VERY IMPORTANT, WHILE LEAVING WE SAW A FAMILY RETURN TO THEIR CAR TO FIND A SMASHED WINDOW AND ALL VALUABLES STOLEN. THIS HAPPENS A LOT. TAKE YOUR VALUABLES WITH YOU. IF YOU HAVE LUGGAGE, SUGGEST YOU DO NOT LEAVE IT AS WE LEARNED LATER PEOPLE HAVE HAD LUGGAGE STOLEN TOO.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneymoonEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

clean park - guided tours are very informative & the staff is helpful & knowledgable

Helpful?
Thank CAROLINA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hugh Taylor Birch State Park also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Hugh Taylor Birch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing