We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
129
102
44
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
102
44
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews keurig coffee maker cute hotel pool courtyard boutique hotel fruit infused water beach property minute walk to the beach bathroom area quiet street full length mirror sized bed our room was spacious very clean hotel short stay beach towels location is great bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2016

You get what you pay for. 2 Blocks from the beach. No phone service in the room.

If you need room service, you have to head out near the entrance and ring a bell for anything you need.

Beds are awful No breakfast options and in an almost isolated area, with nothing to eat in walking distance.

Wi-FI is good. Close to beach. Free parking are the perks.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AbhinavA212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipa G, Director of Sales at The Fortuna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Being in the heart of the Beach restaurant and bar scene we do not offer breakfast but have several options nearby. We are also in the process of implementing a system that will allow guests to communicate with us via text message or Facebook message so you do not have to leave the comfort of your room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The monkey pillows say it all! Bright pop hues on a fabricated bleached wood floor with a huge closet/bathroom area... and a surprising kitchenette, complete with cabinets, cooktop, stocked with utensils.
Beds comfortable, balconies/walkways overlooking pool are shared so expect people to walk by. (2nd story better)
Parking & wifi are included & the beach is a block away. The enclave next door is more intimate, grassy & has a separate pool; I'd try that or its sister property- The Ikona -next time.
Good value & location!! FYI they will charge your credit card the night before your stay for the first nights rate.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipa G, Director of Sales at The Fortuna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you so much for the review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the renovation which was truly a labor of love! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We traveled 3 hrs to ft lauderdale to have my jeep painted. We were helped by Tony and were able to check in early at 11am instead of 3pm and check out at 1pm next day as we didn't have a vehicle since t was being painted. We ubered everywhere. Clean rooms, not your typical all white hotel room. Teal accent wall. Up to date. Had a personal keurig and fridge. Very close to the beach and all the bars etc.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipa G, Director of Sales at The Fortuna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay...Tony is indeed a superstar! We can't wait to welcome you back to any of our Gzella Collection hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

I thought the room was fine. It was kind of small and the lighting wasn't good but it was clean. Location was great and staff was friendly. They have two pools and that gains them the third star in my book.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JCinFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipa G, Director of Sales at The Fortuna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you so much for your feedback. We do have a variety of guest room configurations and I am sorry you were not satisfied with the size and lighting. We take guest reviews very seriously and will certainly look at how we can better serve you next time you come. We look forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The only good thing is the location, very close to the beach, but you can find many other hotels in a similar location, which I encourage you to do and NOT to use this hotel, honestly.

They are greedy and want to play too "smart":

First of all, we arrived a few hours before check-in time and they told us that we can check-in BUT in that case we should pay $25 as a "early check-in charge" (something that NEVER happened with other hotels, in both FL and Miami, where actually happened a few more times to arrive earlier and the other hotels just said "yeah the room is ready anyway, so you can check-in now if you want"... of course without any additionale charge!).
Also, one of the reasons to book this hotel was the BREAKFAST included in the price... but when we asked breakfast time, the guy (it was always him to give us this "lovely" news with a big smile on his face...) just told us "oh no, breakfast is not included anymore".... what?! They NEVER told us before and when we booked on the website it was still stated "breakfast included". This guy just shrugged his shoulders saying "well, the price of the hotel doesn't change anyway.... if you have a problem contact booking.com".

This is ridiculous... so we contacted booking.com, then the hotel sent a message saying that they will only refund $10 (the equivalent of $5 per person for one day...)

I am absolutely not happy with their behavior and hope all of you will read this before thinking about booking a room there.
Again, you can find many other (and much better) hotels around the same area.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipa G, Director of Sales at The Fortuna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I apologize for any inconvenience as it is our goal to ensure every guest enjoys their stay. We did remove breakfast and sent out notices, i am so sorry if you did not get informed and if the Team Member was not empathetic which is something that is one of our core values. Please contact me directly using the contact info on the website so that I can ensure any outstanding issues are made right. We look forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews