We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent renaissance/hardworking staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

Arrived mid-afternoon to find Alexandro as only Bellman and excellent Debra as only desk agent/switchboard operator/room service order taker. Alexandro had our bags to the room before we got there and Debra clued us in to bargain cruise ship parking and very convenient shuttle bus service which worked flawlessly in both directions. They both could use extra help at front desk and front door. Folks complain about overnight parking but in my experience most marriotts and renaissance hotels do charge (not that its not obnoxious you understand.)

Good reliable premium hotel . Biggest complaint is lousy tv reception with lots of digital static but this evening we're at the Marriott south beach stanton which has exactly the same tv issues. What's up with that?

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank DC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 442 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2015

I have stayed at this Renaissance three or four times. The service is always top notch. The rooms have been updated recently and they have a nice on-site restaurant, fitness center and breakfast lounge. Close to the Bimini Boatyard and several other great restaurants. Nice views of the water too. Look for great prices in the off season.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ErinK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

First, the positives. This hotel is very, very convenient to FLL, the cruise ship terminals, and there is a large choice of restaurants within walking distance. A Walgreens is directly across the street, that was most convenient for myself, as I had forgotten a medication, and my Doctor phoned it in there, and it was quickly filled. It also has a limited selection of wines, if they are allowed on the ship. Publix (where I purchased our wine) and Total Wine 1/4 mile away. Decent pool and fitness area.
Now, the less desirable. I would guess that 75% of the rooms turn over on Saturday/Sunday, as there are people, such as us, who come here for one night prior/after a cruise. Busy, busy, busy, and the rooms tend to show that. The rooms are small, and not as upscale as I was expecting at a Renaissance. We've stayed at the Courtyard in Dania Beach, and the rooms are much nicer, for instance.
I suppose the fact that this is a hotel primarily for those going to/from a cruise, especially on weekends, I shouldn't have expected much more. I wouldn't use it for more than a quick one night stay in Fort Lauderdale, not as a destination resort.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BernieMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback regarding your experience. Our guestroom renovation project was completed in October of 2014 with a brand new look. We also renovated our pool, fitness center and several other areas of our hotel.

I am glad you were able to join us prior to your cruise – we do have many guests who enjoy our hotel prior to or after their cruising and find the location of our hotel perfect!

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Fort Lauderdale.

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

This is a beautiful hotel that is conveniently located to several restaurants and not too far from the beach. The front desk staff was friendly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our only complaint was that there wasn't any complimentary coffee or cups. The bathroom extras were also forgotten. Attention to details needed by the head of housekeeping.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1babyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I spent the week here for work and when the lock on my door malfunctioned, the front desk and engineering staff worked together seamlessly to get it fixed and minimize the disruption to me and my schedule. I'll be staying here on my return visits as well. Great location.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with two windows which let in a lot of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Grrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,408 reviews
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,326 reviews
1.1 km away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,186 reviews
12 km away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,489 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: €156 - €358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port hotel near Port Everglades is perfectly situated in the heart of Fort Lauderdale’s vibrant 17th Street cruise district. We are located at the entrance to Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center, 5 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Beach, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd. Hop on the Water Taxi, we’re steps from the stop. If arriving by plane, we’re only 10 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and while renting a car is easy, the Sun Trolley is a unique way to get around. Our renovated lobby, restaurants, and guest rooms provide a contemporary coastal feel. Relax under swaying palm trees, catch a nap in a pool-side cabana, or sip cocktails under the Fort Lauderdale sun. Whether starting or ending the day, our culinary team will awaken your senses. Sip locally roasted coffee at Calusa Coffee Bar, treat yourself to a locally-inspired meal at Bistro 17, or enjoy craft cocktails and local beers at R Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel Florida
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing