We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old timey goodness”

The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This old house and porch restaurant serves old fashioned goodness with a friendly family flair. You sides come in separate bowls along side your entree. Meatloaf, pot roast, liver and onions, all time favorites.
But the PIES are to die for. The lemon meringue is SOOOO tall, like 8 inches. Other pies without meringue are just as delicious. I buy their pies for family when they visit.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindajamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tastes like good southern home cooking. Great fried chicken. Their Greek salad is huge and delicious. The best pies in the area, especially the peanut butter! Huge meringue pies too! Great breakfast too!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nancyb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Down home (down south) cooking at it's best. There's not many places serving liver and onions. They do and it's tender and tasty. Of course, you have to leave room for desert. There pies are all excellent.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Tropical_Sunrise_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

It was my first time in this quaint little place. The waitresses run themselves crazy making sure you have what you need. The food was surprisingly EXCELLENT. We had the surf and turf and both items were perfectly prepared. I am gluten free and its always a bonus to eat somewhere where 1) the waitresses are familiar with the term "gluten" and 2) there are items on the menu that I can eat (other than salad). The pies are like nothing I've ever seen before. The slices are HUGE and they are 6 inches high. Unfortunately, they had no gf options for pies. I would strongly recommend at least one option made gf if they are looking to expand their customer base....by by the looks of their parking lot, they probably isn't necessary. I would highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bentley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

The Front Porch is one of those places that exudes charm. It gets quite busy, so prepare to wait a few minutes. I went with my wife on a Sunday night. It was busy but we were quickly seated. I'm told that the busy season is just beginning. The hostess and the waitress were very friendly and professional. I ordered the fried chicken, corn casserole, sweet potato, mashed potatoes with gravy. The fried chicken was excellent. The corn casserole was okay at best, the rest of the veggies were good. My wife had fried shrimp with baked potato, hush-puppies, coleslaw, and green beans. The fried shrimp were oily, but well cooked. The baked potato had not been sliced, so it wasn't fluffy but instead rather dense. The green beans were horribly overcooked, to the point where they dissolved in your mouth. One hush puppy was perfectly cooked but oily, the other was under cooked and oily. The coleslaw was excellent. I'm told the meatloaf is excellent, however they were sold out at 5:30 pm.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop also viewed

 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing