We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner”
Review of Alma at Hawks Cay - CLOSED

Alma at Hawks Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This place is temporarily closed. Culinary Fusion With A Duck Key Flair Just because this is The Keys doesn't mean you can't, on occasion, dress up for a lovely night out. This is why we created Alma, our own fine dining experience at Hawks Cay Resort. We call it elegantly informal. By that, we mean you don't need a tie but you shouldn't walk right off the fishing boat either. Our expert (and rather eclectic) chefs combine the rich heritage of Latin cuisine with the culinary secrets and spices of the islands for an inspired fusion of flavors. Alma is all about having a great night out. That can mean just the two of you. Or it can mean sharing the fun with some close friends. Whether it's a romantic table or chatting it up on our outdoor patio, we'll do our best to make it great. Alma is an escape for those seeking a night of romantic possibilities, slightly decadent fun and, of course, great food. Our genius chefs create bold Latin dishes inspired and infused with the flavors of the Caribbean to bring you a melting pot of deliciousness you won't find anywhere else in the Keys. Sip a selection straight-up from the world's greatest Rum Bar or try one of our Alma specialty drinks while deciding if you want the Seafood Paella, or the Grilled Churrasco, or the Baked Lobster or...wow that's a tough decision. After dinner, sample the international selection of fine rums at our bar, light up a hand-rolled cigar out on the veranda or just kick back by the fire and enjoy an elegant night out Hawks Cay style. Alma is located at Hawks Cay Resort, midway down the Florida Keys on the beautiful island of Duck Key. To get to Alma, take US-1 to mile marker 61 and follow the signs to Hawks Cay's lobby. Our valets will gladly park your vehicle and direct you to the restaurant.
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were invited to my friends lovely birthday party. We had an over the top appetizer round, entree and dessert. The chefs and staff made this evening so special and entertaining for all of us. The outside dining patio seating was perfect for this Keys evening.

Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

Food was well presented and ok, we expected more however. Menu choice was also limited for gluten free options.

Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Alma at Hawks Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for coming to dine with us. Your feedback is appreciated. Next time you visit, please know that we do understand and respect our guests who suffer from food allergies or have adopted a food lifestyle/special diets. Regardless of your dietary needs, we are committed to delivering the same dining experience that every guest has come to expect. Based on advanced requests, our Chefs are equipped to alter menu items to accommodate guest's needs. Prior to your meal, please alert your server of any food allergy you may suffer from including - gluten, nuts, shellfish, etc. We look forward to welcoming you back, so that we can chat about your gluten-free options and give you an even better dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Good food - limited menu
Lovely service
The restaurant is a bit dark - but the food was delicious
Would go again

Thank 154simonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Alma at Hawks Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for taking a moment to give us your feedback. We will be sure to share it with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Alma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Alma is one of my favorite restaurants. Usually I eat at the bar and enjoy the varied Tapas menu. Last night we invited friends and dined in the dining room. Wonderful atmosphere and comfortable seating. It was hard to decide what waiter to request, as this restaurant has so many of my favorite waiters/bartenders. We requested Omar - serene, confident and attentive!

Now for the food. Alma has a really nice variety for those tired of conch fritters and fish dip! Also, you always start with an "amuse bouche" from the chef...a nice touch, mildly spicy pepper stuffed with a blue cheese/cream cheese mixture and prosciutto.
Both us and our friends chose the special surf and turf for two: filet, lobster tail, 2 blackened scallops, mashed potatoes, grilled veggies (purple cauliflower!), 2 petit wedge salads (cilantro vinagrette yum!) and 2 glasses of wine - $85.00. Presentation and taste were excellent. Our guests had never been to Alma and were raving from start to finish. We all shared a dessert I have not had before, the Pudding de Pan:
Caramelized bananas, dulce de leche ice cream, rum sauce?? I would get it again. Not too heavy and good mix of temperature and texture.

Overall, it was such a nice treat to be in the dining room and be pampered by Omar!! The entire Hawk's Cay/Alma atmosphere won over our guests who said they were jealous that they did not have a place on Duck Key and that if they did, they would never leave Hawk's Cay :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DKCharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Alma at Hawks Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. From start to finish, it sounds like a wonderful evening. We are so happy that your experience in the dining room was everything that you had hoped it would be. The Special Surf and Turf is such a delicious meal – definitely a favorite for sharing. We’re happy you had such a great time, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Alma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A lot of items where also on menus at the other restaurants on the resort. Heavy Cuban influence. Too much chorizo and rice and beans

Thank kisstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Alma at Hawks Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We appreciate your feedback. Between all of the dining options in our resort, we do try our very best to offer something for everyone. Please don’t hesitate to ask our team for a suggestion if you are looking for something in particular. Thank you for your comments, and we welcome the opportunity to have you come back and dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alma at Hawks Cay also viewed

Duck Key, Florida Keys
Duck Key, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing