We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
381
64
39
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
381
64
39
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family pool adult pool primrose restaurant self parking sea level bath salts garden view state park short walk beautiful hotel steam room sister property shuttle service paddle boards ice cream shop within miles pool side
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We just returned from a short weekend getaway at The Henderson. I had emailed back and forth with Crista Lee (a member of the concierge team) before our stay and things couldn't have been more perfect when we arrived!
Crista anticipated our every need and we were overwhelmed with attentiveness of the staff of the resort! From arrival to departure, every staff member went out of their way to ensure our stay was the best!
Thank You Henderson (and Crista!)! It was an incredible anniversary weekend!

Room tip: Pool view rooms also offer a view of the gulf
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cupcake1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidM24153, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cupcake 1222,

Thank you for taking a moment to complete a review from your recent visit at The Henderson Beach Resort! Crista Lee, Concierge Services, provides our guests with the personalized experience of attraction and dining recommendations as well as any detail to attend to truly personalize your visit as our guest. Contact our Concierge services at 850.424.4615 for assistance with planning your visit to The Emerald Coast's Henderson Beach Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you for being our guests and again, for sharing this great traveler insight about our property's offerings.

Kind regards,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

The Henderson, Destin FL - My Daughter and I packed up, bought supplies and headed to Destin the week after Hurricane Michael hit the gulf. For the first time we stayed at The Henderson and I must say...it was a special experience for both of us. Not just because of its beauty, level of service, amazing food, fabulous art collect and world class spa...It was much more than that. The family of associates who work at the Henderson are very special people and they care about their community and each other. There were many disaster recovery people staying at The Henderson along with displaced families and pets and they were received with welcoming open arms by those who work at The Henderson. Will we go back with a meeting or Incentive group, most definitely, for two reasons...great offering for a group...But amazing people create amazing experiences and this is what stands out at The Henderson. Thank you Carla Carroll, Staci Stover and Courtney Henderson!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tweede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidM24153, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tweede.

Thank you for your review! What a pleasure to welcome you and your daughter for a special getaway. We wish to provide a personalized and familiar level of service always, and it meant a great deal to us to welcome so many families experiencing the hardships of Hurricane Michael to be our guests in this time of great need. Thank you for the shout-out to our amazing Sales Team Members - Carla, Staci, and Courtney. We look forward to your return as our guest.

Warm regards,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We loved everything about our stay: facilities, friendliness, food, beach access, pool. It was all really lovely and allowed us to really relax. My one complaint is that the poolside food is very overpriced ($10 for a PB&J?!) and their housekeeping staff was very disorganized. We only got turndown service one night while we were there and they did not restock for 4 people. They brought up sheets to make the sofa sleeper up, but didn’t actually come back to make the bed up. I got the sense they were in training or understaffed in that regard. But the room and all the facilities were clean. The resort was well designed with thoughtful touches, like butterfly bushes at the back gate in the way to the beach.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidM24153, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ami S.,

Welcome to The Henderson Beach Resort! Thank you for sharing your excellent review of our property highlighting the amenities.

We appreciate your feedback on our menu pricing, and want to make certain it's all worth the while when you dine as our guest - we will certainly be looking at our PB&J costs for our guest as well as housekeeping service.

Above all, we are pleased you overall enjoyed your visit as our guest and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Very attentive staff! clean and beautiful room with a great view! So pleased with everything! Did not use the spa but would bet it was as nice as everything else. Food was superb! I chose the beach and breakfast package. It was nice to have chairs and umbrella waiting for you no matter what time you made it to the beach!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msfarmer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidM24153, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Msfarmer,

Thank you for your 'Awesome' review shared on our Trip Advisor page for future travelers to Destin! We are so pleased that you enjoyed such a delightful visit and hope you will return to relax with an appointment at The Salamander Spa the next time you are in town.

There is plenty more to come with our dining options and menu refreshments at The Henderson Beach Resort!

With such close proximity to the sugar white beaches of Destin, our recreation team looks forward to welcoming you to relax all day and have some fun-in-the-sun with our beach rentals available.

Thank you for being our guests and taking time to share your review.

Warm regards,
David M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

My son’s fiancé booked a massage with the spa for us. We had such a wonderful day . Staff super friendly and helpful . Facilities top notch . We did the 50 minute deep tissue massage and before, we were served champagne while we enjoyed the lavender steam room . Salt room available , and a jetted jacuzzi /hot tub. Views from all the spa area are breathtaking ! Showers and dressing area super nice . Blow dryers and straighteners , deodorant , toothbrushes all available in dressing area . Lockers to keep valuables in locker room . Cynthia did my massage , and was excellent . We will be back ! Thanks!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gatorsxc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidM24153, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Debbie D.,

Welcome to the Salamander Spa! I am so pleased to read that you experienced the service of this wonderful treat and retreat at our day spa. We are excited to announce, as you may have heard, even more amenity options at The Salamander Spa located at The Henderson Beach Resort including cryotherapy and a sea salt floatation room. We aim to provide all that our guest's desire to ensure a most rejuvenating experience during your visit - a true day at the spa!

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for recognizing our amazing spa service professional, Cynthia, whom devotes her time and energy to ensure our guests are well received too. Our team of professionals are truly at your service.

It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back as our guests to enjoy our new amenities which will be available within the next month!

Sincerely,

David M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews