We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Luxury at the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This is a beautiful new resort that raises the bar in Destin and, indeed, all of northwest Florida. From the classic coastal architecture, to the relaxed yet elegant decor, to the professionalism of the staff, to the wonderful swimming pools, to the superior landscaping...The Henderson represents a major improvement over other resorts in the area. The location next to a state park and away from the many high rise condos was especially appealing. It's a place where you can relax, unwind, and enjoy the beach and pools without huge crowds of people everywhere. It's a true luxury experience. It's also a pet friendly resort, which was great fun for our dog. She made a lot of friends among the staff and other guests while we were there. It would be nice if there was an option to self park, but other than that, this hotel is extremely comfortable, relaxing, and a great place to stay at the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stevenutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Steven,

It is a pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing for future travelers to The Henderson. Indeed, the goal and mission from vision to opening in November 2016 has always been to provide a new, relaxed, luxury destination (no pun intended) along northwest Florida. As a visitor, we invite you to find the elegant decor and coastal, Victorian inspired architecture complementary of the dune ecosystems of various heights and textures in nature found throughout exploration of The Henderson State Park, our neighbor, to the west. The nature paths at The Henderson State Park are pet friendly (although the beach is not) which compliments the dog run at the resort. We invite you to enjoy a nice outing with the whole family with state park access available to all our guests.

We believe that the presence of nature is calming, and your visit will be well inspired through our coastal environment as well as the Henderson way of friendly and attentive service. We look forward to your return.

Please note, we also now have a self parking option for guests in addition to valet! Thank you to all our guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had originally visited this location to come for breakfast at Primrose, but while we were here, we wanted to venture around and see what this resort had to offer. The server that we had was Bethany and she made some wonderful suggestions on what we should enjoy for breakfast. While we were waiting for our breakfast we asked our server if she knew much about the resort and she was very knowledgeable and even went and retrieved us some brochures on the spa and the resort itself as well as letting us know about the upcoming lofts that are being built. She also let us know that someone would be happy to give us a tour of the resort. With the experience that we had today, we will definitely be coming back to visit the spa or spend some vacation time here. Everyone that we passed seemed to be quite friendly and interested that we were there. This resort seems to be quite inviting!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank klong2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Klong, It is with great delight that we read your review as a day patron to the resort and we look forward to welcoming you for a getaway to The Henderson again. Our service professionals are all in attendance to be at your service. We invite you to dine, relax at the spa, or simply lounge in the Living Room with a cocktail and bite to eat. We are at your service to provide a welcome home to the lovely Emerald Coast. See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The Henderson was a beautiful retreat for our family this Easter weekend. Everyone had a ball!! The Easter Bunny was hopping around all weekend, and the Egg Drop from a Helicopter was literally over the top fun!!

All of the furnishings are absolutely beautiful. The hotel is so well built and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. From the lobby to the rooms to other common areas nothing has been overlooked. Sunsets views are not to be missed; nor are family chats around the fire pit!!

We enjoyed, in-room dining, the restaurants, the sushi bar, the spa, the lazy river, the adults only pool (it is huge and beautiful), the beach, walks along the Henderson Park. Everything is so beautiful we didn't want to leave. It was both romantic and child friendly at the same time. While we didn't have our own pets, we did see guests who brought their four legged family members.

What a wonderful place to stay!! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank J6775GEjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear John,

We are delighted to read that the entire family enjoyed a fun holiday weekend with the Easter Bunny and our inaugural Egg Drop onto the grand lawn! It was great fun to watch the excitement of our young guests as they collected their booty and treats for this celebration.

It would be great to welcome the whole family, pet's included, to enjoy our pet friendly rooms overlooking the Piazza entrance with a special welcome bed and treats for their vacation too, next time. Our four legged friends really bring us back to a feeling of home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The whole stay was a very pleasant experience from check-in to check-out.

The building: Very informative staff, quick elevators, 2 dining rooms, 1 bar/dining, 1 outdoor bar/restaurant, an ice cream parlor, an adult only pool and a large area for family. The fitness area is equipped with several spin bikes, treadmills, ellipticals, free weights up to 50lbs, medicine and swiss balls. Classes are offered as well. The Poppy's kids' club looked nice and clean and we could see the staff playing soccer with the kids in the outdoor area outside of the gym. The pool, fitness, spa and lobby areas always had fresh infused water. Easy 5 min walk to the private beach. A small boutique with jewelry, clothing, skincare products, etc is in the lobby.
Theres a full service spa with a relaxation room, hot tub, steam room, & hot/cold therapy shower.

The room: The room is spacious with everything from a walk in shower, separate toilet room, large soaking tub complete with bath salts, a digital scale, hair dryer, in room safe, small fridge filled with mini-bar items & shelves stocked with snacks and wine. 2 bottles of water are complementary as well as 2 more bottles at turndown service. There's a Nespresso machine & coffee served in the lobby. Bed is very comfortable & the black out shades made the room very cozy.

Notable, but listed in the small print: There's an additional $29/day resort fee as well as $25/day valet fee if you're bringing a vehicle that's not included in the booking rate.

Overall great trip & hope to be back!

Room Tip: Garden View room overlooked a parking lot - but that's negligible since the pool and beach views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UptownNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Uptown NOLA,

Thank you for your review from your visit to The Henderson. For families vacationing, you may join us at Poppy's kids club by appointment to enjoy art projects, learning opportunities, nature walks, and we have games for the family to check out to enjoy on those days that sunny Florida needs a rain refresh. Come enjoy an ice cream at Sprinkles with some good time oldies on the jukebox following a family day of fun.

Both valet parking for $25 per day with full service, and a limited self parking option are now, both, available to our overnight guests! The Henderson way of service is to serve you.

Guests often comment on how they enjoy the spacious bath spaces in our guest rooms with the shuttered window opening to the guest room where you may let in the breeze from your balcony as you enjoy a soak with our custom bath salts. We invite you to savor the treats, the sun, relax, and feel at home at The Henderson. I look forward to welcoming you back for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Friendly, thoughtful and accommodating staff ! Best resort with exceptional spa service in Florida. Great dining experience and make sure you stay for brunch! Every corner of the place will make you feel grateful that you have finally found one true magical place that you can come back year after year!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T8080LCjeffreyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

We often hear from our guests that they are not only visiting one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, but the serenity of the location of the resort is like no other in Destin.
It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your visit, and we look to welcoming you back time and again as a home away from home destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
7.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
10.9 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
10.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.2 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 200 Henderson Resort Way, Destin, FL 32541-3471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Price Range: €236 - €462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Gulf of Mexico and 200 acres of pristine nature preserve and a coastal neighborhood, this gracious, four-story 170-room resort hotel is the ultimate beach retreat. The Henderson features beautifully-appointed guest rooms, spa rooms and suites; two refreshing pools, gracious landscaped garden views, a relaxing day spa, casually elegant coastal dining at our signature restaurant, Primrose, and eateries that are poolside and beachside (seasonal), two bars and terraces with Living Room space to stretch out and relax, a fitness center, children's activity zone, and, of course, private access to sparkling emerald green Gulf waters and miles of unspoiled sugar-sand beach. Come join us at The Henderson, where the essence of fine coastal living is at its best. At The Henderson, it is our mission to ensure our guests experience a rich and carefree stay. We offer services that are truly unique to The Henderson. These offerings are included in our daily resort fee of $29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing