We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
375
64
38
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
64
38
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family pool adult pool primrose restaurant self park sea level garden view horizons bar bath salts nespresso machine state park in room dining valet staff steam room sister property pool bar turn down service beautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had originally visited this location to come for breakfast at Primrose, but while we were here, we wanted to venture around and see what this resort had to offer. The server that we had was Bethany and she made some wonderful suggestions on what we should enjoy for breakfast. While we were waiting for our breakfast we asked our server if she knew much about the resort and she was very knowledgeable and even went and retrieved us some brochures on the spa and the resort itself as well as letting us know about the upcoming lofts that are being built. She also let us know that someone would be happy to give us a tour of the resort. With the experience that we had today, we will definitely be coming back to visit the spa or spend some vacation time here. Everyone that we passed seemed to be quite friendly and interested that we were there. This resort seems to be quite inviting!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank klong2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Klong, It is with great delight that we read your review as a day patron to the resort and we look forward to welcoming you for a getaway to The Henderson again. Our service professionals are all in attendance to be at your service. We invite you to dine, relax at the spa, or simply lounge in the Living Room with a cocktail and bite to eat. We are at your service to provide a welcome home to the lovely Emerald Coast. See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The Henderson was a beautiful retreat for our family this Easter weekend. Everyone had a ball!! The Easter Bunny was hopping around all weekend, and the Egg Drop from a Helicopter was literally over the top fun!!

All of the furnishings are absolutely beautiful. The hotel is so well built and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. From the lobby to the rooms to other common areas nothing has been overlooked. Sunsets views are not to be missed; nor are family chats around the fire pit!!

We enjoyed, in-room dining, the restaurants, the sushi bar, the spa, the lazy river, the adults only pool (it is huge and beautiful), the beach, walks along the Henderson Park. Everything is so beautiful we didn't want to leave. It was both romantic and child friendly at the same time. While we didn't have our own pets, we did see guests who brought their four legged family members.

What a wonderful place to stay!! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank J6775GEjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear John,

We are delighted to read that the entire family enjoyed a fun holiday weekend with the Easter Bunny and our inaugural Egg Drop onto the grand lawn! It was great fun to watch the excitement of our young guests as they collected their booty and treats for this celebration.

It would be great to welcome the whole family, pet's included, to enjoy our pet friendly rooms overlooking the Piazza entrance with a special welcome bed and treats for their vacation too, next time. Our four legged friends really bring us back to a feeling of home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The whole stay was a very pleasant experience from check-in to check-out.

The building: Very informative staff, quick elevators, 2 dining rooms, 1 bar/dining, 1 outdoor bar/restaurant, an ice cream parlor, an adult only pool and a large area for family. The fitness area is equipped with several spin bikes, treadmills, ellipticals, free weights up to 50lbs, medicine and swiss balls. Classes are offered as well. The Poppy's kids' club looked nice and clean and we could see the staff playing soccer with the kids in the outdoor area outside of the gym. The pool, fitness, spa and lobby areas always had fresh infused water. Easy 5 min walk to the private beach. A small boutique with jewelry, clothing, skincare products, etc is in the lobby.
Theres a full service spa with a relaxation room, hot tub, steam room, & hot/cold therapy shower.

The room: The room is spacious with everything from a walk in shower, separate toilet room, large soaking tub complete with bath salts, a digital scale, hair dryer, in room safe, small fridge filled with mini-bar items & shelves stocked with snacks and wine. 2 bottles of water are complementary as well as 2 more bottles at turndown service. There's a Nespresso machine & coffee served in the lobby. Bed is very comfortable & the black out shades made the room very cozy.

Notable, but listed in the small print: There's an additional $29/day resort fee as well as $25/day valet fee if you're bringing a vehicle that's not included in the booking rate.

Overall great trip & hope to be back!

Room Tip: Garden View room overlooked a parking lot - but that's negligible since the pool and beach views were where we spent our time.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UptownNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Uptown NOLA,

Thank you for your review from your visit to The Henderson. For families vacationing, you may join us at Poppy's kids club by appointment to enjoy art projects, learning opportunities, nature walks, and we have games for the family to check out to enjoy on those days that sunny Florida needs a rain refresh. Come enjoy an ice cream at Sprinkles with some good time oldies on the jukebox following a family day of fun.

Both valet parking for $25 per day with full service, and a limited self parking option are now, both, available to our overnight guests! The Henderson way of service is to serve you.

Guests often comment on how they enjoy the spacious bath spaces in our guest rooms with the shuttered window opening to the guest room where you may let in the breeze from your balcony as you enjoy a soak with our custom bath salts. We invite you to savor the treats, the sun, relax, and feel at home at The Henderson. I look forward to welcoming you back for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Friendly, thoughtful and accommodating staff ! Best resort with exceptional spa service in Florida. Great dining experience and make sure you stay for brunch! Every corner of the place will make you feel grateful that you have finally found one true magical place that you can come back year after year!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T8080LCjeffreyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

We often hear from our guests that they are not only visiting one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, but the serenity of the location of the resort is like no other in Destin.
It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your visit, and we look to welcoming you back time and again as a home away from home destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Now that we’ve found this Five Star resort we have a new beach destination!!! We used to stay further East of Destin, but this resort which is right at the Mid Bay Bridge cuts over 40 minutes off our drive!! My husband and I visited earlier this year for a romantic vacation; we were so impressed with the resort we brought our children back for Easter. They didn’t want to leave!!! We met a family from Australia who had planned on staying for one night and decided to stay another…. and then another.

It has all the amenities you would expect in a five-star resort. The rooms are spacious and luxuriously appointed, the beds and linens divine! The grounds and hotel are immaculate (the hotel is so well built). The architecture and décor are so beautiful. The view of the hotel from in front of the Henderson State park will make you think you are in Cape Cod, but turn around and you have the pristine Gulf Coast beach. We have now stayed in the Gulf View rooms facing the Park and the Pool View Rooms. While the view of the State Park with Beach beyond is spectacular, the pool side also gives you a beach view! Don’t forget to watch the sunsets over the Henderson State Park with Gulf beyond, simply stunning.

The children loved the Lazy River and the GIANT noodles, I thought the food at the Beach Bar was very reasonably priced. They also hit Sprinkles for treats and glass bottled cokes ;) The exercise facilities had everything you need. While my husband road one of the Hotels bikes every day; I treated myself to more than a few spa visits!! I didn’t have time to get the Caviar Facial this trip, but a friend told me it was the best facial she has ever had. The Sushi at Primrose was so fresh and delicious, and I think the grits at Primrose were my favorite (my daughter disagrees – she loved her mashed potatoes).

We were lucky enough to be there for Easter, we had no idea they were having anything special but when we got there the Easter Bunny was “bouncing” around the whole weekend. The entire family loved the “Helicopter Easter Egg Drop”, a helicopter flew in and literally dropped thousands of Easter Eggs!! To say it was a hit would be an understatement!! My mother called guest services to send Easter Baskets to the children. They were spectacular, they went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect!!

We will be back!! I may try and sneak in a lady’s spa and beach trip next!! Love the Henderson!!

Room Tip: Try and get a Gulf or Pool View Room (you can see the beach from both)!!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V8CationsRG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas H, General Manager at The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

V8Cations, Thank you for sharing your rave review of your visit. We like to surprise our guests with all sorts of fun and exciting happenings around the resort, and invite everyone to come and see to enjoy. As you mentioned, the Easter weekend was full of festivities for everyone, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your Lady's Spa Trip, Men's Golf Outing, an anniversary celebration or anything and everything in between.

The Sushi is the freshest with Chef Hieu at the helm. The enhancement treatment options at The Salamander Spa will have you returning time and again to try something new for beauty, wellness, and relaxation.

We are at your service to provide a positively memorable experience. We look forward to your requests to make your stay truly one for the albums. I look forward to your return as our guest to be welcomed back home to The Henderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews