We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“SOO wonderful!”
Review of The Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Islander
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SOO wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our family just returned from Destin. We stayed 4 wonderful nights (not long enough) at The Islander, Unit 318. Everything about the resort, their pool, their property, and our condo was awesome. Our unit had granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, a fully stocked kitchen, beachy decor, tile floor...everything was beautiful! Our children (ages 6 & 9) absolutely loved it. There were lots of families there, but no loud kids running around. It was less than a minute walk to the beach and they provided complimentary beach umbrella and 2 chairs. The staff was awesome and friendly. We loved it so much that we've already booked the same unit for next summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    41
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
97
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband, two teenage sons & I stayed in Unit 609 on the East side at The Islander and loved it! This was our first time to Destin in over 20 years. Where do I begin? The Islander staff was extremely helpful over the telephone when booking even though they were very busy because of an upcoming holiday weekend. They were very efficient & informative at time of check-in. The unit was nice & clean & equipped with everything promised on their website. The A/C worked great, which was so nice after a hot day in the sun. It was wonderful having two full bathrooms and having separate bedrooms so that our sons didn't have to share a sofa bed (they're 19 & 16). Their room had two twin beds. Loved having the wi-fi in our unit since we took our laptops & my son had a college paper to work on. Even the "little things" like the icemaker in our freezer was not taken for granted because I turned it on when we arrived and it made ice constantly & was more than plenty for our beach cooler every day.
The grounds, pools, & jacuzzi's were beautifully kept. From my balcony, I could see the grounds/pool guy cleaning the pool & grills every single morning. From the pictures on their website it looks as though it could be a good ways to the beach from the main condo building, but it's not at all. You literally walk out the lobby, around the pool, & down a short paved path to the beach. Having a huge beach umbrella & two chairs everyday was so nice. It helped cut back on the stuff I had to carry to the beach.
I think the only negative thing I can think of was the lobby & appearance of the desk staff. When I first walked in, I wasn't sure it was the official front desk because it's very understated for such a nice resort. Don't misunderstand, it was clean & tidy but just not fancy in any sort of way. The front desk staff dressed as if they too were on vacation...capris etc. Not that there's anything wrong with that at all, but again, just a little less "dressy" than I would've thought. Something like khaki shorts/pants & maybe matching Hawaiian shirts would've been cool. So the lobby & front desk staff sorta give the impression that it's not as nice a "hotel" as it really is. If I had to choose between matching "uniforms" over good service, I'd choose the service anyday!
Overall, we had a great stay at The Islander and would highly recommend this to our friends & family and will definitely return....but it won't be 20 years!

Room Tip: Request the east side for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithfultwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The Islander offered us an incredible rate($129/nt) for a large 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo.The location was superb, the kitchen was totally equipped, we had more than enough towels (which we were easily able to exchange for fresh ones), and plenty of parking. The balcony was large and great for sunset viewing. The only negative comment I have is that that decor is outdated. I would definitely stay there again for that price!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asbannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

we have stayed at the islander every year for our summer beach trip for close to 25 years straight! awesome location, clean rooms, great atmosphere! home away from home...on the beach!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2009

These condos are older, but very comfortable and reasonable. We had a nice 2 bedroom/bath with full kitchen, living, and dining (#509). The balcony overlooked a nicely landscaped area and some parking but the beach was within a few yards, and you could listen and see the waves lapping. It was a great stay with friendly staff, clean rooms, clean pool, within steps of the beach. We could see pelicans and gulls flying by. Herons landed on the beach fence at night. We also saw FROM THE BALCONY dolphins swimming and pelicans diving into the Gulf. I recommend not going lower than the 5th floor. #509 was right at the elevator, and the view was wonderful off the very private balcony. You could leave door and windows open and listen to the waves all night if you wanted.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSTravelPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
2.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
13.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
1.0 km away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
438 reviews
6.7 km away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander

Property: The Islander
Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing