We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food! ”

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #16 of 410 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Description: We feature fresh fish and seafood specialties. Original recipes from teh Gulf South. We also have a wide variety of other options including steaks, chicken, pastas, poboys and more. Of course our specialty is Oysters which we cook 6 different ways.
Restaurant details
Description: We feature fresh fish and seafood specialties. Original recipes from teh Gulf South. We also have a wide variety of other options including steaks, chicken, pastas, poboys and more. Of course our specialty is Oysters which we cook 6 different ways.
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Omg don’t miss this place! Husband had oyster Orleans and Bienville...he said they were awesome! I had the half shell salad and crab bisque. So yummy! Kids meals were eaten up quickly! Our server Ben made our special noodle request happen for our autistic daughter. Loved this place

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ILimplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018

I tried Half Shell for the first time last weekend and I was really impressed with the Bienville oysters. They were phenomenal!! I also tried the stuffed mushrooms which were just okay for me. The asparagus was also good. The children's portion are large. My waitress, Bryanna, had great customer service and so did Alicia, the bartender. I will definitely be returning

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dionne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

First of all the service was fantastic. Bri was our waitress. She was Very helpful in her referals of dishes. She recommended the surf n turf. It was an amazing dish. It was a filet topped with a crab cake. Im old fashion so it is hard for me to explain. However im an expert on taste and i must say this is a must in destin. I would place this restaurant in the same category with Marina cafe and the ocean club but a bit less pricey. We have been coming to destin for 30 years and have eaten all the GOOD restaurants. My father ate the oysters bienville and he said it was the best he has ever have. So to wrap it up.
Service Aplus
Taste. Aplus
Size of plates B
Atmosphere. Aplus

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank TimAlison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

You must indulge yourself and try the seafood at Half Shells Oyster House in Destin FL. The Royal Red shrimp is the freshest and tastiest you will ever have.

The service is great as well. Ask for Heather. She is friendly and take excellent care of you.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank allenegnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

After all the favorable reviews I read about this place I was looking forward to a really good meal. Boy was I disappointed! My wife and I split an appetizer, the fried crab claws, which were okay, but not as good as many I've had. We shared the fried sampler platter; the shrimp and oysters were mediocre, while the crab cake and fish was lousy. The best part of the meal was the side dish our server recommended - sweet potato creme brulee. She and it are the reason I am giving an average rating instead of a poor one. If you want good seafood, do yourself a favor and find one of the many places in the area that are better

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank artorgeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 
Miramar Beach, Destin
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing