We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our second home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our second home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have been coming here since before our 3 kids were born. Its always been such a warm and relaxing vacation. Clean and fresh rooms are always the norm here. Friendly staff as well. Someone mentioned about the towels on the lounge chairs. All I can say is thats how it is there. You have to fend for yourself. The place is so popular that the chairs get filled fast. And for those guests to assume the staff should take the towels off if not being used, well what would they do with the towels, put them all in a stack? I dont think so. So the way its handled is fine with me. I do have to say, they shoud monitor the parking situation. They give you a tag to put in your car front window, showing the room your in, but not everyone uses it. So actually some of the locals have friends come over and they share the rooms. So there are times there are 2, 3 or even 4 cars for one room. I understand there are 129 rooms and 129 parking spots. So on the one weekend we were there, I had nowhere to park at all. They dont monitor the quest parking at all. And they should. Another negative we found is that they are downsizing on employees to a degree. By this I mean, there is no pool guard there all week during slow times. People come on off the beach and use the slide and chairs, kids going down the slide 2 and 3 at a time, running around, and no one there to monitor them. At least not during the week. The one pool guard, Lavonne is there usually but this year I understand she was laid off til july. They have games for the kids and some for adults as well. They used to have a coffee clutch and ice cream socials but those are gone as well. Also with the games, they have bingo at least 5 times a week, but by the time everyone gets started, the games are over in 35 minutes. All in all as I said, we love this place and been there many times in the past. We will continue to come.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
I would like to thank this returning guest for such kind comments regarding our staff, the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and for the loyalty of vacationing with us for so many years. I sincerely apologize to this guest for not being able to find a parking space and I agree with the comments that during busy times, parking sometimes is an issue. The property physically has one parking space per room but many times, guests bring more than one car, making it a problem during busy times. We are exploring different solutions to this problem and hopefully will resolve this issue. This guest is right when saying some of our previous events have been temporarily suspended such as our ice cream social and pool monitors during some of our slower times. These changes were made due to the current economic conditions forcing us to cut corners where there would be the least impact. We have continued our free activity program and will look into extending the time of the bingo games. I am happy to hear, that even with our shortcomings, this loyal repeat guest will continue to return. We certainly appreciate this review and the concern this guest took to send in these comments. We look forward in welcoming them back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    164
    48
    29
    16
See reviews for
475
93
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We had our vacation for the second time in Daytona Beach at Sun Viking Lodge. Since we are Canadians from Québec, we stay for quite a long period of time (at least 15 nights). So we look for great places to stay. Actually, we only have good words for Sun Viking Lodge and the staff. It's a great place to stay.

It's a nice family place with many convenient features (pools, free internet, animation, etc). The place is also ideal for a couple like my wife and I, so its obvious that we'll return in the future.

The administration staff are nice people and they were very accomodating in our special situation on our last trip.

Vacationers from Québec

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cholu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to extend a great big thank you to our friends from Canada. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your return to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Sun Viking is the best value on the beach. Clean rooms, nice pools, friendly staff, great ocean front location. This is the place for family fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
We want to express our thanks for the compliments made in this review. We sincerely appreciate the time this guest took to give us such a nice review - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Its HORRIBLE that no other hotel comes close to the FUN we have at Sun viking (sorry for scaring you Mrs Brown) see we know exactly what to expect every time we come to Sun viking that our visit isn't until June 19th to....err whenever we wanna leave! probably a week so this has been a GENERATION of coming to the Viking, we absolutely love our visit each and every time we come here from the adults to the kiddies..all the pool's are great, the activities are great and oh wait I forgot about the water slide! how cool is that!! so this is to all the negative comments that you see..not sure what these people are talking about! if you want chocolates on your pillow with down comforters and pillows go pay 190+ a night at some boring hotel, if you want a kick butt time with you're friends, kiddies and family come to the Viking! the ONLY downfall I have is no responses for positive comments..course the Browns will be on here all day if they did that.

Thanks guys for MANY of years of great family fun....see y'all in a few weeks!
Love ya the Richter/Sadler families!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgjon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
As I started to read this review, my heart sank, until I read on. As owners of the Sun Viking Lodge, our goal is to keep our guests happy. Having them return is a compliment; having them return for so many years, is the highest compliment. We appreciate all the kind words, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

I arrived at 9:00 4/4/10 everything went fine checking in. We actually got in our room earlier than 11. The chairs around the pool were taken. What I mean by taken is there were people but alot of the lounges had towels on them. That was fine. I just told myself "we'll get one tomorrow." Our room was overlooking the pool with the slide. Paid almost 200 dollars. I woke up at 7am to look down at the pool to see nothing but towels on EVERY chair arond the pool. I went to the office to see what could be done. All I wanted to do was read a book in peace before everyone came down. The office said I had to wait for the pool attendant to get there at 9 am and he would remove the towels.He did not arrive til 9:45 and did NOT remove any towels.I got to sit on the balcony and watch a bunch of towels sunbathe for 2 hrs and 15 minutes. I then called BOB the so called manager and was told 'PEOPLE ARE PEOPLE' and we don't know why they do that and I'll have to bring it up again at our meeting. The owners have been told about this before and do nothing!!!!!!!!! I basicly had to stay on the balcony to watch our kids have fun on the slide. I watched for two days for a seat around the pool and they let PEOPLE save there seats for hours!!! This was my second time visiting and my last. They need to find a new manager, He was no help and not very professional. I don't understand why the people in the office did not move the towels. They said it is first come first served. The towels were there ALL night. Then one of the guests called me a B____ when I left to go to the office. My two neices 7&8 were standing there with my bro when she said it!!!! All i got from the manager 'PEOPLE ARE PEOPLE!!!!" NO sorry of any kind of apology for this terrible experience. If it weren' t for the kids I would have left then.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nofuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
First, we certainly appreciate the high ratings this guest gave us on our “Rooms, Location, Cleanliness and Sleep Quality” and we are glad we meet those expectations. However, as owner of the Sun Viking Lodge, I want to apologize to this guest and express how sorry we are for her recent experience on our pool decks. We are very concerned that every one of our customers enjoys their entire stay. We do offer several sundecks, even a rooftop sundeck; however, during extremely busy times, such as the Easter holiday, finding seating right next to the pool can be a challenge. I agree with this guest, it should be easier to select a lounge on our pool deck. Since this guest was a repeat customer, it is apparent that this did not occur during her previous visit with us. We will definitely address this issue with management and will try to come up with a better solution. Once again, I sincerely regret that the issue of poolside seating happened to this very valued guest and I appreciate the time she took to write this review. I understand her decision not to return, however, she is always welcome at the Sun Viking Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#12 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
9.1 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#17 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Property: Sun Viking Lodge
Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing