We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with pleasant staff on a beautiful beach”
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2017

After reading some of these reviews, I wonder if we stayed in the same place. I found the staff to be more than accommodating. Our room was clean and updated. When we asked for an ocean front room, we were told if we were willing to sit for the 90 minute sales pitch, they could give us one. My husband was adament about not wanting to do it, so they gave us an ocean view (our balcony faced a building, but if you looked to the left, the ocean was there). The Daytona Beach area is a bit run down and has some noticeable poverty and homelessness. Talking to the locals, they said it used to be much worse but it is starting to get cleaned up. The beach was beautiful. Many reasonably priced restaurants in walking distance. The pool was clean and refreshing. All in all, we enjoyed our week.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front or ocean view. You may have to sit for the 90 minute sales pitch to get eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We booked this property through Extra Holidays.

Before traveling here on our family vacation we read lots of reviews. For the most part, all the reviews we read were pretty good.

When we were about four hours from our destination, my wife decided to read more reviews. She read a bunch of bad reviews regarding horrible check ins, run down rooms and overall poor customer service.

I am very happy to say that we did not experience anything like this! Our check-in was quick and seamless. The staff was amazingly friendly. That includes all of the staff members that were just walking around and greeting you as you passed them.

My only issue with check in was being requested to sign up for a timeshare presentation. I didn’t want to at first but there was slight pressure to do so. We decided to entertain it and, in turn, got 30,000 points which could be used for stays at future Wyndham properties. And there are many around the world!

For starters, I would say that Daytona is not the best place in the world to vacation with a family. However, this property was the absolute best choice we could have made for our time spent there. It had everything you could want to entertain the whole family. Indoor pools, outdoor pools, lazy river, slide, kiddie splash park, beach access, boardwalk, many restaurants and shops, etc.

The only problem with our room was that there were two double beds as opposed to the king bed that I requested in the bedroom. We rented a one bedroom, privately owned. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean. It was absolutely beautiful. The sun rises in the morning or gorgeous!

We attended the two hour seminar for timeshare purchases. We really knew that we could not afford a timeshare. We basically did it because they promised us the 30,000 points. We did receive our 30,000 points without any problem. They did not pressure us to purchase anything. Unfortunately, we are just unable to purchase something at this time. I must admit, if I had the money I probably would have caved it is an amazing company. We later found out that we actually have friends that own and they love it.

If I returned to Daytona I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

The resort itself was nice, with a stunning view, but like many, we ended up in a privately owned room that was a bit run down in places. For starters, my husband and I were unimpressed with the room they gave us with 2 double beds (we have a California king at home). When I asked the front desk, I was told that because we used a 3rd party site (booking. com), room type can’t be guaranteed, and that I should’ve contacted the hotel directly for the request. Well, it wasn’t a request! The photos of the room type I booked showed a King bed- it didn’t even have pics of 2 doubles in that room type. It pretty much ruined our romantic weekend away. The bed was so hard and we were so crowded, I slept on the couch for 2 nights. Then the timeshare pitch, ugh, we are RCI owners so didn’t want to sit through it. I had to be pretty forceful about it for them to back down. I know they have a job to do but after driving in a car for hours, no one could be in the mood for that. The pool bar had one older female bartender who was on the ball and another younger man who was totally spaced out, made me stand there for ages and then made me a $10 milkshake. I watched him put 3 shots of vodka into a HUGE blender, then pour out about 1/3rd of the drink into my cup. I took one sip and asked for it to be remade. He made a hodge-podge with the already existing blended drink and it was still gross but a bit stronger. We also would’ve liked maybe some coffee samples in the room. A pile of filters were left on the counter, but nothing else. The room reeked of bacon & sausage upon arrival and hot water didn’t get hot. When I asked at reception, she told me to let the water run for 15 minutes, that the south tower was under construction. It was sporadic all weekend. Positives are the location, the pools, activities and most of the staff seemed really friendly. Giving people who booked on a 3rd party site the crap rooms will not entice people to return or to sign up.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank icechik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I booked a ocean front room with a balcony and it was great. Sitting out side in morning sun having a cup of coffee watching and hearing the ocean to me nothing beats it. Rooms were very nice had everything we could ask for. And as far as location it too was great. Furthest we had to drive to do something I wanted to was 12 miles. As far as dining never drove once to eat walked everywhere we ate. Only issue is this is a time share building and at check in they started in about a 90 minute meeting to hear there time shard pitch and when I said no they brought over another person to convince me. Now my trip started at 11am and we checked in at 7:30 pm really just wanted to get to room and not listen to a sales pitch. And we were on vacation and sitting in a 90 minute sales pitch don't sound like a vacation. Other than that loved it and would stay again if the occasion arose.

Room Tip: get a room with ocean front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank victorvL6867WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we went to one desk they said go to a podium to Check in. Then we went to a third location. The kid had no idea what he was doing. Then we requested a Ocean view room. He then left for 10 mins. When returned he said the 3 people on duty did not know how to perform a room upgrade. And the manager was off site. By this time I was on the phone with expedia. Meanwhile he said I can figure it out for you. Finally affter 45 mins we were checked in.
Then he tried to get us to go to a meeting for a timeshare. All we wanted was to get to our room and we said we weren't interested. He called me rude and closeminded in one sentence. We weren't rude. We just said we weren't interested. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW UNPROFRSSIONAL HE WAS THE ENTIRE TIME. He alone gave me the worst first impression of this hotel. From then on I tried to get past it.
The pool and lazy river was closed. The one 2nd floor hot tub jets did not work and the lower level hot tub only 2 jets worked.
I will never go back to this hotel!
I should have read the reviews but I didn't.
Please do yourself a favor and read reviews.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach...
#38 of 74 in Daytona Beach
4 reviews
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
4 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#22 of 74 in Daytona Beach
465 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
0.8 km away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: €128 - €417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing