We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service but food good”
Review of Garden Cafe

Garden Cafe
Ranked #9 of 63 Restaurants in Dade City
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We apparently picked a day with glitches - computer down and mechanical problems in kitchen - whatever that means. Took 20 minutes to be acknowledged as being there to eat. Then blame was passed to others. Took over an hour to finally get food and eat, but food was very good and fresh. Hubby had club sandwich. I had Asian chicken salad - great sauce - and 1/2 of turkey sandwich - loved with chunky cranberry relish. We would try it again, but a bit disappointed.

Thank AnnTRockHill_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardenCafeDC, Owner at Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

I appreciate your honest review. Our computer did go down during the rush while you were here. The kitchen problems came from the computer being down (our internet as well). Our system is connected via our wireless network so when the internet goes down the tickets are not sent to the printer that is in the kitchen. We also had to manually process all credit card transactions. Needless to say it caused quite a mess. We weren't trying to pass the blame this is really just what happened. During the confusion there was some miscommunication over your table and you got overlooked. As I was on the phone with tech support and helping to process the credit card transactions I was not able to assist the servers or tend to any problems. I apologize for that. I'm glad you enjoyed your food and I really do hope you will try us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch while antiquing in Dade City. Great choices on the menu. We tried a Cuban sandwich and a Club sandwich and both were delicious. Fresh fruit was a great side. Really liked this little place. Service also very good.

Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Good salads & nice 1/2 salad and 1/2 sandwiches choices on the menu. Meals were large and tasty. There was an outdoor area to sit at (but not for us in the Florida summer heat) so we chose the air conditioned inside. Food was a little slow is arriving; but overall we enjoyed our meal, the staff and the whole experience. Would definitely eat there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Ok for quick sandwiches not anything out of the ordinary. Nice outdoor area to sit at and a couple tables inside with a room next to it with additional tables.

Thank Winendinetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

It started 6 years ago, my wife and I rented a motorcycle (Harley Davidson) and headed north from Saint Petersburg up along the coast past Dunedin to route 52 , we then cut across to Dade City. First impression , "What a lovely friendly city". Well the road took us to this Garden cafe. We decided to stop and enjoy lunch outside in the cafe. We enjoyed the food, the staff and whole experience. What a lovely little cafe, with great food and friendly staff and small unspoiled city. We loved it so much, every year during our spring vacation in Treasure island Florida , we rent a Harley Davidson and chart our journey , which always includes our first stop for lunch at the Garden cafe in Dade city. So if your in Dade City stop in and enjoy. We do , year after year 6 years running now.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing