We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite Keys Restaurants. 😋”
Review of Square Grouper

Square Grouper
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi. We are open on Mondays from the last week in December thru April! We close every September from the Sunday AFTER Labor Day and reopen on the Thursday BEFORE Columbus Day Weekend. We will be Reopening on Thursday, October 4th! See you then!
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Everything is good! The burger is excellent for my poor fish allergy suffering husband, but the rest of us all love everything fish and seafood.

The bowls are super tasty.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank BethPw958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018

Had a great dinner here. Excellent food and good service. The restaurant is clean with a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We had our nicest meal at Square Grouper on Cudjoe Key while on the Keys. We didn’t have a reservation and after a short wait got a table for five easily at 6:30 pm. We tried the insalata caprese and each tried various seafood and fish entrees. I tried the scallops with polenta, which was great. There was too much polenta, but the scallops were done just right. The menu said they had chili powder on them, but they were not hot. We shared a few desserts. The key lime pie was good and I enjoyed a flourless chocolate tart with ice cream. There is plenty of parking next to the restaurant. Since it is a nicer place and popular, I would recommend reservations to be sure you have a spot. It was our favorite meal on the Keys.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IowaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Wow From the moment you walk in everyone welcomes you making you feel very comfortable. The Food is absolutely amazing best in the Keys period !! Must try the baked goat cheese !

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank PalmTreeFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I appreciate the interesting dinners offered there. We were seated promptly and food delivered in a timely fashion. The place was mobbed so our server made only one pass by to see if we needed anything. My one gripe is the lack of attention to the wobbly tables. Our server shimmed it with a napkin so our drinks would stay in the glasses. Would it not be easier for the staff to check all tables prior to opening?

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank gr8hands77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing