We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated opulence” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dated opulence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights in April 2012. Visually the hotel is everything it claims to be, huge, smart, impressive, and luxurious. The biggest hotel pool in the USA certainly. The facilities and the staff, excellent and faultless. We enjoyed jazz and a pleasant meal with cocktails by the poolside bar. Breakfast fabulous. The rooms are not as large as one might have expected but nonetheless comfortable and pleasant. My one criticism would be the plumbing which is dated and not too efficient. We had to run the water for several minutes to achieve enough heat to enjoy a bath. The sink once filled with water would leak from the plunge plug before you have finished washing your hands. Disappointing for the rates charged.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
We are very appreciative of this feedback about our property. With regards to the comments about the plumbing, please know that we are presently addressing a handful of lower category rooms that are scheduled for enhancement in the upcoming weeks. We would also welcome the opportunity to address this issue directly with this guest and encourage them to contact us, as we feel this was truly an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    419
    174
    82
    43
See reviews for
469
543
59
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

The Biltmore makes you feel truly special. It still retains an aura of the 20's, whilst taking influences and atmosphere from the best of all the years since. The entire grounds - and indeed Coral Gables - are fantastically sophisticated and stylish. Service is perfect, the pool is breathtaking, the lobby and lower lobby are dreamy and your whole visit will be a beautiful experience. We stayed in the Tower and it was special to have our own elevator. The room was very nice, but not jaw dropping. Still fabulous though and meant that whilst we were in Miami during it's record ever rainfall, we didn't mind a bit as we had a good reason to enjoy The Biltmore. The perfect place for a special holiday or a treat. Not expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrj6472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Wonderful experience - one night and one dinner. Dinner in Fontana was excellent - both food and service. Hotel is absolutely beautiful. One 2 slight negatives - no in room coffee machine (cannot remember the last hotel or motel without one). Also, the irritating $20 "resort fee" charged to everyone & we were told it covered bell hop tips, etc. They still had their hands out and accepted tips. Plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Biltmore. With regards to your comment, charging a resort fee is common practice for hotels in South Florida. Our resort fee includes in-room high speed internet, maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking. We hope this helps to clarify the charges, but if you have any further questions or comments, we invite you to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I attended a business conference at this grand old dame of a hotel. Gracious and with a history, it was a great backdrop to a meeting filled with discussion of 21st century topics like market inefficiencies, data analytics and infographics. We even lucked out and got a spontaneous tour of the property from the PR Director.

Now, for what you really care about: Rooms were beautiful. Bed was not bad, loved the pillows and the room was pretty quiet, especially since I was just off the elevator lobby. I lucked out and got a little balcony overlooking the front fountains, which were thankfully turned off during sleep hours (10-8?). See pic for view from my room, which was 10th floor, very center of the property, facing the front.

Didn't get to try out the nicer amenities (pool, spa, restaurants) but the catering quality was excellent and the bars (for after dinner conversation) were hospitable even though we stayed past closing. (One of the bars closed at 11, I don't quite have the stamina to stay up into the wee hours.)

Bellmen were gracious - they frequently stopped to say hello and ask how you were doing, even when you weren't doing anything more strenuous than riding in the elevator with them.

Wifi was included! Awesome, since our company doesn't allow us to pay for wifi separately. They also didn't limit us to having more than one device on the network. Since I had my laptop (for data needs) and my iPad (for on the fly email management), this was a plus. I was able to get my WSJ without eating up 3G capacity. :)

Front desk was a little slow at check in but, again, very gracious. Concierge directed us to a great restaurant off property. Wonderful service and I'd consider going back for vacation.

Room Tip: Even the rooms near the elevator are generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plantation
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been coming to the Biltmore hotel for the past fifteen years and recently more often. The welcoming feeling is indescribable. The architecture of the building,with it's spanish influence, gives a royal feeling. The concierge service is the best of all south florida. Mr Ernesto Aragon, the guest service director, will provide you with the best attention and services.
Palme d'Or restaurant with it's fine cusine is worth the try. The pool is to die for.
I recommend the Biltmore Hotel to anyone in search of excellent service and quality time.

gary C.

Room Tip: room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
At the Biltmore, our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable – we’re very pleased we exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing