We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“la quinta” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“la quinta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is now a la quinta. They seem to be in the process of changing ownership.
Needs updating but staff quite helpful. Wireless insufficient.
Difficult to get to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybiker131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    79
    44
    25
    19
See reviews for
92
82
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed here Tuesday night this week, 8-23.

This place is a little hard to get to if you miss your turn but once you get checked in, it was very nice. I really enjoyed my room, the price was perfect and there is a national restaurant right in the parking lot.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have stayed at the Wingate many times over the years and found the hotel to be extremely clean, the staff is so friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself offers many amenities. I would just suggest that they the bathrooms be updated. They are still the same as they were originally. Not that this is a bad thing, just old. No handicap rails in the showers (unless that's in a special handicapped accesible room). Also, they could change up the breakfast menu. It's the same exact thing every single day. They have so many great qualities and the location is good too. I would stay there again, It just needs a little room updating. Everything else is great. The pool, the hot tub, the gym equipment, the internet (although they only have one computer that can get the internet), the lobby is great, the outside is always kept so clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

king room was very large and well laid out. bedding was superb. workout room, whirlpool and outdoor pool were great. all areas of the hotel were clean and fresh. free breakfast was great, with ability to make waffles; eggs and breakfast meat were available each morning, and selection of pastries, cereal, juice and coffee was very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jkowalski68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel not just once but twice. I hoped that my first experience was just a fluke so decided to try it again. The reason was because it was close to my company's location. My first experience consisted of arriving late and being greeted by the desk clerk who had zilch customer skills. She barely greeted me and made no mention of what time breakfast started. When I checked in my room I looked on the hotel amenities sheet and found that it ended at 10:00 am. This was not correct. It ended earlier, so I missed the meal. The halls were not air conditioned, very stuffy and stale. I found a rather large cockroach crawling on my wall, and was grateful that none got into my suitcase and travelled home with me. My room faced the back of the hotel and I was staying on a Wednesday night so I was treated to loud music coming from a biker bar until about 10:30.

The second stay was even worse. The halls were still hot and stuffy. My refrigerator smelled like something died in it. The alarm clock did not work and there was no way to set the time properly. The front desk clerk this time was very helpful and explained that the clocks were set by the main location (whatever that meant) so he offered to get me another clock and delivered it promptly. The sheets on my bed did not fit the mattress and they kept pulling back revealing a large stain on the mattress. I also noticed that housekeeping had not cleaned the tub or wiped down the counters. When I brought this up to the front desk clerk he was apologetic and made sure these things were corrected by the next day. Still, I had already made up my mind that this hotel is very poorly run. Had another bad experience with another hotel brand in Clearwater so not sure if it is the area or not. Regardless, my company is closing that location so I won't be traveling there on business again, whew!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkysTheLimit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
3.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
11.4 km away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Fairfield Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Petersburg - Clearwater
2.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#58 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
Address: 5000 Lake Blvd, 49th Street Bridge & Highway 19, Clearwater, FL 33760-5000 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Clearwater)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Wyndham Clearwater
Clearwater Wyndham
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing