We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Hare & Hounds Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Food and service was excellent. Friendly efficient staff. Good choice on the menu with specials board; everything sounded delicious but we went for the garlic mushrooms and whitebait for starters and fish and chips and steak pie for mains. All was cooked to perfection with generous portions. Really nice modern country pub atmosphere. Definitely will be returning.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Everything lovely. Beautiful room, gorgeous surroundings, excellent food. Thankyou for a much needed rest

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed Fish Pie & Steak & Ale Pie. Apple crumble delicious. Lovely surroundings- staff friendly & helpful.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank FellowTraveler198197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Our parents were staying so we called in for dinner with them. Excellent meal, every persons meal was perfect. Pork special was awesome. Only slight downside is not much on offer as a starter, but minor niggle, main more than made up for it!
Parents loved their two night stay, breakfast and dinner excellent.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Dinner on a quiet Monday evening. My son and his wife had spent their honeymoon here so we were keen to try it out. We were not disappointed. The food was very nice, well prepared and the portions generous. The batter on the fish was possibly the best I've ever had - and it was gluten free. Lots of gluten free options. Fish pie was very tasty. The staff were friendly, helpful. Nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hare & Hounds Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
 

Been to The Hare & Hounds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing