We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rat Infestation in our Cottage at Tradewinds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rat Infestation in our Cottage at Tradewinds”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our family booked this resort for a whole month Mid December 2011 to January 2012. We were delighted initially with the location, style of cottage etc. We bought some nice Xmas things and settled in for the month> We had Xmas dinner at the cottage. 2 days later to our absolute horror my wife noticed a rat in the kitchen. On further examination there were rat droppings in the oven where we had cooked Xmas dinner. The janitor caught 5 rats in a matter of hours and we left the cottage due to the unhealthy conditions. All our family attended the local Bradenton Hospital due to nausea. The staff were very unhelpful with our predicament and didnt see any cause for concern. We still havent managed to get over the distress caused.

Room Tip: Be very careful of this resort and the rat infestaion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katydemick, Manager at Tradewinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
This family checked into our Tradewinds Gulf Drive Villa on December
8, 2011. On December 27, 2011, the guest called our after hours emergency number and reported seeing a rat in their unit. Our on-call maintenance person responded immediately. He arrived & set 2 traps. He offered to stay and see if anything were caught so he could dispose of it. The guest declined the offer. The guests were offered another room to which they could move for the night, which they also declined. The next morning they reported there were 2 rats that were caught. Again, the guests were offered to be moved to another unit, which they accepted and moved to another unit on December 28, 2011. The Gulf Drive Villa was locked and taken off the booking schedule. Our maintenance inspected the unit & found & repaired the entry hole. After the hole was repaired, more traps were set in the unit and the attic to ensure there were no more rodents. After 24 hours observation and no additional problems, our pest control vendor was called. The vendor thoroughly investigated the unit. The report finding stated: "Inspected Unit XX for rodent activity no droppings or smell in any
rooms or closets throughout house; looked in attic too no visible evidence of rodents". Once this clearance was given, the unit was thoroughly cleaned & disinfected. We're very sorry this situation occurred to our valued guest; however, we think we responded very quickly & in a very positive & caring manner. Numerous visits were made with the guest to ensure they were comfortable in their newunit. And, since they didn't check out until January 5, 2012, we
assumed that, overall, they had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    61
    19
    5
    11
See reviews for
135
172
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Have stayed at the Tradewinds for 3 out of the last 4 years it's so pretty and so quiet enjoy that there are few kids

Room Tip: Try to book a room of number 5 or higher to avoid any noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Tradewind Resorts is the best vacation "find". The setting is quite attractive--pastel cottages, well manicured tropical landscape, beautiful blue waters. The cottages are clean, well equipped, quiet, and conveniently located. Management is attentive and knowledgable, giving us many suggestions for activities and dinners. The beach is just across the street and beach towels, umbrellas, and lounge chairs are provided. The pool and fishing pier located at the other side of the resort were also enjoyable. Two nice features of our vacation were the free trolley that travels the length of the island and poor (no) cell phone service. The resort provides free local and long distance calls but it was truly pleasant to disconnect from reality for a while. We can't wait to come back--next year we want to stay much longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be equally comfortable but there are a few 2nd floor rooms and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We've rented this place on a spot, while looking for "escape" from a vacation property we've rented previously.

TradeWinds is a quiet, comfortable and very clean place. Since we rented at the last moment we had to switch suites in the middle of our weekly stay. Both suites are nearly identical, consist of 2 rooms - bedroom and dining/ living room. As the ocean was a bit chilly, having a heated pool was a big plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Ok the tradewinds is a wonderful little getaway. It's very close to tampa as well as orlando. This resort is a small cluster of cottages. It is very quaint well kept up and has Good accommodations. The resort is pet friendly. 1 of the best features is that you are only have to cross the street to get to see the beach. You should note that this beach is regularly rated as 1 of the best on the planet. Fabulous. We've been back several times. It lacks a formal fitness center to the best of my recollection, but the beach is very popular with runners and surfers

Room Tip: Cottages at the east of the back of the property which are by the pool and river. Those colleges are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeekMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
1.4 km away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
912 reviews
0.2 km away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
625 reviews
1.0 km away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.3 km away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
1.0 km away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Property: Tradewinds Beach Resort
Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2311
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing