We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
125
63
17
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
63
17
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast bagels quiet area french doors off season small pool shared balcony mini fridge first floor king room dogfish head flat screen tv each morning long weekend dogs pet walt
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

What a diamond in the rough find. When you first walk in you are greeted by the clerk on duty, very pleasant. They show to your room and we were extremely impressed larger, clean and well equipped. The bathroom is large, clean and stocked with essentials. We asked to checkout one hour late and the could not have been any nicer. The continental breakfast was excellent down stairs in large room with TV's and is a comfortable area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kullom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

We're so flattered to be considered a diamond in the rough. That's exactly what a home away from home should be, so the team and I are stoked to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. All that to say, we can't wait to see you when you're in town again sometime soon.

Until then,
Rick and Steve, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Canalside Inn is directly off the main artery into Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. It is on a quiet, tree-lined street, within walking distance from some restaurants. The hotel caters to adults-only, and has a requested "quiet time" of 10pm for all guests. They are "dog-friendly" for well-behaved dogs. My room was clean, bright, and tastefully-appointed with modern, Ikea-like furnishings. Continental breakfast is included. There are hotels that are closer to the Rehoboth boardwalk, shopping, and nightlife, but the Canalside Inn is a welcome and comfortable respite from "beach-busyness."

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yukonark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

We're so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! As usual, the team appreciates all your kind words and can't wait to have you stay with us when you're in town again sometime soon.

Until then,
Rick and Steve, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Location was very quiet, and property was nicely decorated and very clean. The walk to shops and the boardwalk was about a mile, the bed was low and soft - not good for bad backs. Furniture was the same, including the single day bed in the room. Toilet was low...hard for those with bad knees. Shower was great - a walk-in. The only owner we saw was polite, but not extremely welcoming. Breakfast involved going down stairs, so though the room, a king suite, was on the main level, only requiring 3 steps, the full flight of steps was required for breakfast. Breakfast was a typical continental style.
I would recommend the Canalside for younger folks (my partner and I are 75 and 78). The king suite is worth the extra money - very spacious.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank patripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

While we're excited to hear that you were loving the space in the King Suite, it's a bummer to know that we didn't pull all the way through for you and your partner, Pat. We aim to make each room as accessible and comfortable as possible, so we appreciate you letting us know about your experience. All that to say, we hope we're able to see you and your partner again to make your next stay with us that much better.

Until then,
Rick and Steve, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed in early October and got a rate less than charged by the fancier chain hotels on Coastal Highway. Our room was big enough and nicely decorated, but faced the back of the hotel with no balcony. The hotel website implied (as I recall) that all rooms have balconies. It also implied free bicycles which were not in evidence or offered. The bath was very tight in size with only a shower but it was OK for one night. Breakfast was OK but not special, the only non-sugary thing was cold hard boiled eggs. Coffee was better than expected.

One personal quibble, the stairs to the second floor (no elevator) are narrow and turning, and when they were built or remodeled with wood flooring were not sized correctly. The two top steps are marginally taller than the others, which creates a trip hazard and is evidence of shoddy workmanship. I am only saying this because I am a builder and this is a pet peeve.

The location is great, a longish walk to the beach but do-able, and it's on a quiet street in a residential area which I really like.

Overall I would stay there again provided the rate matches the hotel, which is maybe average +.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

While we're excited to hear that you liked the location and will be staying with us again, we're bummed that we may not have pulled all the way through for you, Frantica. We hope we get the chance to have you stay with us again sometime soon to make your next experience with us that much better.

Until then,
Rick and Steve, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Canalside Inn. We had one of the 1st floor studio kings, which opened up onto the front veranda overlooking the canal. We ate breakfast at a cozy outside table in the morning and watched thunderstorms on the comfortable couch seating area at night.
Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thanks for the awesome feedback, Carol. The team and I are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again soon.

Until then,
Rick and Steve, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews