We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great”
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Loved- location on quieter side of Rehoboth Ave- easy walk to everything (no kids with us)
Ocean is right there.

Just outdated- peeling paint- torn screen..and loud wedding party going on late- & our upstairs neighbors decided to loudly go out in their balcony @ 5 a.m.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We completed our third annual stay at the Henlopen in August. See my 2 previous reviews. While experiencing 3 out of their many rooms is far from comprehensive, I can say that each year we had a nice, and most importantly, very clean room. All 3 of the rooms over 3 years were the same. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but at this point I can feel confident in saying this is a perfectly nice hotel. I fail to understand the really poor reviews. The only slight disappointment on this recent trip was that he public shower in the men's room was not working during our stay, which we really appreciate on the day of departure after we check out. They allowed men and woman to use the one in the women's room by locking the door while occupied (which ran out of towels probably due to the higher use). Overall, not a big deal. It was never poor, but I think the customer service we expereinced from the staff this year was the best ever.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeyWeststhebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My family and I stayed at the Henlopen in August 2011 and were very pleased. It was the most affordable hotel in the area, and we were pleased with every aspect of our stay. Parking is very conveniently located right outside the front door, and the hotel is located at the quiet end of the boardwalk. Everything was within easy walking distance. The staff were very accomodating when we had a problem with our room, and went out of their way to help us. I believe that all rooms have a balcony, which includes a beach view (even though the cheaper ones are obstructed). We will definitely stay here again! Rehoboth is the perfect place for families, and this hotel is a perfect option.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for a beach wedding in September and had a nice time. The room was clean, and housekeeping did a nice job keeping our room stocked with towels. The reception was in salero and the food was very good. The bar was well stocked with liquors I didn't expect but was pleasantly surprised with. Staff was helpful throughout the hotel when we needed them. Bathroom was stocked with shampoo, soap and a jumbo bottle of hand sanitizer?! There was a hairdryer and iron in the room too and we were only steps from the beach. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We originally booked room with side view of ocean-all that was available so they said. Bathroom was tiny. Second day there we asked for upgrade to ocean front. The front desk was very nice and gave us the upgrade. Room much bigger and had flat screen tv balconey over boardwalk. Huge bathroom. Beautiful view of ocean. Saw dolphins everyday. Free breakfast consisted of poptarts, bagels & danish. OJ & apple juice in cans and coffee or tea. Downfall was that they use regular keys. No chains were attatched so had to worry about losing key. Parking garage was different-had to park between cement poles-very narrow. Overall had great time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank auntne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
628 reviews
0.7 km away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
257 reviews
0.7 km away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
283 reviews
4.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.9 km away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#7 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Address: 511 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2162
Region: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: €71 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing