We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Tacos and Crab Cakes”
Review of Deer Park Tavern

Deer Park Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Deer Park Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 401 Restaurants in Newark
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elkton Rd.
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Great historic place to meet, eat, and drink. It is a tavern, but kids are welcome in the dinning area. The crab cakes and the fish tacos keep us coming back!

Thank bernardd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2016

The quintessential college bar. Love the nachos and burgers. The staff is friendly and the food is good.

Thank HotelPhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We enjoy going there. They have very good Nachos. There is History in this Tavern. Edgar Allen Poe stopped here. Plus..... many famous people in the colonial days stopped here, as it was a crossroads between Philadelphia, PA and Baltimore, MD.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jtaylorarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The Deer Park was a great place to start our three day celebration of our 50th Reunion. We reserved the upstairs room for our "Meet and Greet" where 75 classmates reunited for a fun evening of friends, food and drink. Many had not been here since high school/college days and it was fun to reunite at our old Newark landmark. The staff was friendly and the appetizers we ordered plentiful and delicious. Thanks Deer Park for being a part of our walk down memory lane!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank L127yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

I was brought here on a date and was hoping for the tavern to be "historically" decorated at least after hearing of the history of the tavern. You profess about the fact that Edgar Allen Poe used to frequent the tavern back in the day, but only have a stuffed dollar tree raven in a cheap cage to show tribute. Upon entering, we were confused about were the hostess was as you have many ways to enter the dining area. Your floors were dirty, the light over our table had dust and splatters. The atmosphere was not tavern like at all. The music playing was like a techno dance and added extra noise that was not necessary. The server that we had was poorly trained. I ordered the French onion steak sandwich and was highly disappointed. You could tell that the "soup" the steak was cooked in was canned. The atmosphere was not tavern like at all. The music playing was like a techno dance and added extra noise that was not necessary. My better half had the fish and chips and was surprised to see how tiny the 2 filets were and the lack of chips for the price that you charge. I will not be returning to this tavern again.

3  Thank Juli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshbyHospitality, Owner at Deer Park Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Hello Juli,

We were shocked to hear how negative your experience was. While we are aware of our history and do pay tribute to it in our own, unique way, we do not wish for this to overpower the experience our customers may have in our establishment. We apologize for your disappointment regarding the food we served you. All dishes we create and prepare are made with the freshest ingredients in mind. We do hope that you had made your server aware of your displeasure as we would have liked to accommodate you appropriately. We would appreciate it if you could contact us at mcglynnspub@live.com so we can learn more about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you will not return but we do hope that you will reconsider and give us another shot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Deer Park Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing