We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden
Ranked #11 of 96 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Description: We are a locally owned and operated backyard beer garden/brewpub that embraces the beach escape through our easy-drinkin beer style, relaxed/casual atmosphere, approachable food, and quick service. Our backyard area is kid and dog friendly. Try our nachos, a burger, or pineapple express wings with a Wai Ola California Style Coconut Ale.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a locally owned and operated backyard beer garden/brewpub that embraces the beach escape through our easy-drinkin beer style, relaxed/casual atmosphere, approachable food, and quick service. Our backyard area is kid and dog friendly. Try our nachos, a burger, or pineapple express wings with a Wai Ola California Style Coconut Ale.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This bar/brewpub has the best burgers ever! Other good foods, beers are also good. Crowded and noisy spot with great outdoor space.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank karenkX9255CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno I, Guest Relations Manager at Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks for stopping by Karen, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018

Have dined here several times and the meals are okay, but not standout. A bit noisy, the decor has lots of activity going on. They do special activities, like arts, and have lots of things for young or older kids. Good for family and socializing groups, but not relaxed dining. Their in-house brews are okay, but not outstanding.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank richardmC8068FZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno I, Guest Relations Manager at Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hello Richard,

We appreciate you stopping by and providing some feedback. As you mentioned we are a fun restaurant that prides itself on the atmosphere and the great experiences we create. The backyard, cookout, beachy, live music atmosphere is something we've become very well known for. We have a wide variety of beers on our 14 taps and our bartenders would be happy to recommend something you'll enjoy the next time you stop by.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Stopped in for a quick Sunday lunch. We found the decore to be fun and very casual. We had salads and hummus. The hummus was one of the best that I have had. The salad was a little small. the overall experience was above average and fun!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurie50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno I, Guest Relations Manager at Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you very much for stopping by Laurie, we apprecaite the feedback and look forward to having you join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Comfortable cheery atmosphere. Very helpful friendly server(Justin was especially great). Excellent food! Not expensive. Great beer. Outdoor space for kids to run around. We’re local and we love it!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Jekeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno I, Guest Relations Manager at Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks for stopping by and writing us a review, we appreciate the feedback and we'll pass the kudos on to Justin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

All our food was above average casual “fare”. They pushed the heck out of their own beers, and it felt like if you didn’t order one of theirs there was not much else in terms of beer or mixed drinks. The environment appears to cater to teeny boppers - and by that I mean parents with teenage kids. And that’s fine. But the ambience was really lacking any sort of feeling at all other than that - the tall ceilings in the one dining room made the space feel enormously empty and not “warm”. There were different chairs used at each table - colorful folding chairs, wooden chairs, etc. Not very comfortable, especially if you’re not a teeny bopper and are looking for a comfortable restaurant seat. The service was overly quick. We felt rushed. We sampled several of the beers and they were average. Would certainly not run to a liquor store to buy a six pack. So we may give this place another try when it’s in season and see if the atmosphere is any better. While the food was tasty I have to say there was really nothing here that would be a draw to bring us back anytime soon as locals. But then again it clearly has a touristy theme and probably does very well in the summers with that crowd.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank GlobetrottingGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno I, Guest Relations Manager at Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write us the review, we appreciate the feedback. We are a craft brewery, like other craft brewers, we only offer our own beer. We do however have a full and very spacious bar and on our beer list, we have an accompanying cocktail and wine list that has a list of our house specialty cocktails as well. We cater to all ages, from families with young children to the young at heart, all are welcome to take advantage of our playground, ping pong tables, or more adult games like our dart board and cornhole boards. We don't have any folding chairs but we do have salvaged and repurposed chairs to go along with our custom-made tables and booths. All of the decoration is repurposed barn wood, tools, bikes and beach themed, handmade and painted decor made mostly by our very own staff and local artists and builders, like the huge "Hop in a hammock" mural in our dining room. Just about every piece or decoration has a great story behind it, like the boat hanging in our dining room or the tables that came from monument man Richard Mootzy, a 93 year old world war 2 vet who had been collecting the wood for decades, next time you visit please ask your server and they'll be happy to talk about how we decorated and built the location.

We look forward to having you join us again and letting us make the experience better for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden also viewed

 

Been to Crooked Hammock Brewery Restaurant and Backyard Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing