We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe haven during the hurricane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Irene sent us packing from Rehoboth Beach to Dover (which incidentally received twice the rain that Rehoboth Beach did but that's another story..). Anyway, we had a very comfortable stay at the HI Express, the room was clean and the staff were very accommodating. And when I somehow misplaced our dog's leash, Joyce at the front desk quickly came to my rescue with one of hers. Would highly recommend the place for hurricane cover or just a pleasant stay in Dover. BTW -- had good sushi at Rice about 10 minutes away from there.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank happytravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for a wonderful review and we are happy to keep you safe! Hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Had to travel away from our home in Ocean City, MD to avoid Hurricane Irene. We always pick Holiday Express because they take pets. We've never had an issue but this one was very well managed. The breakfast was excellent and it was more than a continental.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you felt safe during the recent hurricane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Am sitting at the pool as I write this review.
I am travelling with my parents and needed 2 rooms.
I emailed the hotel asking if possible for connecting rooms.
Within 30 minutes I had a reply from the manager telling me that he had organised this for me....impressive!
Checked in last night...very quick procedure and both rooms were ready and next to each other.
Rooms were spacious and clean and beds comfy.
The breakfast was excellent, always replenished and very well presented.
For what we paid we could NOT fault this hotel.....I honestly wonder sometimes what some people expect after you read some of their views....you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cashbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

THANK YOU for your excellent review. We are looking forward to having your family stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Very nice hotel. Near restaurants. Great staff and very nice rooms and out door pool Great for business and families.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgyguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed in Dover on July 24th and 25th. Hotel was just redone a couple of months ago. Very nice. All the staff was very friendly. The pool looked very nice. We did not use it. Our room was very nice. Had a fridge and microwave, and a small sink. Would definitely choose to stay here again. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Dover area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwp1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Our staff was very happy to give you a comfortable stay! Our guests are always family to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
5.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Dover
150 reviews
2.3 km away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
3.4 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover

Address: 1780 North Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: €77 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Dover rests just inside the first state's capital, minutes from downtown and Delaware Bay. While there is plenty do in town, we're also less than an hour from popular Rehoboth Beach outlets and gorgeous beaches along the Atlantic seaboard. Discover the Mid-Atlantic area and Dover as our hotel's guests. This hotel in Dover, Delaware is conveniently located off Route 1 and close to P&G, Kraft Foods, ILC and other major corporations. Delaware State University, Dover Air Force Base and state government offices are also nearby. Patrons staying with us can use free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center to stay connected. Spend a day in old downtown, lounging on Dover Green and shopping tax-free at local boutiques. At night, head over to Dover Downs Casino for exciting table games, slots and racing. For outdoor recreation, you can hike or bike through Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge and visit Killen Pond State Park to boat and swim. Both are less than 15 minutes from our hotel's location. After sightseeing in Dover, Delaware, unwind in our hotel's pool. The 24-hour Fitness Center is perfect for keeping up with your workouts. The breakfast room has a large flat panel TV, so you can catch the morning news as you savor a free, hot meal. Book your room today for our consistently excellent customer service and quality amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dover Hotel Dover
Holiday Inn Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing